Liberate Your Scraps!

August 27, 2010 § 15 Comments

Which one will it be?

My Doll Quilt(s) are done! One of these will be shipped out to my swap partner next week. Which one will it be?  While they were both really fun to make, the Liberated Wedding Ring inspired me to dig into my scraps. I’ve decided that this will be my slow winter project now that the summer Wild Geese project is done.

scrap bins

You’ve seen my scrap bins. This is what they looked like just after painting my room more than a year ago. Then last Christmas, the 3 Amigo quilts barely made a dent. Well, they are even more full now!  I have got to make a bigger effort at using up the scraps.

So I set them on the floor next to my sewing machine and just started randomly pulling pieces out of the blue/green/purple bin and the pink/orange/yellow bin.  I only made 4 pieces and need a bazillion more for a whole quilt. But at least it’s a start, right?

Scrappy & Liberated

So… all winter (or maybe up until the end of the year) I am going to randomly sew liberated wedding ring blocks until I have a quilt.  You can join me too, if you like.  I drew some paper-piecing templates in EQ, but you can draw them on scrap paper as well.

EQ block drawing

Decide what size block you want and mark the half-way point on each side. Draw a diagonal line from the center top to the center of the right side and from the center bottom to the center of the left side.  Add seam allowances the center shape and cut it out.  Sew your scrappy strips to the other side of the paper.

As I’m typing this… I’m thinking I need more pictures ~ a tutorial perhaps ~ for those folks who have never done foundation paper piecing.  I’ll be back next week with more details.

In the meantime… have a fabulous weekend! Where oh where did the summer go?

§ 15 Responses to Liberate Your Scraps!

  • Debbie says:

    I love it when you get started on a new quilt to follow. Hopefully I can get my act together and sew along. Sounds like fun.
    Debbie in Oklahoma

  • Lisa says:

    Anita, I really ♥ this! I definitely need to make a dent in my scrap bins as well. As my husband always tells me, they are ridiculous! ☺

  • Jenny McH says:

    Love them both and the colours. Hopefully Summer is on it’s way Down Under ~ we have had such a cold wet winter here in Melbourne, but I must not grumble about the rain as we need it.

  • kathie says:

    boy thats a hard choice, but if I was the lucky recipient I would love either one!
    they are both beautiful. since your making another liberated wedding ring send that one!
    thanks for sharing
    I just bought scrap bags full of Kaffe fabrics oh I may have to join you in this journey!
    what a happy quilt it will be!
    Kathie

  • Annessa says:

    Love it! I need to get my scraps organized…they overwhelm me and then I end up recycling them. I would so much rather put them to use in a pretty quilt.

  • Cathy A says:

    I love them both, too! You have lots and lots of scraps in those bins! Does the other quilt have a name?

  • Rene says:

    I would love to see a tutorial!

  • Marit says:

    They are both pretty! I have to admit the liberated wedding rings is a bit of a favorite…
    It is a pattern I have been wanting to do for a long time. Thank you for tempting me to get started. I would love to se yours grow. What size blocks are you planning on using?

    ; )

  • Karen Beigh says:

    I’d love to dig in your scrap bags. Must be lots of treasures in there. I like the Liberated Scrap Wedding Ring idea and think I will give it a try.

  • Debbie a.k.a. Blue.Ridge.Girl says:

    I love how you are committing to use your scraps. It makes me think of how quilting really used to be a way to make functionality out of every last precious scrap. We don’t appreciate our abundance enough.

  • Amanda A says:

    I have really been wanting to try foundation paper piecing for awhile now! The scraps tend to just accumulate and this looks like a great project for that. The doll quilts are beautiful with those vibrant colors!

  • pratima says:

    Anita, your dolly quilts are adorable! They are like one for a cloudy day and one for a sunny day. I love the tiny blocks in the liberated wedding ring quilt. I’ve saved a bigger version in a magazine to do for my Aunt. Would love to try your version sometime🙂

  • isabel says:

    Oh, they are both awesome! I love the colors, the design, the quilt, all!
    I’ve been working on my EQ7 and I notice that I have a lot to learn. This tip was a good help.
    hughs

  • Deb Myers says:

    LOVE your scrap bags! Have you had them a long time? Wonder if they’re still available? Where did you find them??

  • Janet Wilson says:

    Just out of curiosity, if:

    Bin 1 = blue/green/purple
    Bin 2 = red/yello/orange

    what is the third category of scrap bin colours?

    Great blog, will link to it!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Liberate Your Scraps! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

