Airplane Knitting

May 27, 2010 § 8 Comments

Airplane Knitting

At least domestically, it seems that knitting needles are passing through airport security with no trouble. It’s a good thing, because look at how much knitting I got done!  Well, a little bit was done while visiting my family. But most of the longest one was done on the  flight out.  On the flight back, my book had me totally engrossed so I didn’t get much knitting done.

Between quilting, I’m almost always working on a pair of socks. These two below are fairly recent finishes. I’m thinking that many of my friends are in need of socks for their birthdays or Christmas.  The only downside to sock knitting is that my Dear Jane blocks are feeling neglected.

Socks for Orene

Pattern ~ Monkey by Cookie A. (free on Knitty.com)
Yarn ~ Enchanted Knoll Farm Superwash Sock Yarn, color Tia Dalma
Needles ~ 2.5 mm

Socks for me

Pattern: Wanida, from Sock Innovation by Cookie A.
Yarn: Fibernatura Yummy, color Mojave Dessert
Needles:  2.25mm

§ 8 Responses to Airplane Knitting

  • Anita says:

    I recently took knitting with me on our trip to visit my husband’s family in England. No problem in the US airports but Heathrow totally checked out the metal crochet hook and the large needle for sewing up knitted seams. The removed them from my backpack and throughly inspected them and then gave them back to me. No problem with the bamboo knitting needles.

  • Viv says:

    I’m so jealous. I wish I were a knitter. Your socks are to die for. We have a wicked boutique sock yarn shop just a few kilometres from here. I’ve been there to buy yarn as giveaway’s on my blog.

    http://www.joyofyarn.co.nz/

  • Lynne says:

    Sure Love those socks. I love knitting them too and it is great because you get to finish something quicker🙂
    Happy Knitting and Quilting
    Cheers
    Lynne

  • Trisha says:

    Beautiful socks! I’m a sock addict too.

  • amy says:

    Your socks are gorgeous, Anita! I love the yarns you’ve paired up with the patterns. I aspire. I always get to an if-fy point and put the sock down. ::sigh::

  • Cathy A says:

    Wonderful socks!

    It sure is great that we can still knit on the plane. I got in 7 hours worth on my last trip!

  • Emily says:

    I think the airplane socks are my favorite – but what I really like is the pictures on the blockers! What a great way to show the pattern.

  • sewpam63 says:

    LOVE the airport socks!!!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Airplane Knitting at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

