And now I am sick

November 11, 2010 § 7 Comments

One Pi sock done, one to go

There’s nothing like coming home and then promptly getting sick.  So, what have I been doing between moaning & groaning & whining about how I feel?  Knitting socks.  This was my airplane knitting to and from Houston.  One down, one to go. The second sock was started but not finished.

Jogless Join in the calf

They have given me lots of opportunity to practice my jogless join.  Before I really knew what I was doing, I kept the join in the same spot on the leg section. It doesn’t look quite as good as the foot section where I switched to the traveling join.  Unintentionally.  My first I thought was that I had to keep the join in the same place so that the heel would come out right. But  in hindsight, I think the traveling  jogless join looks better and I don’t think it would have effected the heel at all.

Traveling Jogless Join in the foot

These are for my hubby  and the geek in him.  We are calling them the Pi Socks.  Each stripe represents a number in Pi:  3.1415926535897932384626433832.  They will be finished in plenty of time for National Pi Day.

Project notes:

Yarn – Berroco Ultra Alpaca Fine (50% Peruvian Wool, 20% Super Fine Alpaca, 30% Nylon) – and slippery than the dickens to knit.  I almost lost it when I dropped a stitch!

Needles – 2.25mm

Pattern – basic sock anatomy using Pi as the stripe sequence, 1×1 ribbed cuff, s1 k1 heel and toe in all the same color (just because that’s how the colors fell)

§ 7 Responses to And now I am sick

  • DebbyMc says:

    Great sock, love the stripes. I’ve hidden my sock endeavors in the back of the yarn pile…two pair and no two socks have come out the same size as …so frustrating. I have bought the “two at a time” book, maybe that will help…when I feel like making socks again =-) Hope you feel better soon!

  • susan says:

    Lovely socks and I think its hilarious they are pi socks. Still hoping to pick knitting back up again this winter.
    Sorry you are sick :o(

  • Liz says:

    The name of your socks is very cute. The fact that you were knitting on the plane, does that mean knitting needles are now permitted? What is the latest regarding scissors and sewing items? If you don’t know that is OK.

  • Jeannie says:

    Feel better soon! I love the Pi socks. Did you realize the number opportunities next year? 1/1/11, 1/11/11, and so on! Take care and have some soup to make you feel better. Hugs.

  • mathea says:

    I love the idea of pi socks. There’s a geek in me as well, I suppose😉 Now how about Fibonacci socks and Golden Ratio socks? The mind boggles with all the possibilities…
    Don’t think too much about it all now though, lean back and concentrate on getting better instead!

  • amy says:

    DRAT! Sorry that you are sick.😦 Seems like it might be nature’s way of keeping us from getting too excited about quilting? Makes a break in the momentum of enthusiasm anyway. Love the socks! Great colors, great stripes! FEEL BETTER SOON!!

  • pratima says:

    Hope you are feeling better, Anita. The colors are beautiful in these socks! Lovely pattern. I like the cute name you gave them.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading And now I am sick at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

