Sisters

July 10, 2010 § 7 Comments

Jacqui

I grew up with brothers, so having acquired sisters-in-law (yes, multiple) when I married my husband was a strange, new, and wonderful treat. My sister-in-law, Jacqui, and I are nearly the same age and we planned a “girl time” weekend and it is nearly over. Tomorrow I am heading home.  We have done all the girl things that we don’t usually do when there are boys around… manicures, shopping, lots of ice cream eating, and more shopping.  I am (cough) 40-ish (cough) and I got my first ever French Manicure.  In a few more years I’m going to quit admitting my age.  And Jacqui and I are contemplating a girls only trip to New York to mark our monumental birthdays.

I love daisies!

The whole weekend was planned around The Vintage Barn antique show.  There is booth upon booth of vintage and crafty things.  It’s always inspiring!  I think I bought too many old suitcases.  The ones I do have at home already store my yarn stash. One of them needs to be replaced and then I couldn’t resist picking up another one.

Pillow Inspiration

The last time Jacqui and I went to The Vintage Barn show I brought home some old draperies. I really have been meaning to make them into pillows. Really I have! Maybe the ones above will inspire me to finally get going.  Me? A procrastinator?  Hmpf.

§ 7 Responses to Sisters

  • bronny says:

    Sounds like you had a brilliant time away from all the boys! I’m frankly envious that you’ve got such a lovely SIL!
    As for admitting your age.. admit to whatever you can get away with – or not! My mum always answered ’29 & several months’ when asked her age – until as brat of a kid, I gave her a card that read ’29 & 240months’ !!!
    Mind you, last year I admitted to 39 – this year I decided that 43 was more age-appropriate!
    Happy crafting!

  • Viv says:

    Yay for having a lovely time !!!

  • Fiona Bryant says:

    Congratulations on the french manicure and the bike ride. It sounds like you’re having a fun summer. I love reading your blog, though I usually sit in the background and don’t leave any comments. You are an amazing woman Anita!

  • MichelleB says:

    Happy birthday! Sounds like a great time. I love those pillows! Maybe I’ll take some inspiration from them, too.

  • Cindy H. says:

    I am Loving that first picture! Vintage vehicles are my favorite! Give me an old International Harvester any day! Glad you had such a great time & as always, thanks for sharing!

  • Lisle says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend!! I’ll admit my 39 years right along with you–it’s not like I actually act my age most of the time, anyway. Besides, age only matters once you can drive and vote. After that, who cares?

  • isabel says:

    It sounds very good. Me and my friends are going on a girl’s dinner in a few days and it sounds very very good.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sisters at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

