11 – Going Gluten Free

December 14, 2010 § 2 Comments

photo curtesy of About.com

A couple of years ago my mom found out that she is intolerant to gluten. While there is so much more today for folks who need to eat gluten free, it’s still a challenge to find good tasting gluten free products.  Gluten is the ingredient in wheat flour that makes bread dough strong so that it rises tall and fluffy. Take away the gluten and so much of the gluten free bread is flat and tasteless.  So this post is for my mom.

The other day we were talking about making gluten free scones and rosettes.  Rosettes were one of our traditional Christmas treats that we made every year when I was growing up.  So I cruised around the Internet and here is what I found. I haven’t tried any of these recipes, but the photos look pretty good.  If anybody makes any of these recipes, let me know what you think!

Gluten Free Rosettes from About.com

Gluten Free Christmas Treats from Gluten Free Gobsmacked

Gluten Free Cranberry Scones from Gratinée

Crumble Resistant Gluten Free Scones from Cooking Gluten Free

Nearly Normal Gluten Free Scones from The Washington Post

Gluten Free Cheddar Cheese Scones from Gluten Free Bread World

§ 2 Responses to 11 – Going Gluten Free

  • DebbyMcC says:

    Ooh! Will try at least one, maybe more, of these because we have people in the extended family who have gluten allergies, and I always think it is nice to include something they can eat at family parties. They all sound yummy! And those rosettes look sooo good =-)

  • aracne says:

    Thank you so much, I discovered that I am gluten intollerant lately. Eating is not a great problem most of the time but I miss bread and cakes. Your post will help me find new recipes, again: thank you!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 11 – Going Gluten Free at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

