14 – Oops! I’ve got nothin’

December 11, 2010 § 6 Comments

quilting at home

Ooops!  I’ve got nothin’ for you today… because yesterday morning I was doing this.  Quilting my tree quilt at home.  (It’s slow going on the home sewing machine.  There’s already 2-3 hours into it and not quite half done.)

quilting at my LQS

And then… yesterday afternoon I was doing this. Quilting the thank you quilt for the neighbors on the mid-arm machine at my local quilt shop.  (So much faster than quilting at home – 2 hours start to finish – just your basic loopy meander.  This quilt might be an inch or two smaller than the Christmas quilt.)

cozy corner

And last night we attempted to put up the Christmas tree. But we had to go out and buy new lights. Most of our really, really old (probably as old as the number of years we have lived in our house ~ which would be 13, almost 14) Christmas lights didn’t work.  So all we managed to do was move this chair, lamp & plant out of the living room and into the family/dining room, putting up the tree and stringing it with lights. Decorations will have to go on another day.  (But I love this cozy corner that is created when we make room for the Christmas tree and wish we could keep it all year round. Not the tree. Just this little reading nook)

That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

§ 6 Responses to 14 – Oops! I’ve got nothin’

  • Rachel says:

    We had to go and buy new Christmas lights last night too! ‘Tis the Season, I guess.

    I’ve never tried a long-arm quilting machine. Looks like fun. I’m looking forward to seeing the completed version of your Thank You quilt – it looks great so far!

    Love your cozy nook. We also have to move the furniture around in the living room to accommodate the tree. It’s a bit of a pain (and blocks one door to the room) but totally worth it to be able to sit in the glow of the (new) lights.

  • Alexis says:

    That’s a quilting heavy day! Our Christmas lights burned out last night. Can you believe it? How do I get dead lights off- and new lights on- a decorated Christmas tree? Rats!

  • DebbyMcC says:

    I wouldn’t say you’ve got nothin’! Looks like a whole lotta somethin’! =-) Christmas quilt, Christmas tree, furniture movin’ for said tree…that’s somethin’ for sure =-)

  • Susan says:

    Love the pix of you quilting on the different machines. Why are you quilting the tree one at home? Do you have to pay for time?
    Your corner looks so cozy!!

  • Mystica says:

    I like the pictures of you on the machine!

    I have a giveaway on my blog. My first one – a gift card sponsored by CSN Stores. Please do come over and enter

  • Karen says:

    We create a wonderful little reading nook when we put up the tree too! Love the pillow on the chair.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 14 – Oops! I’ve got nothin’ at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

