594 Geese Later…

August 25, 2010 § 17 Comments

The Last Geese

The last seam of the flying geese was sewn last night. 4 months, 21 fat quarters, and 594 geese later… it’s a quilt top!  I want to get it sandwiched and quilted right away before I show you the whole thing.

How are your geese doing?  Have they flown south yet?

(And, do geese in the southern hemisphere fly north for the winter?  Just wondering.)

§ 17 Responses to 594 Geese Later…

  • DebbyMcC says:

    Can’t wait to see this top! Your photo is intriguing =-)

  • RobinW says:

    “Only” 45 more 8-goose connecting segments to sew before I can start final assembly. I am beginning to question my sanity (and yours).

  • Monika says:

    My god – this looks so awesome so far!! What a big job:) It will be a wonderful quilt!

  • I finished a quilt with 429 flying geese – Geese in the Forrest, but am so anxious to see what yours is. I have a fat quarter stack of Hope Valley sitting on the edge of it’s chair!

  • Viv says:

    Wow, well done !! They look great. Can’t wait to see yur finished quilt.

  • amandajean says:

    woo-hoo! i can’t imagine your excitement to have this top done. i bet it’s fantastic!!!

  • SheilaC says:

    594!? wOw!! Can’t wait to see it completed! Good work🙂

    SheilaC

  • Liz says:

    I love what I can see of your quilt. I, too, wanted to sew along with this quilt but I fear it may turn into another UFO. What’s your secret?

  • Debbie says:

    I *Love* how this looks :o) Maybe someday, once I finish the Medallion Quilt Along, I’ll try this one. I love flying geese, but I have committed myself to finish some of the things I have laying around before starting anything new…no fun!

  • Meg says:

    That’s a gaggle of gorgeous geese! I admit to having set aside my geese in favor of keeping up with bees, swaps, and baby quilts lately. Small projects, in other words. Once the weather cools and I hopefully get a little bit of my focus back, I’ll be ready to perform my usual “hurry up and quilt-along well after the fact”. 🙂

  • Lisle says:

    Awesome! Can’t wait to see it!

  • Sue says:

    I can’t wait to see the finish. The doll quilts you have made are fabulous! As for your scrappy wedding ring….you are using the salami method….one slice at a time! I find thinking that way helps. Geese stay here in Australia for the winter…..they enjoy the respite from our long, hot summers!

  • isabel says:

    594 geese before…how does the time goes so fast and I can’t make him stops?! When I see your work I feel thatr the time goes even faster. But I’ll get there. My fabrics still yardage..

  • Lauren JH says:

    Love your quilts! Thanks for sharing them and your quilt knowledge with us. Hope you have a fun beach trip – I always choose off-season to go!

  • Tryphena Rachel STOLZ says:

    I got married at 21 years and my first child was born nine months later and have had five children altogether. Ages 28, 26, 23, 21,and 13 years. Being a working mum I had no time to sew, let alone think about sewing.

    I am one of 10 children 8 girls and 2 boys being the youngest, and I recall how we had to share the same dress pattern among us girls. I always choose to have my dress pattern sewn ….. but mini.

    Now Im 50 years old and have so much time for all i have missed out. I feel so blessed about this on line, internet, and all the free pattern. I have one to sew, for a gift….my niece wedding on October the 25th. Not quite the Wild Goose Chase Quilt but something quite similar.

    So thank you for sharing and I wish you well.
    Tryphena Rachel Stolz
    Proverbs 31:13

  • *karendianne. says:

    Well I’m a little late to get hooked into this one but I just finished my first block. Seriously fun especially because I ran out of the fabric I planned for the block (just short by a tid-bit) so I used something else. Just like those old antique quilts for my first block. Love it!

  • deb says:

    I wonder if I am the only one who still has this quilt on the good intentions pile. I’ve been busy working my way through them (the good intentions) and it’s definitely getting closer to the top.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading 594 Geese Later… at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

