18 – Memories of Decembers Past

December 7, 2010 § 4 Comments

December 2006

2006:  The year the power went out for 4 days from a big wind storm.  For some people it was more like 10 days.  This was 1 1/2 weeks before Christmas.  On the fourth day of our power being out we decided that if we were going to be cold we might as well go skiing.  And we came home to electricity the next day!

December 2007

2007:  No major power outages this year.  There was a teeny bit of snow.  So we decided to make our own paper snowflakes and hang them in front of the living room window.

December 2008

2008:  The year of the blizzard. About a week before Christmas we had a snow storm, then another snow storm, and some more snow.  And you know how our city shuts down at the sight of even a flake!  While we couldn’t get out to go anywhere, it was one of the best Christmases because our neighbors got together and shared meals and watched movies.  As long as we have electricity…

December 2009

2009:  This is my favorite photo from last year.  Kiska’s favorite place in the whole house was under the Christmas tree.

What are some of your favorite memories?

§ 4 Responses to 18 – Memories of Decembers Past

  • Susan says:

    Such a wonderful post! I adore the pic of the kitty too and that little peek of quiltiness.

  • Lisle says:

    We like to turn all the lights out as soon as it gets dark so we can see the tree lights, and the others that are strung up around.

    My favorite Christmas? That would be the year my oldest was 2, and we didn’t have any money. I scrounged up a gazillion boxes and wrapped them in all kinds of found paper, and put them under our 3′ tree (taller because it was on a covered milk crate). He had so much fun opening all those boxes!

  • Melody says:

    I love your pics, especially the last two.🙂

  • Jeannie says:

    I think it was 1996. We were in Snohomish and sleeping in the motor home in my Dad’s shop. Got up Christmas morning and I couldn’t get the shop door open. Finally I heard my Dad on the other side of the door. He had come to shovel me out. Yep, 27 inches of snow overnight! There were eight of us stuck for 2 days and we were stuck for 8. I puttered in Dad’s shop for hours, making bird houses and feeders with him. It wasn’t fun not being able to get out, but I treasure those hours spent with my Dad.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 18 – Memories of Decembers Past at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

