17 – The best memory ever

December 8, 2010 § 6 Comments

Christmas memories. (a repost… because it’s my favorite Christmas memory of all)

According to the date on this photo, this was my second Christmas. I was about 15 months old. Most of our family photos are on slides so I don’t have many hard copy photos. I wish I had some pictures of the tall drifts of snow and our puffy snow suits. I have two younger brothers.  We were the proverbial kids that had to go potty just as the last mitten and the last hat was put on.

I grew up on a farm in Iowa. I remember cold winters, curling up under wool blankets, and the wood stove in the kitchen where my dad would burn corn cobs. I also remember hearing the Dogs Barking Jingle Bells on the radio every Christmas.  Probably the worst song ever. But as a kid I thought it was hilarious.

The best memory ever, though, is the Christmas Eve candle light service at church.  Real candles were lit.   I know… a fire hazard today and prohibited.  At the end of the service all the lights in the church would be turned off and the only light came from the advent candle in the front.  The ushers would light their candles from the advent candle and then start at the front of the church, lighting the candle of the first person in each row while working their way to the back.  Then, that first person would light the candle of the person next to them.  I would watch in amazement and wonder  as the church went from almost completely dark to completely lit as the last person’s candle was lit.  I don’t think there is any other Christmas memory as distinct as that one.

§ 6 Responses to 17 – The best memory ever

  • Alexis says:

    I love candle light services- they are so magical! Thanks for the great reminder!

  • Liz says:

    Beautiful memory.

    BTW, there are little machines that will take slides and negatives and digitize them. I got my little machine at Bed, Bath & Beyond last Christmas. This year, I noticed, in some ad, that there is now a machine that will do slides, negatives and pictures.

  • DebbyMcC says:

    One of my wishes is to be at the Christmas Eve candlelight service in our beautiful little church on the village green in NY…of course, that would mean being there for the holidays, which is probably not going to happen for awhile, but maybe someday…

  • Viv says:

    What a fantastic memory of Christmas. We don’t do anything like that but are going to the “Carols by Candlelight” at a local park on Saturday night. I can’t wait !!

  • Kristy says:

    We have the same candle lighting ceremony at our church every Christmas eve……..and my daughter was always very touched by it….in fact so much so that this past August she included the candle lighting as a significant part of her wedding ceremony. It was fabulous.

  • Deidre says:

    I only have a few pictures of Jeff when he was little because a collage of him and me was displayed when we got married. Would be fun to see the old slides and get a few hard copies made wouldn’t it?

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 17 – The best memory ever at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

