At least my Kitchen floor is clean!

September 9, 2010 § 9 Comments

Chair Quilt from Lucinda

As I’m mopping up the tomato splatters on the kitchen floor this morning, I’m thinking about all my unfinished projects and my lack of blogging.  Mopping has a way of giving me plenty of time to think..  kind of  like chain-piecing does.  Unfortunately, sometimes my thinking is rather random and circular.  Here’s an example of how the thought process might go…

“I really should blog. It’s been days. But I’m feeling like a bad blogger. And not very good at the writing part of it.  And there aren’t any new or finished projects to talk about. What should I talk about? I really need to finish that binding. But I want to work on my block-of-the-month quilt. I wonder if it’s considered a modern quilt, or a traditional quilt?  My mom thinks I’m a traditional quilter. But Carolyn at work thinks I’m a modern quilter. I don’t really feel like I fall into either category.  I’m just a sewer who likes to make things… a maker of things. That’s what I am. Not an artist or a quilter. Just someone who likes to keep my hands busy.  Hmmm, I wonder how that salsa that we made last night tastes.  Rats. I really  need to go buy some chips.  Note to self: buy chips! Oh yeah. And eggs.  What time is it? …”

Okay. See?  Random thought rambling turned into a blog post.  Lame.  Sorry.  I’ve added a lovely chair quilt* photo to keep you all occupied.

Surprisingly good home-made salsa

The tomato splatters are from the salsa that we canned last night after I got home from work.  Rebecca, back on my Preserving post, suggested using Mrs. Wages salsa seasoning mix. Their web site says that it is only sold at Walmart in this area. But, Walmart isn’t within my normal circle of routine. So we tried the Spicy Tomato Salsa from the Complete Book of Home Preserving by Ball.  After I went out and bought some chips we ate some. It was surprisingly good!  Messy to make. But good to eat.  And not really spicy. More like the equivalent of mild supermarket jar salsa.

*Oh, and the Chair Quilt above was made by lucyellen. She made a chair quilt for each of the DQS9 swap mamas. How exceedingly generous is that?  I’ve been coveting one of her chair quilts since my very first round with the Doll Quilt Swap. I think it looks absolutely happy and content next to my other doll quilts, don’t you?

My binding still isn’t done.  Maybe later today after I get off the computer?  At least my kitchen floor is clean. That is, until the cat comes in with  muddy paws.

§ 9 Responses to At least my Kitchen floor is clean!

  • I’m so glad that I’m not alone in the tornado thought process! That’s what my hubby calls it. It’s like everything you’ve thought about in the last couple of days just gets stirred up and rehashed in a 5 minute tornado of thought! Watch out when it becomes a verbal hurricane!! Glad you found a great salsa recipe! Nothing beats homemade salsa!!

  • Cathy A. says:

    I like the chair quilt! And the others, too.

    I am one who wonders if it matters if we choose to be called a modern quilter or a traditional quilter. Because, we can all do either or both at any moment. Right?

    Clean floors are good!

  • Jan says:

    For years I was a member of a group of textile *people*, many of whom called themselves quilt artists and seemed to use that term as a a clear differentiator from being considered a mere quilter. To the point of making my teeth hurt. I always have used the term *quiltmaker* to describe myself. I make quilts. That about covers it!
    Lucky, lucky you to have received a Lucy Ellen chair quilt! I can only dream about it! 🙂

  • Michele says:

    Your salsa is beautiful! And you’ve reminded me to tackle that kitchen floor tomorrow. Don’t wanna! Keep creating, it’s fun to see what you’re up to!

  • Lisle says:

    Meh, the kitchen floor’s always there. It’s not going anywhere. Go do something fun where you can actually see the progress. MUCH more satisfying. I’m off to pick my bike up from the shop!

  • Debbie aka Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    I’ve been thinking a lot this past year about why I make things. At the current moment I have one wool penny rug going, I’m almost finished with a 4-pillow crochet set, one cross stitch picture, and seven quilts…whew!! I LOVE to have things that I am in the middle of and can pick up at a moments notice…almost to the point where I hate to finish things because I wonder how I will fill the empty void. I love the process more than I love the finished product.

  • amandajean says:

    that’s not a lame post at all, honey! i think in circles all. the. time. however i rarely mop my kitchen floor.

    I JUST made salsa tonight, too. yes, it’s messy! i hope mine is surprisingly good. i didn’t use a seasoning mix…i made it up as i went. i like to live on the edge.🙂

  • pratima says:

    The chair quilt is very cute!! Your salsa looks so yummy!
    Hope you are enjoying a lovely weekend!

  • Suzie says:

    It was good to read your post, I feel like that many times, too. Sometimes it’s hard to find my way back…And I am a maker of things, too, I love all things handmade, traditional and modern, whatever makes me smile, whatever keeps my hands busy. Wishing you a lovely and creative week!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading At least my Kitchen floor is clean! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

