19 – Brrrr Park quilt top done! Or is it?

December 6, 2010 § 24 Comments

 

Brrr Park quilt top

Top done!  Or so I thought until I put the last border on.  The center of this quilt was put together and sitting in my UFO pile.  So I’ve been working on the borders this last week.  When I really started looking at it, it seems a little stark in the middle. The pattern was originally 6 trees – 3 rows & 2 columns.  But I wanted a more squarish quilt.  So I left the last row off.  It’s the perfect size for a sofa throw. Actually, I made a couple of other adjustments as well.  The second border is a half-inch bigger and the outer border is two inches bigger.  Now it really is a nice size ~ somewhere around 71 inches square.

But then…  I had to make one more block…

 

with one more block in the center?

Don’t you think this is a little better?  I pinned the extra block in the middle just to see what it looked like before I made my final decision.  I would really like to finish this by Christmas Eve. Actually, I have about four quilt tops that I’d  like to finish by Christmas Eve. Now there’s a challenge, eh?

§ 24 Responses to 19 – Brrrr Park quilt top done! Or is it?

  • So pretty! I like it best with only 4 trees. But it looks equally good with 5. Just depends on the look you are going for.🙂. I’ve also got lots to make before Christmas! Happy stitching!

  • Melody says:

    I really like it with the 5, though it is beautiful with just 4.

  • DianeY says:

    I think I like it better with 5! It’s beautiful either way though

  • felicity says:

    I think it looks beautiful both ways. The plain centre square in the 4-block arrangement is crying out for some stitchery, or a special quilting design. What about some redwork? Because you’ve got SO MUCH time to get it done between now and Christmas Eve!😉

  • Tora Consolo says:

    I love the 5 trees – I’m a stickler for odd number arrangements…you’re work is so incredibly beautiful…when I grow up I want to be you!

  • Rachel says:

    It looks beautiful both ways, but I really prefer the 5 block version. Figures…it’s more work😉 I believe you CAN get it (and the others) done by Christmas eve!

  • Meredith says:

    I prefer the four blocks but that is just my gut reaction. Wow that is a challenge. I really like that quilt block and it is on my list of to dos.

  • DebbyMcC says:

    OhMyGosh! I just about sucked all the air out of the room when I opened your page =-) This is BEAUTIFUL. I like the 5 blocks…but, really, that is easily done and shouldn’t take too much time…=-) And if you think it needs something else, you probably won’t be happy with it until you do it…voice of experience…=-) Man, I do love red and white…I am going on a hunt, I know there is a red and white top in one of my bins…I can fold it strategically and drape it over a chair, cuz I do not have the time for anything else this year…

  • Trisha says:

    I love it with the 5 trees. What a beautiful quilt. I love the green here and there.

  • Emily says:

    FIVE! Are you going to take it all apart or put it on top?

  • Mona Keegan says:

    You are amazingly ambitious! Sounds like me sometimes. I will pray for you to meet you goals and not be too worn out! And, the center block is exquisite. Put that baby in!

  • I love it with the five trees!~ Happy stitching!😉

  • Susan says:

    Oh dear. It does look better with center block but oy you don’t want to take it apart do you? Could you do some the of applique?? Or if you left it you Could do some awesome quitting in the blank squares?? Its lovely whatever you decide.

  • Lynne says:

    Perfect with 5 trees. Just do it and then it will be on the way to being finished🙂
    Keep having fun
    Cheers
    Lynne

  • Lieve says:

    I would go for 4 trees. I like it the most.
    Good luck with the stiching!

  • Lisle says:

    I like the 5 trees, but I don’t think I’d take it apart. I’d find a way to just applique that block right onto the middle of the quilt. Way less time. Who’s going to know?

  • pratima says:

    Anita, your tree quilt is fantastic! Love the addition of another tree in the center. It feels more complete and those greens are such a cute touch!

  • pratima says:

    oh, I didn’t realize you have to take it all apart, I hope you can do some kind of repair in the center without having to go through all that trouble😦

  • Liz says:

    Either. Sorry, not much help but both of these versions are delightful. That is probably why you can’t make your mind up. That is another quilt on my wishlist of to-dos.

  • Kathy says:

    I LOVE it and am voting for 4 trees. It’s beautiful and will be even more beautiful when it’s quilted.

  • karenlogcabinquilter says:

    I like the five tree blocks more than the four tree blocks. Lots of little pieces in those blocks.

  • Janet says:

    Wow that’s a gorgeous top!! All those marvelous hst’s. I have to say I like the 4 block version best. Good luck getting it doen in time for Christmas.

  • I liked it with 4 trees but when I saw it with 5, I loved it!

  • quilltr says:

    I think the fifth block just makes it!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 19 – Brrrr Park quilt top done! Or is it? at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

