Project Overload

June 7, 2010 § 21 Comments

Too many irons in the fire

I’ve got so many quilting project “irons in the fire” that I’ve started hanging the blocks from the top of the door with pant hangers.  First there’s my Pieceful Nights blocks for the Civil War club at work, then the Wild Goose Chase blocks, then a test quilt for Clothworks’ Shades collection of fabric, and a new project using Kaffe Fassett fabrics that keeps getting pushed to the bottom of the list.  Today I brought it to the top of the list and made four blocks. It felt good to finally get to sew on those Kaffe blocks!

How do you keep your projects separated, organized, or in order?  (believe me, there are still piles all around, but I had to get these projects off of the cutting table, sewing table & design wall.

§ 21 Responses to Project Overload

  • I have a stack of pizza boxes (clean & new) for completed blocks but yours look much less tacky and much more inspirational!

  • I use the hangers too! And scrapbooking boxes (the plastic ones with the lid) for a few projects. Then I just rotate the boxes so I keep working on everything.😉

  • Penny G says:

    I am so nuts that I have to finish a quilt brfore I start the next one. I buy projects and put them in little plastic bags until I make them.

  • you’re supposed to keep projects separate and organized and do them in some sort of order?😉

  • amanda says:

    My sewing area is an absolute mess! While searching for a particular work in progress the other day, I was thinking that I might have to institute some sort of dating procedure like they have with milk at the grocery store… if I haven’t touched the project in two months, it just needs to go – either be completed or be cut up or go in the trash! Ok, maybe two months is a little bit harsh… but I need to somehow get my works in progress under control!

  • Mindy/Minka says:

    Love your DJ blocks. Will the whole thing be in reds?

  • Wow, just love this idea! Thank you for sharing… I have plastic containers, but this is so smart….

  • Helen says:

    I’m a big fan of the zip lock bag!! These look very inspiring just hung up though.

  • pratima says:

    Your projects look so tidy and organized on the hangers. So far I was able to allot a shoe box to each project. I better not start any new ones🙂

  • circetwo says:

    Hang your ziplocs, Helen! That’ll keep the dust off the blocks while they’re waiting for you.

    I have 3 “methods” for storage. One is the pizza boxes–that’s for things that are a specific project, but not a layout yet. They’re the blocks of all one size, or all one color, or one pattern.

    The second is the quilts that are in progress somehow–all the blocks are made, but I’m still working on sashing, or how to put them together just right or I just want to look at them. These blocks I put on the back of one of those flannel-backed tablecloths. This allows me a kind of mobile design wall, and it’s cheap. If I need to move the whole wall, I just pin the blocks for a little extra security, but I can pull the whole thing out later and take a look to see if I like something better. These are usually long-term, scrappy projects.

    My third, most common storage method is to ziploc together the blocks I just finished, and put them in a pile in the pantry I use for fabric storage. They languish there until I decide to pull them out and figure out what they’re for…

    And yes, my everything is messy.

  • Sandie says:

    For the most part, I’m fairly well organized. I always have multiple projects going. I use the 14×14 Artbin boxes while I’m collecting materials and working on specific projects. I have a rolling cube under my sewing table that holds several boxes, so it’s easy to pull it out AND put it away.

    For fabric groups where I haven’t settled on a design, but I want to keep together rather than sorted in with my stash fabrics, I’ve collected a fair number of the zippered bags (from bedding, sheets, etc.) and re-purpose them. I have a big basket I toss the bundles in and I go to it when I need a quick project or some inspiration.

    My Summer challenge is finishing all the lovely tops I’ve had hanging neatly in the closet. Even WITH an HQ16! So they’re now in a tidy stack next to the machine where I can’t avoid them.

  • Wendy P says:

    I have a ton of irons in the fire too. I have shoe boxes for ones I lost interest in for now. I have some in plastic totes. The ones in progress are piled everywhere, folded into cube storage units and then there is one on the design wall.

    I have made really good progress the last 2 months though! Keep up your beautiful work and you’ll have them knocked out in no time!

  • Kay Hobby says:

    I can sooo relate! I am determined to work my way through the ufo’s inbetween the new projects!!Its all good, tho, no matter what I’m working on I’m having fun!!

  • Kay Hobby says:

    Oh, yeah, about organizing.. I have a small closet dedicated to ufo’s mostly stored in clear project boxes and zipper bags, I also use a clothes-drying rack for the quilts waiting to be quilted.

  • Stephanie says:

    I like how you clip your blocks together with the “pants” hangers. I have plastic scrapbook containers that I store blocks in and whatever else goes with that project. I also use new pizza boxes to store blocks.

  • Liz says:

    I use two different sizes of plastic boxes – the larger one I use to store the fabric that is assembled for the quilt. As I make the blocks, I might move the scraps to a smaller plastic box until the project is completely done.

    Liz

  • sewpam63 says:

    Hmmm. I was interested to read this and then see how others manage their quilt projects too. I use ziplocks – especially for portable hand projects. For larger sewing machine work I tend to use trays, baskets and I’m a BIG fan of vintage metal pie and cake pans too. Thanks for this one, Anita! ; )

  • katyquilts says:

    I have piles🙂. I really love the idea of using pants hangers. I have a ton of those around and rarely use them for pants! I also use ziplock bags. I have a wire basket system for fabric and one of those drawers is all tops waiting to be quilted.

  • amandajean says:

    it was fun to read through the comments. i could use all the organizational tips i can get! i do have a basket of quilt tops waiting to be quilted. a few of them need borders, but it’s nice to have them stacked up and in one spot. i’m still working through a process of storing WIP’s that are in the piecing stage. the design well helps that a little bit. if only i would finish a few quilts before starting new ones!

  • Karen says:

    How funny! I haven’t been up to date on my blog reading and am just getting to yours, I posted about the same thing LOL. Yours look a whole lot more organized than mine, love the Kaffe blocks.

  • I love the pant hangers, just throw a dry cleaning bag over them but cut it off so it is not so long.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project Overload at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

