Fabric Giveaway!

July 1, 2010 § 89 Comments

Blue Bouquet

While I’m working on getting caught up on my Flying Geese blocks… and celebrating the July 4th holiday this weekend… Let’s have a giveaway!

Another quilt that I designed for Clothworks happened to find it’s way into the July/August issue of Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting magazine.  I’m tickled pink, er blue & yellow, over this one. It made it to the front cover as well!

2 stacks of fabric for 2 winners

There’s quite a bit of fabric leftover from this quilt. Not enough to make another quilt, but a good portion to get started. I have 10 of the 14 fabrics in the collection and I’ve cut them all in half to make 2 equal stacks. Each stack is around 3 1/2 yards total.  If you would like one of these stacks of fabric, please leave a comment and tell me what you are doing over the weekend, especially if you live in the U.S. and celebrating the 4th of July. (So I can live vicariously through you.)  I’ll close the comments and draw 2 names on Tuesday, July 6th.

We don’t have a lot planned. I’m working for a few hours ~ retail, you know.  And then we are getting together to watch fireworks with some friends in the evening.  On the 5th, however, Gary and I are planning to attempt the 40 mile bike ride from our house to the Zoka coffee shop around the lake.  Or… we may wimp out and drive/park at the golf course and knock 10 miles off our ride.  We shall see.

Have a happy and safe weekend!  And I promise I’ll be back sometime soon with a flying geese update.

§ 89 Responses to Fabric Giveaway!

  • Anita says:

    Happy fourth of July. We will be heading up to the mountains to spend some time with good friends. The moms will hopefully get to enjoy some hand stitching time on the deck, while the kids play and the dads watch the kids….

  • Rachel says:

    What a beautiful quilt and such gorgeous fabric! I hope you enjoy your bike ride (or golf…). This weekend I will be getting ready for my trip to Italy. But it’s Canada Day today so we’re celebrating with a bit of relaxation.

  • Lesly says:

    Well, it is Canada Day today, and most of us are trying to extend the holiday over the weekend as best we can. I am spending the weekend doing laundry, packing, exchanging money and generally getting ready for a trip to Berlin on Sunday. It sounds more exciting than it is, since it’s for a conference, but I will have a chance to look around a bit! I would love some of your scraps from that magnasplendent blue and yellow quilt – thanks for the chance!!!!!

  • Brenda says:

    I would love to win this fabric. My daughter would love a quilt from this. Blue and yellow seem to be my favorite colors right now. I love the quilt you designed and made. Beautiful job. We are having a cookout with family on the 5th. For the 4th we’ll go to church, maybe have a cookout with friends and climb a small mountain to watch the fireworks from.

  • Sarah says:

    Beautiful quilt! I am in love with basket quilts right now. I will be furiously finishing a quilt this weekend for a friends wedding next weekend. But I will be taking a break to see James Taylor perform at Tanglewood in the Berkshires! Happy 4th!

  • Gorgeous quilt! Please throw me in the hat too!~ I would love to win those fabrics!🙂 Have a happy weekend!

  • Leta says:

    Pretty quilt! I will be sewing. I have the grandkids right now but my daughter is taking them to Charlotte for the week-end.

  • Pokey says:

    Hi, Anita! Your yellow and blues are so vibrant and cheery! I have a friend’s first quilt that I’ve walked her through, step by step, and I’m hoping to quilt on it this weekend. We’ll to catch fireworks after the pm church service, with some yummy food in between! Hope you enjoy yours, too!

  • Meredith says:

    The yellow and blue is very pretty fabric. I am celebrating the 4th by having a barbecue, sewing the backing to a Kaffee Fassett Quilt and all of my geese are sewn. I just have to start working on sewing the top together. If I could only decide on the final layout!

  • DianeY says:

    I love your quilt so much-the colors are so vibrant!
    We’re having a quiet 4th-there is a big to-do nearby, but I hate the crowds. I’ll be able to go out in our front yard to watch the fireworks-all the neighbors always congregate in our cul-de-sac to watch

  • Alexis says:

    Sounds fun! I am hoping for sun so our weekend plans can include sand and some melty ice cream. Have a great holiday!

  • Deb G says:

    Love the quilt and the blue and yellow fabrics! I would love to win! I hope to work in some sewing time on LQS BOM that I am 4 months behind and prep some hand applique to take with me on a short vacation next week. Other than that, I will be hanging out with my DH and enjoying his company.

  • Kim says:

    That gorgeous quilt on the cover is the reason that I grabbed that issue of the magazine off the rack! We’ll be home for the Fourth, having a cookout in Mom and Pop’s backyard. Some steaks…ribs…maybe a burger or two…and best of all, no traffic jams or crowds!

  • Cindy H. says:

    Please do the bike ride for me! I’m afraid I haven’t been as active as I should be lately. We don’t have any major plans for the 4th of July weekend except mattress shopping…is this the time of year for mattress sales or what!? Happy 4th!

  • Jenna Z says:

    LOVE the quilt, I love a quilt with scalloped edges!!! I will be: trying out our mini donut maker, having a picnic at the park and then walking it off with my husband, going to yoga class (the hour and 45 minute long one!) and avoiding the fireworks on the fourth. (I am afraid of fireworks, and so is my dog!)

  • Sarah N says:

    Blue and Yellow! My favorite combination!

    For the fourth – we will be one kid short – he is spending a week with Grams and Papa. But otherwise, we will be having a lazy weekend – hopefully with some good grilled treats and some summery favorites like potato salad.

    And hopefully, I will get to spend a little time in the sewing room!

  • Michele says:

    What a beautiful quilt! I love this combo – so French Country.
    I have nothing planned this holiday weekend except cleaning my house and quilting and knitting! The perfect weekend!

  • Kari says:

    Beautiful quilt! The scalloped edge is just perfect. I’m hopefully going to get some time in to sew.

  • SueB says:

    Love the quilt. I am such a sucker for basket quilts. Just can’t get enough of them.

  • Domestic Me says:

    LOVE the colors and the quilt! I will be going to the aquarium in Atlanta with my in-laws, niece and nephew.

  • annie says:

    Happy 4th! I made a blue and yellow quilt and have some left over, but not enough for a whole quilt. These would go perfectly with my colors and I could make a complete other quilt! I hope I win. xoxoxo

    for the 4th, we are getting one of the six married children and one grand baby to come for the celebrations! woot!

    thanks for the generous offer.
    crossing my fingers
    xxxxxxx
    ~a

  • Caron Mosey says:

    Mmmmmmm, I love blue and yellow together! My baby is getting married next weekend, so this weekend we will be cleaning the house for out-of-town company, ironing clothes, doing final preparations and all that good stuff. We may find time to grill out on the deck… maybe! I sure would love to be sewing on blue and yellow fabric!

  • Ann Champion says:

    Your quilt is gorgeous! Congrats on making the cover. I’d love a chance to win your starter pack for a blue and yellow quilt.🙂
    I’ll be on my own for the holiday, so I’ll just putter around the house. I’ll probably watch the fireworks on TV?

  • sophie says:

    Those fabrics look luscious and I love your basket quilt.

    For the fourth, I’ll be organizing and packing in preparation for a move. If I have time (and tickets are still available), I’ll go to a concert by the Dallas Wind Orchestra–I went last year and it was a blast.

  • Kim says:

    The fabrics are beautiful. I will be attending high school graduation parties this weekend.

  • Penny G says:

    I live in a an area with lots of different communities and have a friend that has a house on a bay that is perfectly located to watch the fireworks from 3 of them. We will watch the fireworks. My daughter and son in law will be here and we will visit the beaches which may or may not be coated with oil. it has struck our beches a couple of times. Other than that just food, friends and family.

  • Wendy P says:

    I want those fabrics! I am making 8 pillowcases for a friend, to coordinate with her blue and yellow quilt. She’d love those!

    This weekend I hope to get some sewing done. So far behind with a full time job! And I will visit my grandparents and also my dad. There’s a good chance of rain Sunday, so we may not get a fireworks show this year. But we can still have fun with the family.

  • Viv says:

    Happy 4th of July. Nothing special happening down here in NZ, but it is the start of two weeks school holidays. I need to do a catch up for the geese too. End up just making a regular rectangle pincushion, no time to make something fancier😦

  • Liz says:

    Those fabrics are my favorite colors. Blue and yellow. Not just any blue and yellow, but the perfect blue and yellow. We are celebrating by having our kids over for a bbq. It’s been raining on and off all morning but I just peeked out the window and the sun is shining. Yeah!! Happy July 4th to you.

  • Linda says:

    Congrats on the gorgeous cover quilt, Anita! It’s Kirkland fireworks for us this weekend. Happy 4th!

  • isabel says:

    I’m not in the USA but my weekend will be fun too. I’ll bee on the final party of the swwiming school where my kids will be playing and dancing. Sunday I’ll probably “attack” my flying geese blocks.
    If My name became to your hand, I would prefer a signed copy of this magazine, thas for sure.
    Congratulations Anita!

  • Christine says:

    beautiful quilt…love to be included in the draw for the lovely fabric. This weekend looks like being cold and dull…quilt group day on Sunday…and keeping warm!

  • hmmmmmmm….I’ll be dreaming about what to make with this fabric….LOL. We will stay home at listen for neighbor fireworks.

  • Lisa says:

    Ooh, I love love love that blue & yellow combo-gorgeous!!
    And Congrats on making another cover!!!!!

    We are planning on going to Sea World on Sunday and staying there for their fireworks. They have a really nice fireworks display and we’ve been able to watch it while sitting by the dolphin pool the last few years. It’s really pretty and peaceful☺
    Have a great & safe holiday!!

  • Trisha says:

    Congrats on being in another magazine and the cover, wow! That is so exciting. It is a beautiful quilt. I love the scalloped edge, it really adds a little something. I love blue and yellow together.

    We are going to have a pretty low key weekend, which I like. I am sure we will barbeque something on the 4th.

  • Gorgeous quilt, gorgeous fabric! Would love to win that! Good luck with that bike ride, too! 40 miles is quite a respectable distance.

    For the 4th of July, my husband and I will be celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary. We’ll be attending church in the morning and possibly shopping for hiking gear in the afternoon. Looking forward to whatever he might like to do together!

  • Sheryl W says:

    As I’m in Australia, we don’t have a 4th July holiday – our closest thing would probably be Australia Day. On Australia Day we go to a free concert in the town park, where the kids run wild with glow sticks and become completely covered in a mixture of dirt/tomato sauce (ketchup)/and icecream. Great fun!

  • Renee says:

    Gorgeous!! Wow, the cover too! I’m going to run out tomorrow and get a copy of the magazine. Love the colours you used and be delighted to rehome your left overs. 🙂

    Today is Canada Day so it’s our holiday, fireworks show tonight. I took tomorrow off work so it’s a 4 day weekend, yahoo! Have a great holiday yourself Anita!

  • Myra says:

    I would love those, beautiful. I have no real plans for the 4th, just us with the kids at home, maybe to the park for fireworks.

  • Maz says:

    What a beautiful quilt. Lovely and vibrant colour combination. Hoping to have some of the fabric for my sewing project.
    In Malaysia 4th of July will be just another weekend. I’m planing to take my kids out for new movie Toy Story 3 , buy them some gift for good result in their exam too.
    Happy sewing and have a great weekend!

  • Regina says:

    Lovely colors! Lovely quilt!

    We celebrate the 4th by holding the big family picnic at our house -hubby is one of 7 so big is BIG, and since our house is small, the summer outside picnic is the best one for us to do. Only 10 will make it this year – so it will be more intimate -so I am planning more crafty things with my 5 year old to make it special.

  • Lisa says:

    Oh I just love blue and yellow together, Ill have to go get that magazine. Big, big plans here for the weekend…well, maybe for my son but Im working overtime all weekend. Taking a 3 day weekend was sooo tempting, especially since its been so nice out but momma got bills to pay! I hope everyone that can get out and enjoy it does!

  • Annessa says:

    Love, love, love the blue/yellow combination and the scalloped edge – I’ve got to learn to do that one day! This weekend we’re getting together with all the cousins for a very windy Northern California weekend (a.k.a. no fireworks). Just lots of grilled chicken, watermelon, and homemade ice cream. And, I hope to get in some time on the civil war reproduction quilt I’m working on.

  • Marcia W. says:

    Have a Happy Fourth of July. We will watch the Boston Pops “Capital Fourth” on TV and Sunday there is church with dinner on the grounds. We picked lots of blueberries today and will be making a red, white, and blue dessert. Last night I was reading F&P about the scalloped edging on the cover quilt. There on page 24 (which I dog-earred) is YOUR quilt. Love it and would be wonderful to have fabric to get started. Thanks for the giveaway.

  • Helen says:

    Weekend plans? Where to start??! School holidays start at the end of today, we are expecting the IL’s in a few days time with our new 4WD and then we are driving around the East Kimberly, going to a place called El Questro for a few days camping, always a highlight out there!

  • Sonya says:

    Beautiful quilt and my favorite combination — blue and yellow. Might make some homemade ice cream watch fireworks off the front porch and hopefully finish quilting a vintage quilt.

  • Tami says:

    Anita,
    Another beautiful quilt. 40 miles???!!!! The coffee will so be worth it.

    We are headed to the coast tomorrow. 🙂 Looks like rain but a dry 4th is a rare treat here. haha As soon as Jeff gets home (hopefully early) we’ll finish loading up the camping goods and head towards Ocean Shores.

  • julie westbroek says:

    I love your quilt and would love to win a starter stack of fabric. I plan to quilt and drink all the soda pop I want (long standing family tradition).

  • Jackie says:

    Yellow and blue go so well together,am on bedrest with a sprained back n for the 4th of July i hope am well enough to go out maybe for a picnic

  • Lindsey says:

    Wow those fabrics are absolutely gorgeous.

    For forth of July weekend I think we’re going to go watch some combine derby’s! oh the joy of living in Iowa… who knows, we might scratch it and stay home to make america themed cupcakes : )

  • Sheetal says:

    I’m planning on finishing off my wild goose chase quilt top this weekend and watch the fireworks and eating burgers along the waterfront on Sunday !!!

  • kathie says:

    LOVE your blue and yellow quilt, beautiful.
    We are taking a drive down to Philadelphia on Saturday doing a bit of sight seeing and then on Sunday we will have a bar b que and go to the fireworks….typical 4th of July activity around here…
    thanks for the opportunity to win the fabrics some will go into my Blue Collection quilt and I will make a little quilt for my wall of little quilts too!
    Have a great holiday weekend
    Kathie

  • Elsa says:

    I just loved you quilt!!!
    This 4th of july i will be doing some presents to my god daughter! it’s her birthday the following day.
    Have a nice holiday
    elsa

  • LauraJ says:

    We just celebrated Canada Day yesterday. This weekend I will be kid-free and I get to sleep in! It’s the highlight of my week. I live such an exciting life. Not!

  • Jan Murphy says:

    Although we live in Australia (Oz) we spent some years in USA and have a son who was ‘born in the USA’, so we usually celebrate July 4th with him, and his brother. It is cold here so we usually have a family gathering and a home cooked meal – sounds good, but always simple, like lasagna. Would love to win the fabrics, the quilt is so so beautiful. Jan

  • ALL five of your children are going to be gone for the week! This is our fourth night of having the house to ourselves in our 24 years of being married. I am going to eat in the living room, sew until late at night, get up when I please, sew and go out to eat as often as possible. Sounds PERFECT to me!

  • Alberta says:

    Happy 4th of July! We had a wonderful Canada Day yesterday.

    I’ll be working on a wall hanging project due next week through this weekend! After that, I’ll be needing a new project and wouldn’t blue & yellow be fun to play around with!

  • What gorgeous fabric..please count me in :o)

    As I’m in the UK it is just another weekend :o) Should be a warm one though so we will probably have a BBQ

  • Congrats on the cover and the gorgous quilt!! We are planning on the local 4th of July carnival, parade, and then fireworks. Also, the local quilt shop is having a garage sale!!! Have to hit that!

  • Mona Keegan says:

    Congratulations to you! These need to come to a Texas Quilting Cyclist!

  • Carla says:

    absolutely beautiful! I picked up the magazine too!

  • Mego says:

    I will be spending the 4th at Gasworks, picnicing, playing games and then enjoying the fireworks! Can’t WAIT and am praying for FABULOUS weather!

  • SheilaC says:

    Happy 4th!!! I am joining friends for a BBQ….

    Love blue and yellow🙂

    Thanks for the give away

    SheilaC

  • Liz says:

    Great quilt and the colors are great –

    This weekend starts with a 90th birthday party for a friend’s dad, working in the garden, sewing when it rains and hopefully seeing some great fireworks on the 4th.

    Have a great weekend!

  • Mary R says:

    Love that blue and yellow. I have been collecting those for a few years to make, oddly enough, a Fons and Porter quilt from a couple of years ago called “French Country Commons”, a take on a Boston Commons quilt done in Blue and Yellow. I have learned that there is a lot more cosistently in the yellows than the blues.

    This weekend I will be celebrating my 26th anniversary on the 4th with my darling husband. It’s the best anniversary day ever, your husband NEVER forgets, you do not have to work and fireworks!!!!

  • Becky says:

    We plan to head down to the beach and catch the fireworks display the island chamber puts on every Fourth of July, the famiyl loves it!

  • Lee Ann says:

    We’re going to the Stadium of Fire celebration on Saturday night, Sunday will be finishing 3 charity quilts and an early evening picnic with family then sit outside and watch the fireworks displays from neighboring towns.

  • Elna Gustavsson says:

    Hi! I really want to win the lovely fabric. It is in my country colors,I´m from Sweden. Have a nice 4th of july. This weeken we are going to do some wellneeded gardening at our West-Coast cottagehouse by the ocean.

  • Lisa says:

    Happy Independence Day! This weekend I will do a number of things I have meant to do for a while. First, set up my blog, yes, I am finally taking the plunge. Second, go kayaking; it has been over a year and that’s way too long. Finally, will have some down time and work on my dresden plate quilt. I am sure some fireworks-watching and hot dog and watermelon consumption will happen on the 4th! Cheers and happy celebrating to everyone.

  • Kate says:

    Happy 4th of July! We don’t have anything planned for the weekend. It’s just nice to have a long weekend. I hope to get some quilting done, maybe a few hours at the beach… and a BBQ. What’s the 4th without a cookout?
    The quilt is lovely- congrats on making the cover! And who doesn’t love blue and yellow fabric?

  • Fernanda says:

    Great giveaway. My niece’s birthay os 7/4 so we basically have plans every year for her birthday party.

  • tina says:

    We have no special plans for the 4th, but may get together with family. the 3rd is our anniversary, today! We will be having a quiet anniversary dinner at home, steak on the grill, etc. As to the give away, Blue and Yellow are my favorite colors. I have a Fiesta collection on display in my kitchen, dining and great room and would love to do something with those colors, a quilted table cloth or throw on a love seat. Wish me luck, and thanks for giving us a chance to win. I will pick up the magazine as soon as possible to check out your pattern.
    tp

  • joyce says:

    I live in Canada but just three miles from the border so we have good friends in North Dakota. We will be joining them for a parade, craft fair and BBQ on their deck. Should be fun! I’d love to win the fabric.

  • Hillary says:

    That is beautiful! Hopefully this weekend I’ll get to sew a little bit! I am also making pies and getting ready to play with the kids! I love a holiday!

  • Katy says:

    what a gorgeous quilt – I love that scalloped edge. Is it a PITA to bind like that? Those fabrics are beautiful too – cheerful, but calming. How’s that work?

    This weekend is any old weekend in the UK, but my parents are up (so I have them doing yard work for me and will treat them to an Indian meal tonight in return. My allergies and plants don’t go well together!)

  • SewCalGal says:

    Happy 4th of July. What a fun giveaway!

    I love, love, love your quilt. Beautiful design, excellent fabrics, yummy colors. You did a fantastic job. Inspirational quilt.

    We are enjoying the beach this weekend and looking forward to a beach BBQ and fireworks!

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  • yvonne says:

    Beautiful quilt – I love the colors!
    I am working on the 4th, but will be home in time for burgers on the grill and fireworks after dark. Monday we are off to a Brewers baseball game in Milwaukee.

  • Tash says:

    Beautiful fabrics, gorgeous quilt.
    As my daughter was born early on the 5th July, we are home baking pink cupcakes and decorating the house for a “My Little Pony” 3-year-old birthday party. Busy times for little people.

  • Lynn says:

    We are having a lazyish weekend. The older two kids are away camping with different friends.

  • DebbyMcC says:

    Happy 4th! I would love to win this fabric for my sister. She has always wanted a yellow and blue quilt and now that she is a quilter herself she has collected a few for it. These would add so much to her stack! Today I put my flags out in my yard, made my macaroni salad last night for today’s meal (always better the 2nd day!), and I’ve got on my new red shirt I bought just for today! I anticipate a quiet 4th, reading, visiting, and taking in the sights, smells, and sounds of my little piece of heaven here on the edge of the woods. BTW, your quilt is SO beautiful!

  • Janet checchio says:

    My husband has gone fishing in Florida. So the 4th of July finds me home alone reading your quilting blog and having a nice visit with you. I love blue and yellow quilts…very beautiful.

  • We had some family over, decorated and participated in the boat parade, lunch on the deck, then tubing on the lake and fireworks. Perfect.

  • Nancy says:

    We stayed home and I cooked a roast in the crockpot. It was humid and hot outdoors,, so we just enjoyed being together inside.

  • Donna says:

    I love this quilt! I have always wanted to do a quilt in blue and yellow so I would love to win this fabric. On the 4th of July, we did a lot of inside work because of the heat and humidity. We celebrated the 4th on the 3rd as we went to Bricelyn, MN and attended the parade (Julie drove the 4-wheeler in the parade for Eva’s campaign). We stayed for the music in the park that followed. It was a fun afternoon just totally relaxing.

  • Betty says:

    We celebrated the 4th on the 3rd with our grandkids. Shooting fireworks and eating bar-b-que. It was the best.

  • Michele G says:

    It was a grand 4th of July. I spent the weekend with my son and his girlfriend. They lived in Boston Ma for 2 years and have packed up and are moving to California. They have been in town since Wed night. We all packed up and went to Grandma’s house for the 3rd and 4th. Lovely time spent in the shade with my family. It was brutally hot in the sun, but delicious in the shade. Lovely lovely weekend. Michele

  • Sara says:

    We did fireworks outside the house, always fun with the small children.🙂

  • Michelle says:

    Blue and yellow are my favorite color combination. I love how the yellow pops with a dark color. Love the scalloped edge on the quilt, it is beautiful.

  • Cindi says:

    Congrats on the cover quilt, it’s gorgeous! Blue and yellow are one of my favorite combos. We spent the 4th with all the family at my parents. After dinner we came home to watch fireworks on TV.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fabric Giveaway! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

