Dear Jane in Review

December 29, 2010 § 12 Comments

2010 Dear Jane blocks

It’s not likely that I’ll finish any more Dear Jane blocks this year.  That’s 26 blocks hanging on my design wall.  That’s only half of my initial goal of 52.  I think I’ve figured out a way to keep me going at a wee bit faster speed.

Prepping blocks

The most time consuming part of the process is preparing the blocks for sewing.  I print out the templates onto sheets of freezer paper, cut out the templates, and then iron them onto the back side of the chosen fabric.  To save paper, I’ve been saving the templates to pdf files and then opening the files in Adobe Illustrator. I can usually combine 3 blocks onto 1 sheet of paper.

I think if I can always have at least 4 blocks or a month’s worth of blocks ready to sew at all times, then I will always have some sewing available at random moments.  This last year I was preparing only 1 or 2 blocks at a time and sometimes I would pass over working on a block just because I would have to take some time to get one ready.

We’ll see how Dear Jane progresses in 2011.  Oh, and… are any of you Dear Jane folks also on Ravelry?  The Dear Jane group seems to have gone silent. Wanna come on over and help resurrect some conversation and cheer each other on?  Do you need to set some new goals or to re-evaluate some old ones?  It’s always more fun to work along with others on the same project.

§ 12 Responses to Dear Jane in Review

  • Since I’ve had my book for years and haven’t sewn one block yet, I think you are doing pretty good….grin.

    For myself, I can only work on one block at a time, or I get confused. Of course, my DH reminds me that my problem is my memory not my sewing. I totally forget what I’m doing whether it’s sewing, laundry, or whatever. He has to keep me on track. Old age is sometimes hard, but I’m having fun anyway….LOL.

  • rona says:

    Hello! I am also doing a Dear Jane in red and white fabrics, although this project has been in hibernation since April. I am ready to get started again in 2011! Your blocks look great! Are you interested in doing any fabric trades? Take a look at my blocks and let me know if you see any fabrics you like. I still have most of them, and much more that hasn’t made it into blocks yet. I will pop into the ravelry group too and say hi.🙂

  • Trisha says:

    My sister and I are making Dear Jane quilts. We have been working on them for years. Every once in a while we have a “marathon” where we work exclusively on Dear Jane blocks for a couple days. I always prep a bunch of blocks ahead of time. Like you I figured out that the prepping was what took so long. Your post is a good reminder that I need to re-dedicate myself to getting my Dear Jane quilt done. Thanks!

  • aracne says:

    I didn’t know about this Dear Jane quilt. It is absolutely fabulous and I am in admiration of those of you who tackled such a vast project.
    The final result will be worth any effort!

  • nicolette says:

    Love those red and white blocks. Preparing more blocvks sure will help to make more!

    I’ve made 126 so far and will probably leave out the pointed border blocks. At the beginning of 2010 I made about 40/50 blocks and then my appetite was gone. I’m working on the blocks for about 3 years now and follow the instructions on a blogfriends’ blog, called thatquilt.blogspot.com. Her tutorials are wonderful and I joined the flickr group she started. I didn’t know there was a group on Ravelry.

  • Cindy says:

    I am in awe with anyone who takes on the Dear Jane quilt… I am starting a similar project. Beginning in January I will be blogging my progress while I tackel a ‘Civil WAr Diary Quilt’ Janeiacs are welcome to join me in my progress! Similar projects except Jane quilts have that extra peiced border. I love the color scheme that you have choosen. Happy quilting!

  • Shasta says:

    I only made one block in 2010! Shame on me. Hopefully I will revive this project for 2011.

  • RobinW says:

    If you are sewing around the freezer paper patterns, I can see why you aren’t in love with hand sewing. It is so much easier if the sewing line is right on the back of the fabric. I was wondering if it would work to “divide” the pdf image in Illustrator and rearrange the pieces to be 1/2″+ apart on different areas for the different colors. Then you could iron the freezer paper onto the right side of the fabric and print right on the back. I made a test and I think this might work.

  • Sandie says:

    I love the red and white. I’ve been contemplating starting a Dear Jane quilt for a couple years, but haven’t made the leap. Yet. Sigh.

  • amandajean says:

    i was thinking about dear jane quilts just this morning. i can see where the prep work would be the biggest hurdle. good luck rekindling your interest in those blocks. i love the red and white color scheme. it’s just perfect.

  • whatktmadenext says:

    26 is really good going and advanced prep seems like a good idea! I’ve always got some prepped but I think I need to prep a variety (applique, paper-pieced, rotary cut etc) so that there’s always something to hand no matter what I fancy doing.

    Good luck with the rest of your blocks!

  • Monex says:

    I had..approximately 26 of the 4.5 blocks done..when..my..husbands job forced a move on our family from Idaho to Texas…After..unpacking I could NOT find my blocks anywhere! I was REALLY..wanting..to work on the quilt getting my interest back in it…so I started..over!!..Then guess what…I found the original blocks c Of course..we all knew that would happen……

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dear Jane in Review at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

