Math Wizard I am NOT!

May 13, 2010 § 13 Comments

As Robin so graciously pointed out… 5-6 geese each week will NOT be enough to reach the finish line. What I should have said is 5-6 times 4. Which means another 23.125 geese each week. Sheesh.

Now I’m going to go hang my head, sit in the corner for awhile, and think about what I’ve done. I’m so sorry!

I hope that I haven’t frightened you all away. Please come back and keep me company in my attempt to make the Wild Geese Quilt. I could feed you chocolate!

– – – – –
Just for clarification:
1 block each week,
24 extra geese for the sashing each week,
Any color you see fit,
16 weeks,
Finished quilt top in the end.

§ 13 Responses to Math Wizard I am NOT!

  • Lesly says:

    Sheesh – I haven’t made any yet. I’ll have to make 5000 a week to catch up.

  • Viv says:

    Ok, I’m not firghtened off, just confused. So we should make one block plus 24 geese per week??? Is that right? If we are doing each block a different colour how many geese of each colour do we need for the sashing? TIA.

  • Zarina says:

    What about someone who have a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering? In almost all of my quilts, I always end up with not enough pieces or just too much. There is got to be a way to solve this.

  • deb says:

    Oh my giddy aunt, I haven’t even started yet. Oh who cares, it might take 32 weeks but it will be AMAZING!

  • Lisa says:

    Ah, don’t worry about it. Once you get going on your geese, they go pretty quickly. In fact I’m doing double geese duty right now since I’m making some for another quilt I have in progress, so it makes no difference to me. LOL, I’ve been watching Ghost Busters recently and have that song in my head. I’m ain’t afraid of no geese.😉

  • annie says:

    LOL Lesly. I make those mistakes all the time. please don’t hang your head in shame. You are doing better than me.
    ::grin::
    ~a

  • susan says:

    lol oh poor anita~

  • Katy says:

    I’m your slave forever, I’ll do anything you tell me.

  • Una says:

    Hey! I just wanted to tell you I made my first block yesterday. It turned out a little wonky, but quite frankly I do not care the least!! I love it!!! The GEESE have always been a little intimidating, but the size of these blocks are manageable. Thank you for this chance to make a lovely quilt. Maths, schmatz – this is another wonderful journey:D

  • Messy Karen says:

    not going anywhere. this quilt is going to be fab.

  • amy says:

    Did someone say CHOCOLATE? And how does this work if one hasn’t even begun???🙂

  • Lisle says:

    Oh, are we figuring out what we actually NEED? In 10 years, I’ve never bothered with that. I have a whole honking section of my storage area dedicated to all the leftovers from projects. I can’t throw any scraps away, so I have a couple bags of those, but any given quilt I finish generates enough blocks to make at least half of another quilt. So on the next one, I try to incorporate those blocks, and create another pile, which then starts the next quilt, and on and on and on… But someday I’ll figure out how to use them all together without leftovers. And then I’ll die. ;^)

  • Lisle says:

    Oh, yeah. The point there was that I can’t count. I can do calculus, though.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Math Wizard I am NOT! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

