Hexagon Tiles

February 5, 2011 § 12 Comments

A few more blocks...

I made a few more hexagon blocks for the Italian Tile quilt.  Well, I hope it is beginning to look like Italian tiles.  I plan on giving it to a friend who is getting married in April.  These blocks have been fun to make!  I’d love to make one for myself someday.  Unfortunately, my mental list of quilts I’d like to make someday is getting awfully long!

seams pressed in opposite directions

There was a discussion on Ravelry about pressing seams in opposite directions so that they match up better. Here is the back side of one of the blocks so you can see what I am talking about.  It’s easier to butt up the seams next to each other if one is pressed to the left and one is pressed to the right. Then, I stick a pin in it until I have sewn over it. Yes, this is one instance where I sew over my pins. Carefully.  I know that we have been told to not sew over pins.  If I happen to hit a pin with the sewing machine needle, it often results in a bent pin and a burr on the machine needle.  This is one reason I like having a sewing machine where you can turn off the needle up/needle down feature.  Then I can stop the  machine right before I get to the pin and reposition the needle if I need to so that I won’t be hitting the pin.

back side of a block

Hope you all are having a lovely weekend.  We blissfully slept in late and then went out for coffee with a detour through the yarn shop that is across the street from the coffee shop. Of course a couple of skeins of sock yarn made their way home with me.  One of them of them is Tofutsies, which I haven’t tried before. The fiber content is 50% superwash wool, 25% soysilk, 22.5% cotton and 2.5% chitin (which is made from shrimp and crab shells).  Hmmm. Can’t wait to see what those socks feel like to wear!

§ 12 Responses to Hexagon Tiles

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hexagon Tiles at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

