It came, it went, and it was fabulous!

November 26, 2010 § 10 Comments

chopped
browning
ready for the wine
2.5 hours later
Boeuf Bourguignon
Rustic Dinner Rolls
Dinner!
Happy Thanksgiving!

Ever since we first saw Julie & Julia we have been dying to make Boeuf Borguignon.  And since it was just the two of us this year for Thanksgiving we decided to pass on the turkey and give it a go.  Actually we did the turkey dinner a couple of weeks ago with a turkey that had been in the freezer for awhile. By the way, I LOVE leftover turkey!  And now we are stocked up.

So, we started the night before by watching Julie & Julia again.  I absolutely love Meryl Streep in this movie!  Then we set out to make Boeuf Borguignon.  And may I say, it was pretty tasty. It does take some time in the kitchen. And one definitely needs to cook mise en place. There are lots of little steps. Like simmering the bacon in water first. Why? I’m not sure. To remove some of the salt and fat?  There was no hint of bacon flavor when the dish was finished.  We rounded out the meal with simple boiled potatoes and Rustic Dinner Rolls from Cook’s Illustrated.  I am in love with those rolls!  But then, bread is my weakness.  It was a nice, quiet, and satisfying holiday.

Are any of you out shopping the Black Friday deals?  I am not a big fan of Black Friday shopping.  I’ll be shopping the Internet from here on out.  For instance, I got an email from the Interweave Store and they are offering free shipping on orders over $30 for the weekend. I can’t find it advertised on the web site, so maybe you need to click through the email?

Anyway… Let the holidays begin!

§ 10 Responses to It came, it went, and it was fabulous!

  • Alexis says:

    That looks fantastic! Love the step by step photos… they remind me how we’ve been playing Cooking Mama on the Wii all week- so fun!

  • Erin says:

    I loved the movie. I wanted to cook up a storm after I watched it. Your Boeuf Borguignon looked delicious. So did the rest of the meal.

    I’m not a black Friday shopper either. It’s just not something I enjoy. I am becoming more and more a fan of internet shopping, especially when free shipping is involved. Have a great weekend!

  • Kari says:

    Yummy! I recently made Beef Borguignon for the first time myself. Thanks for sharing the recipe for the rolls. I need to try those.

  • Melody says:

    It looks delicious!🙂

  • Jeannie says:

    I loved that movie and Meryl could stand there and read the phone book and I would watch! I was at Interweave first thing this morning after spending a few hours last night making my list and checking it twice! Have a great weekend.

  • Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    Wow! It looks wonderful, thanks for sharing. I’m with you on the Internet shopping, I love it. Sometimes my brother or my dad and I shop together virtually. We get on the phone and compter and visit web sites together to shop. It’s actually really fun and a great way to shop together when the miles keep you apart.

  • pratima says:

    Cute picture, Anita🙂
    Glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!
    I did place an order on equilter on Black Friday.

  • amandajean says:

    it looks like it was a fabulous meal! i LOVE that movie. i saw it in the theater twice, and i tried watching it a few nights ago on Netflix instant view but i had streaming problems. so frustrating! so i may have to try it again tonight.🙂

    your rustic rolls look mighty tempting and not so good for me and my weightloss efforts. bread is my weakness, too.

  • amandajean says:

    oh, and if i haven’t left a long enough comment yet….

    when we lived in Michigan, we were far from family and we skipped the turkey on Thanksgiving (because we ate it all year round) and made prime rib instead. that was a mighty fine tradition that my husband started and that we somehow (sadly) lost since we moved to WI.

  • Jan Quigley says:

    I’m reading your blog & thinking, oh that reminds me of Julie & Julia, which I saw for the first time just a few weeks ago & then I finished reading. :-))) Love it, it looks wonderful & a very cosy Thanksgiving at that. cheers, Jan

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading It came, it went, and it was fabulous! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

