Home From Houston

November 9, 2010 § 4 Comments

Houston International Quilt Festival

We’re home!  And our feet and pocket books survived the Houston International Quilt Festival.  What an amazing show!  It’s overwhelming and inspiring all at the same time.  And we definitely needed the 2 days we had planned to be there to really take it all in. My head was swimming by the end of the 2nd day.  I can’t imagine taking classes on top of all of that.

There were so many special exhibits as well as the judged quilts.

  • Kaffe Fassett had an exhibit of his quilts from his book Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts. It was awesome to see them up close and in person.
  • Many of the quilts from the book 500 Art Quilts.
  • There was a special exhibit of antique quilts reproduced in miniature that was amazing.
  • The exhibit Text on Textiles was fascinating since I had been working words in my Row 10 quilt.  (I got to meet Tanya Ricucci but her book doesn’t come out until next month.  She was a delight!)
  • There was also an exhibit of antique patriotic quilts that caught my eye.

You can see the winning quilts here.  And my Flickr album of some of the highlights is here.

120 Embroidery Designs by Yoko Saito

One of my splurge purchases was this book, 120 Embroidery Designs by Yoko Saito.  I have been seeing more embroidery incorporated into quilting lately.  It’s inspiring!  And I can’t wait to try some of these designs. ISBN 9784529046534 if you are interested in looking for it.

Inside

There are gridded patterns for a wide variety of embroidery designs and then sample projects on how to use them.

The Husband’s Lounge

But I think one of my favorite sites at the quilt show was the Husband’s Lounge.  Actually, I was a little bit jealous.  They got a private area with TV’s, bark-a-loungers, and tables to use their computers.  What a nice respite from the rest of the show!  One husband was wandering in as I was trying to take a picture and he jokingly shoo-ed me away saying that this place was for husbands only.  Sheesh!  No sharing allowed!

§ 4 Responses to Home From Houston

  • Kate says:

    Love the husband’s lounge area! My husband has helped me at a few shows and has suggested to organisers something similar would be great. MMm maybe I can convince him to come to Quilt Market with me!

  • pratima says:

    Hey, Anita! Welcome back🙂
    Glad you had a wonderful wonderful time at the market. The book seem to have lots of pretty designs! I’ll look forward to your pretty stitcheries! The lounge area sounds really cool!

  • susan says:

    Gorgeous quilt behind you.that embroidery book looks wonderful

  • amy says:

    Welcome home! Glad you ladies had fun! Makes the head swim, no? When I saw your book pics on Flickr, I had to ask myself ‘do I have that book? I don’t think I have that book. I need that book!’🙂 I came home with renewed quilting energy, I hope you did too!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Home From Houston at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

