5 – Another one finished!

December 20, 2010 § 11 Comments

Snowballs

Another quilt finished!  This one is for my hubby. I finished the quilt top more than two years ago but didn’t get around to quilting it until last week.  I tried to quilt it last December too, but the rental quilting machine wasn’t working properly. And I ended up putting it aside and never got back to it.  It is my interpretation of Brandon Mably’s Rustic Snowballs Quilt from the book Kaffe Fassett’s Kaleidoscope of Quilts. I wanted to work in coffee themed fabrics because my husband is a coffee geek.

the quilting

I’m pretty happy with how this turned out. I feel like I finally made a break-through when quilting on the rental mid-arm at one of my local quilt shops. Up to this point I have just quilted basic all-over designs like loops or meandering or something. On this quilt, I specifically tried to make the quilting following the blocks. While it’s nothing fancy, I finally felt like I had more control over where I wanted to go. It was sort of like a light bulb finally turned on.  There were a couple of places where I forgot what I was doing, but you really have to look for them to find them.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have more consistent access to practice?

Alright, this is the final crunch to finish a few more things before the end of the year. I’m not holding my breath to get much done this last week before Christmas. But there is still 1 more quilt, a table topper and my forest of Yo Yo trees that I would like to finish.  Even if they are all Christmas projects, I DO NOT want to have them hanging over my head again next Christmas!  Know what I mean?

§ 11 Responses to 5 – Another one finished!

  • Lesly says:

    Very nice! And the quilting is great – lazily elegant loops! Love!

  • Alexis says:

    Looks great! How nice to get another finish on your list- cheers!

  • Cathy A says:

    It’s beautiful! I was just sitting here thinking that I should try a snowball quilt for my next project–of course, I’m so scattered who knows what will actually happen in the next few days?

    I really like the way you arranged the fabrics on the snowballs and the colors of the triangles. It looks wonderful!

    Did you take a class to learn how to use the mid arm machine? I keep thinking I really need to learn how to do the quilting myself because it’s so hard to do on my sewing machine and I’m to the point where I’m tired of straight lines and in the ditch quilting. But I can’t afford a new sewing machine that would do better. If I could learn how and then do the machine rental like you do that would be wonderful! I usually go to Gathering Fabrics in Woodinville, but I haven’t noticed anything in their class lists before. Is there somewhere local that you know of that I could find a class?

  • nicolette says:

    End of the year finishes are the best! You made your husband a beautiful quilt!

  • DebbyMcC says:

    Boy, you are really going to town. What a fun quilt! Oh, yes, I do know what you mean =-)

  • Viv says:

    Well done, looks like you might just finish all those jobs. The quilt is beautiful !!! Super job on the quilting. I’m quite jealous. I’ve just had to quilt 2 queen size quilts on my domestic machine – no wonder I have a sore back😦

    Really love the vibrant colours!!

    Best of luck for finishing your last few jobs. I just have a couple of hald done toiletries bags to finish sewing today and I’m done.

  • Lisle says:

    Looks great!!

  • Meredith says:

    I am so glad you are making headway. I wish I had your energy.

  • Regina says:

    I love how the colors play on this – i had to read your post to realize it was a snowball block. Very nice!

  • Sandie says:

    It’s perfect. I was admiring the quilting before I read your post, and I love to hear about those “breakthroughs” in quilting. It’s so much fun when it all comes together!

  • pamina says:

    Beautiful quilt

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 5 – Another one finished! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

