6 – Oldest Decorations

December 19, 2010 § 7 Comments

Mr. Snowman

Mr. Mouse

These are my two oldest Christmas decorations.  They were given to me by my piano teacher when I was a kid.  (Mom, do you remember these?)  Back in the 70’s painting ceramics was really popular.  Both of these have dates and initials on the back.  I don’t remember how long I took piano lessons. But music has never been one of my talents.  I’m not sure that I could even play any more.  I always jokingly say that I can play the radio/stereo really well!

What are your oldest Christmas decorations?

§ 7 Responses to 6 – Oldest Decorations

  • Susan says:

    What are my oldest ornaments? that is a hard one as I don’t take all the Christmas boxes out every year …… will have to make that a priority for next year…. and maybe get rid of some boxs……

    looks like it is snowing on your blog !! it is raining leaves in my yard…..

    Stereo….. have not heard that word in decades…. aren’t we OLD?

  • Julie says:

    I sure do remember those ornaments. It was Mrs. Sonich that painted them, right? You took piano lessons for 5 years, but you never did seem to get the grasp of things. Sewing was much more to your liking and you did that well from the get-go.

  • karenlogcabinquilter says:

    I wish I had old ornaments. My mother gave me all the ornaments she had when I got married. The old glass ones. They broke over the years. I gave my daughter all the Christmas ornaments I had when we moved out of state. I don’t recognize any of them on her tree so I guess they are gone now too. Treasure yours.

  • nicolette says:

    Lovely ornaments! I sadly have no ornaments from my childhood. They were all given to my brother and sister, who both got children and I didn’t. Delicate subject… LOL! So cherish these memories from childhood!

  • Melody says:

    I have my original stocking.🙂 I love your decorations!🙂

  • Cathy A says:

    I think my oldest ornament that was from when I was a child is 1974 or 1972. It’s a Snoopy ornament. I could go look on the tree to see, but I’m too lazy! I love having ornaments from when I was a kid. My mom gave me one every year and dated it. I am doing the same for my kids. I have a few things that were my grandma’s but I don’t know exactly how old they are. I’m guessing the 70’s but they could be older.

  • DebbyMcC says:

    I have my Christmas stocking from the very early 60s (too fragile to use), and an ancient silver glass ornament (with the squished in middle on one side that is painted red and green just on that part) that I do ever so carefully hang every year, from when we still lived in NYS, which would make it pre-1956, the year of the great migration…I always loved it and another glass ball when I was a kid so my mom gave it to me…the other one was clear and had a little brush-like tree inside it…I never could figure out how it got in there. I don’t remember what ever happened to that one, I don’t think she gave it to me, though. I remember, vaguely, a few others that came to the west coast with us, some of those cones with popcorn or something in them, wrapped in colored cellophane…I do remember that we never put our tree up until Christmas Eve cuz Mom was so afraid of fire, and then we took it down the day after Christmas, so ornament sightings were fleeting at best! At least I have one of them =-)

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 6 – Oldest Decorations at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

