I can see the light!

October 6, 2010 § 12 Comments

Olivia Dress

I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel!  Yay! My samples are sewn and ready to ship back to Clothworks.  These will be on display in their booth at Quilt Market.  The fabric is Le Jardin dePapillons and the patterns are from Sew Serendipity.  (Oh yeah, did you notice that our fireplace is now white?  Next week ~ a new wood burning insert will be installed! Another yay!)

Full view

This pattern is the Olivia Dress.  Although I have another pattern and the book, I haven’t yet had a chance to sew with Kay’s patterns. Let me just say that I was pleasantly surprised that it actually fit me without any alterations.  So many commercial patterns seem to be made for stick figures and I always have to alter them. The great thing about Kay’s patterns is that a) there are LOTS of pictures and b) she adds notes about customizing and altering the basic pattern to fit your own taste and your own shape.

I pretty much made the dress as the pattern said for the knee length version.  I allowed extra room in the band around the bottom of the sleeves because I hate it when the sleeves are too tight. But I don’t think I needed to do that and would stick with the original suggestion if I made this dress again. Also, I hate the look of my knees, so I would also make the skirt longer so that it hits right at the bottom of my knee cap. That’s just me and my own personal preference to cover my ugly knees.

Rachel Bag

This is the Rachel Cross Body Bag.  The pattern called for Peltex as the stiffener and I couldn’t find any near me. So I used Timtex. Frankly, I’m not sure I would use Timtex again. While it is nicely stiff, it is also really thick! I’m wondering if buckram would work better…  I might try that on some other bag in the future just to compare.

Inside

The only alteration I made to this pattern was adding binding to the inside pocket.  It wasn’t for any reason other than function ~ anything to make it easier to find stuff hidden at the bottom of my purse.

Too short!

And my only disappointment was that the strap was really short for my taste.  I will probably make a longer strap after the purse comes back from Quilt Market.

After sewing these two patterns, I’m really itching to sew the coat in the book!   But not until I can cross off a couple more projects on my list.

§ 12 Responses to I can see the light!

  • susan says:

    the dress is so pretty!
    makes me almost want to attempt it (im not a clothing sewist)
    it looks cute on you too, and pishaw you have adorable knees
    i will tell my boss to look for it at market
    are you going?

  • Michele says:

    What a cute frock! It looks lovely on you. The fabrics don’t hurt either!

  • Cathy A says:

    Those both look great! I get to go to Quilt Market, so I will be on the lookout for them!

  • Renee says:

    Nice sewing! Love the bag!!

  • Alexis says:

    I love the dress! And you did a great job on the bag! The fabrics are lovely. Oddly we have the *exact* same fireplace. I’m interested in hearing how you like the insert, we really need to do something like that with ours too!

  • Sandie says:

    The dress is lovely and really flattering on you – it shows off your gorgeous knees to perfection!

    And bravo on the fireplace – I can’t even picture it in natural brick!

  • amy says:

    Very pretty, Anita! The dress looks fab! I made a top from the Olivia pattern. I think my problem is that I don’t know how to pick the correct size item to make — do the measurements include ease, no ease. So, my top was too tight but I added an additional button band to solve the problem. But, now that I know it won’t stop me from making more because they are GORGEOUS. You’ve gotta make that coat. I still swoon a little when I think of Kay in her beautiful red Rouenneries coat. The new Clothworks fabrics are lovely!

  • Rebekah says:

    What an adorable dress! Beautiful work!

  • amandajean says:

    i love your white fireplace! good for you for painting it. I would have, too. i started painting my trim white and I LOVE how fresh and clean it looks. yahoo!!! i waited almost 3 years before jumping in because i knew it would be a ton of work. however, now that i’ve started, i’m thrilled that i took the plunge. maybe in 20 years, when i finish it, i’ll blog about it. ha!

  • Pratima says:

    What a pretty dress! The colors are so warm and rich. Perfect for fall! It looks very sweet on you! The bag is beautiful🙂

  • Dianne says:

    Oh my goodness, the dress is so darn cute and I adore the fabric! I want to buy that book so badly, but I’m 6 months pregnant and won’t be able to wear anything from it for awhile, I’m sure.😦 The bag is super cute, too! I haven’t ever heard of the stiffeners that you mentioned….I’m a novice sewer, so I guess I need to do some research on those. 🙂

  • Joyce says:

    The dress and purse are so cute! And a fine sewing job at that!! One very talented woman.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading I can see the light! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

