Hello from Lake Melakwa

August 2, 2010 § 3 Comments

Hello from Lake Melakwa

Some of you may remember that last spring my husband signed up to take a Mountaineering class on off-trail hiking.  Well, off-trail hiking is not my thing but he enjoys it. I, on the other hand, prefer staying on the trail but hiking to beautiful destinations.  Plus, I have a great appreciation for hot showers at the end of the day!

Once or twice a year, I brush the dust off my hiking boots and out we go.  This is one of my favorite destinations, Lake Melakwa. The hike is a little tough, but the view at the end is SO worth it.

Under the I-90 freeway

sunscreen application stop

The trail starts out near the I-90 freeway and then winds up the mountains towards the Alpine Lakes region. It’s a harder hike because it’s rocky and it gains 2300 feet in elevation.  Gary needed to try out his new sock liners because he got some really nasty blisters on his feet from his last scramble. And I was trying out some new sunscreen. I’m happy to report that I FINALLY found some sunscreen that doesn’t  make my skin break out in a nasty, itchy rash. In case anyone else has these issues, the brand is Goddess Garden. I found a trial size at a nearby organic grocery store.

by the lake

destination: Lake Melakwa

I can’t believe I’m showing you these pictures of our goofy hiking wardrobe!  But after hiking in cotton a few years back and being miserable, I have come to the conclusion that it doesn’t matter what you look like. The appropriate clothing for the appropriate outdoor activity is essential to enjoying the experience.  And… there hasn’t been much real crafting going on. I am hopeful that this week will allow a little more crafty goodness to appear.

Oh, and a big HUGE thank you to everyone’s hand quilting tips!! They are all very much appreciated and I can’t wait to try out all the suggestions.

§ 3 Responses to Hello from Lake Melakwa

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hello from Lake Melakwa at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

