Moving Forward

January 2, 2011 § 10 Comments

frozen storm drain pond

Well, here we are…  making our way into a new month and a new year.  I’ve been seeing a lot of New Year’s Resolutions around the web. And I can’t say that I’m feeling all that ambitious towards making any resolutions myself.  Last year was a little too busy for me.  And, there are certain things I would like to see this year. But I’m happy to just take whatever comes my way. So, let’s do a bullet point list of some of the thoughts rambling around in my head.

~ I’d like to get back into a better habit of exercising regularly

~ And it would be nice if that exercising could take away those few extra pounds that have been hanging around.

~ It would also be nice if I could use up more of my scraps. Why oh why do they seem to multiply exponentially even while using them?

~ It would be great if some of the things I make could take on a more meaningful/satisfying aspect.  Maybe giving away more… to friends, charities, or where ever the opportunity makes itself available?

~ I’d love to make a dent in the pile of  UFO’s squandering on the shelves.

~ I did finish a sweater for my hubby today that had been languishing in a project bag since last January.

~ But as soon as it was done, I immediately started another. What is the matter with me?

~ I’m looking forward to more skiing and more bicycling. And just more outdoor activities in general.

~ I’d like to see more of my friends.

~ It would be fun to take a road trip somewhere.  My husband has never been to the Grand Canyon. And neither one of us has seen Devil’s Tower.  Of course, there are tons of place we could explore, but the hard part is narrowing down the choices to match the amount of vacation available.

~ Ultimately, I’d love  to just simplify. Is that at all possible?

§ 10 Responses to Moving Forward

  • I agree with you on the simplify!

  • Tine says:

    Simplify is on the agenda for me too. It sounds easy, but it really isn’t. Good luck! And Happy New Year!

    oh…and there’s nothing wrong with you! You’re just a crafter🙂

  • nicolette says:

    You sound like a dedicated crafter, so many bullet points are recognizable! Simplify sounds simple, but to me it isn’t! Good Luck!!

  • ranette says:

    Grand Canyon, yes! Devil’s Tower, no!
    Simplify seems to be a common theme this year…I like it.

  • DebbyMcC says:

    That sweater looks so cozy. Yay, you! And your DH has such a happy grin =-) Grand Canyon: definitely go, it’s amazing. I have not seen Devil’s Tower but would love to head up that way again sometime. Simplifying is my main goalbthis year. Clean out and not let more back into the house. We’ll see how that goes. I am going to knit up some of my yarn that is leftover or lying around, for charity. If it is not gone within a few months then it goes into the giveaway box for AMVETS. I feel a major purge coming on.

  • pratima says:

    Hi Anita, just getting back from a computer break. Hope you had a wonderful time during the holidays. Scraps do seem to multiply overnight… enjoyed reading your bulleted notes for the New Year. Wish you all the best with them. Happy New Year!!

  • Melody says:

    I love your picture🙂 I’m still trying to work on some resolutions too.

  • Lynn says:

    You started another sweater so you have something to finish off NEXT Jan!!! LOL

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    Your comment about wishing the things you make would take on new meaning stands out to me. I have really just started following quilt blogs this year, and one thing that I notice is that so many of the bloggers seem to just mass produce quilts for no reason. When I think about the history of quilting it seems to revolve around the need to supply warm, cozy blankets for the people that the quilter loved. Many of these quilts were made from fabric that had to be carefully collected and repurposed from other necessary fabric items (like clothes.) I read on one woman’s blog how she decided that the back of her quilts needed to be just as nice and carefully made as the front because there really just needed to be so many quilts made and this enabled her to make two fronts. Anything can loose it’s meaning when it is done for no reason…I think all of us can find a ministry in need of quilts. I believe God can use me as His hands and feet through the time and love put into creating a special quilt for the people that He loves.

  • susan says:

    great goals to work towards. i too have tried to sit back and reassess (that word looks funny). freecycle is a good way to get rid of a bit of sewing stuff you dont think you need anymore. usually people let you know if its for girl scouts or local groups.
    i have been wanting to start volunteering again
    wishing you luck on fulfilling your hopes

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Moving Forward at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

