The Scrap Bins Runneth Over

January 7, 2011 § 32 Comments

Flannel Scraps

While I’m busy working on some Electric Quilt lessons for classes that I will be teaching later this month (that means there isn’t a lot of sewing going on at the moment), I thought I could entice you all to think about your scraps.

There are several reasons I have scraps on my mind….  a) I recently picked up the special magazine issue of McCalls’ Quilting called America Loves Scrap Quilts 2010.  It has some really good ideas for making scrap quilts… b) The Scrapbusters Challenge Flickr group is challenging…  er encouraging…  us to make more scrappy quilts in 2011…  and c) I keep moving around my pile of  liberated wedding ring blocks while working on other projects, when what I really want to do is make more blocks!

More than 6 pounds!

So… to kick off the New Year in scraps…  I’m thinking we should have a give-away.  This is a large flat-rate box full of flannel scraps.  At least 6 pounds of scraps!  Scraps leftover from one of my very first quilts made more than 13 years ago. Scraps from another flannel quilt made probably 10 years ago.  Scraps from some pajamas & pillowcases made several years ago. I even made this flannel quilt for my brother-in-law from some of these scraps. But I swear the scraps multiple at night while I’m not looking.  There still seems to be as many scraps leftover as when I started.

If you would like to win this box of scraps, please leave a comment telling me about your scrap adventures/plans/goals.

I’m sorry to say that I must limit the give-away to U.S. residents only as the international shipping rate is outrageous.

§ 32 Responses to The Scrap Bins Runneth Over

  • Erin says:

    oh scraps! I love them. I like cutting fabric just to make scraps! lol! I want to make a scrappy sampler sometime and a scrappy postage stamp quilt. That’s a big pile of scraps! Thanks for the give away!

  • Joann Webb says:

    I am obcessed with flannel. I Love it. Am working on a flannel quilt for my husband at the moment and 3 flannel baby quilts. Would love to have that box of scraps. Love the quilt you made for your brother in law!

  • suzanne says:

    I am going to try and only use scraps this year totally. I have a very small stack of flannel and was just wishing for some flannel scraps to add to what I have for a quilt. I am going to cross my fingers!! Thanks for the chance.

  • Gosh scraps and flannel~ could it get any better than that!🙂 Most of my quilts are scrap quilts and I am now planning a log cabin with scraps and stash. I’ve slowly been collecting a flannel stash to make warm quilts, but it seems I take two steps forward and one back as I use the flannel for other things! I’ve made a number of flannel/denim raggy quilts and need to make another for a friend soon. Thanks for the chance! Happy quilting!

  • Penny G says:

    More scraps – I think I would love them.

  • Regina says:

    Flannel – mmmmm…. I was just lamenting that I have not made enough flannel quilts to generate enough flannel scraps to make a flannel scrap quilt to use up the bits I DO have… this would round things out nicely!

  • Tora Consolo says:

    So excited – your blog and fabulous work has inspired me to take my fist quilting class – I’ve quilted before but I just don’t feel confident enough yet to strike out on my own. And I love scrapy quilts – how fun it would be to win!

  • Myra says:

    Would love them, I think I have scrap quilts on the brain most of the time. Working on one right now…

  • julie says:

    This is just up my alley!! Thank you for a chance to win your scraps, I am a totally scrap quilter, so I can assure you, your scraps would be put to good use!!

  • Ruthlynn says:

    Oh the scraps I have used, poly, velvet, denim, lycra. All cut and used up to the very last tiny piece for donation quilts to our local senior center and nursing home. There are people so poor here they can only afford to give their time. So we take their time to tie quilts. Your flannel scraps would be put together into quilts for those who need them here in the Ozark of Missouri.Here was our latest batch: http://ruthlynnsworld.blogspot.com/2010/10/nursing-home-quilts.html
    http://ruthlynnsworld.blogspot.com/2010/09/charity-quilts.html
    We would be happy to have flannel scraps, Thank You.

  • Brenda says:

    I would love your scraps. I don’t have much of a stash at all. A goal for next Christmas is to make as many gifts as possible for Christmas. These scraps would help me make some lap quilts for gifts.

  • I have no clue why I like scraps. I’ve even bought some of those moda scraps. Scraps are great on just about everything. Sometimes you just need a little piece of a color and they are perfect for hexies.

  • Marilyn W says:

    Thanks for the opportunity. I’m SO happy to tell you I live in MS.

    Sure hoping you pick me.

    Marilyn

  • Tami says:

    Fun! We’re workng on restoring a vintage trailer and I’m giddily “decorating”…or rather filling rubbermaid with stuff to decorate. A flannel quilt would be perfect for the cool WA summer nights.

  • Viv says:

    I took the easy way out and got rid of all my cotton scraps last week, gave them away to someone who was starting a quilt-a-long for beginners. I had about 5 pounds worth. I feel very libereated now that I don’t have to think of a way to find the time use them (as it was only about 6 months since I last purged the scrap bins).

    PS. I’m not commenting to enter as I’m not in the US (and I don’t ned more scraps) 🙂

  • Linda says:

    Wowwwwwwwwwwwww your scrap box sure dosen’t look like mine does. Mine are littleeeee scraps!!! Love it! Wellllll I would love to make up a bunch of smaller projects this year. I am thinking table runners, and these cute little mug rugs! pillow cases, and little wallets. I love the smaller projects because they go so quickly and I feel as if I have accomplished something. When I make quilts I get so excited about the next project comming along that I tend to finish the tops and then they are put away for a rainy day yup rainy day that never comes. That being said whenever I make quilts I alsways use scraps ” would you believe I have never gone out and bought specifice material for a quilt. maybe a yard or two but the rest has always come from my stash of scraps. I think that it gives it more character.

  • Lisa says:

    I love scrap quilts! My goal for this year is too organize my scraps,so I can see what I have and be able to use them better.

  • Connie says:

    WOW! What a great way to start the New Year! I am a scrappy quilter and don’t have many flannels so your scraps would be great.
    My goal this year is to continue making scrap quilts from my stash and finish some of what I’ve already started.
    Enjoy your blog.
    Connie

  • craftydill says:

    how generous!! i love scraps…a lot of what i make uses smaller pieces of non-solids with larger pieces of linen and other solids. this year i plan on doing more with hexagons, which are perfect for scraps!! thanks for the chance! -michelle

  • Polly says:

    Scrap quilts are my favorites. What with my flannel scraps and your flannel scraps….scrappy flannel quilts would happen!I would love to win your very generous box!

  • Renee says:

    I’m saving my scraps in separate bins. One with blue/greens/browns, another with anything from off white to yellow/orange/red. Not sure what I’ll do to them.

    I’m in Canada, you’re right – international shipping rates are obscene!

  • Laurie says:

    I love scrappy quilts they are the best I have a hard time limiting myself to just 5 – 10 fabrics for a quilt the more the merrier. I have never made a flannel quilt but I would lot to try, thanks for the chance to win.

  • Valerie says:

    Your flannel scraps are wonderful, I would love to win them! Scrap quilts are my favorite, they are so interesing with their multitude of designs and colors. I also love how you can use even the “uglies” and they all go together to create a beautiful quilt. I currently have several scrap quilts in progress. One is made of 1 1/2″ squares and is a long term project, when ever I cut out things for other projects I cut out some squares from my remnants and add them to it. I also have a log cabin that is done in blues, greens and purples that I am hoping to finish this year. I also have a scrap quilt going that is made from xmas fabrics, and have plans for many more scrap quilts. I use to have all my scraps just stored in one big bin, but a couple of years ago I sorted them by color or type and it has really been a big help. Thanks for the chance!

  • Sandra Timmons says:

    WOW! What a neat giveway. I would like to make a bento-box quilt with all of these flannels. That sure would make a nice warm quilt for these long cold winters we are having here in Sonora, CA. I sure do appreciate a chance to win and look forward to your site each day.

    Sandi from Sonora, CA
    sandit1@sbcglobal;.net

  • Sheetal says:

    Since I’m new to quilting/ sewing I have NO scrap collection at all and am so envious of yours! I’d love to make a scrappy liberated wedding ring quilt but have a long way to go before I have the ‘supply list’ under control. Your generous giveaway would sure help!

  • Susan says:

    Ooooohh…..I love flannel scrap fabrics. I’m working on scrap fabric quilt for my guest room. I heart McCalls quilt magazines.

  • Melody says:

    I’m planning on making a quilt for my son for his 21st birthday and a new little grandbaby that is being thought about and planned for for 2012🙂 (I need time, I am a slow quilter! lol!🙂 I love 4-patches and log cabin quilts best so far.

  • Sarah says:

    I’ve been using my scraps to make a double wedding ring quilt. It has been very slow going, but every time I piece a new scrappy ring I get excited! As for the flannel scraps, I’d love them! I don’t own any flannel! It is sounding very cozy and enticing…perhaps I need to enhance my stash?!

  • Lynn says:

    OMG a box of scraps!!! Definitely something I need to try for! I have scraps and my favorite quilts are scrappy. I saw that mag abt the scrappy quilts and its been mulling around in my mind abt doing another (preferably) flannel scrap quilt. I have one done and honestly it’s the one that get’s used the most. We’re going on 10 years now so it’s well loved…..

  • Angie says:

    Ooooh, I would LOVE to win this box of scraps! I’m working on a scrappy Churn Dash and also want to do a scrappy Bear Paw. Would love to have that box of fabric to play with. 😀

  • Deidre says:

    I could use your flannel scraps to pair with the stacks of blue jeans the kids have outgrown (and of course I saved) to make Brandon a quilt. Both his brothers have a denim/flannel quilt –and he likes to remind me he does not!!

  • Lynne says:

    Wow, what a generous giveaway!
    I also learned to sew at a local 4-H club. I’ve made a couple of rags quilts, hence the beginning of a flannel scrap pile. My daughter and I just signed up for our first quilting class this month. I’m looking forward to this new journey and learning as much as I can about quilting.
    One of my goals, is to make a scrappy quilt out of flannel for my brother who is a single father, raising two amazing daughter’s.
    Thanks for the chance to win.

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Scrap Bins Runneth Over at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

