Spring Roses

February 28, 2010 § 46 Comments

Quick Quilts magazine, Spring 2010 issue

Some of you may know that I occasionally do some freelance quilt design work for Clothworks Textiles.  You know those free patterns that are given out with each line of fabric?  Once in awhile I get to design one of those quilts.  When the design process starts I send 3 or 4 ideas to them to look over and ponder.  They may choose one to use as their free handout or we may change and refine one of the rough ideas.  Once a design is chosen, I then create a digital image using scanned images of the fabric and also write the pattern instructions.  Sometimes the remaining design ideas are then sent off to magazine editors for consideration in future publications.

photo taken last year right before sending it off to Quick Quilts

This is one of those design ideas. And Quick Quilts decided to publish it in their Spring 2010 issue.  I just saw it on the newsstand this last week at the grocery store!  The line of fabric is Sweet Rose designed by Skipping Stones Studio.

more fabric scraps!

So…… I just happen to have quite a few scraps leftover from making this quilt. Do you think you might be able to use these scraps?  Lord knows I don’t need anymore scraps sitting around in my sewing room!  There are 8 pieces of fabric left ranging in size from 1/4 yard to 1 yard for a total of approximately 5 7/8 yards.  There isn’t enough to make either the Quick Quilts rose quilt or the free pattern quilt, but it wouldn’t take much to supplement the missing yardage.

If you would like to win these scraps, please leave a comment telling me about your favorite spring  flower.  I know some of you are still staring at huge piles of snow, but spring is just around the corner. Maybe you can dream of beautiful flowers while making something beautiful with these scraps.  And before you know, spring will be at your front door.

Ooops, I forgot to mention… I’ll draw a name on Friday, March 5th.

§ 46 Responses to Spring Roses

  • Alexis says:

    That is so cool! The design process sounds like fun. I’m collecting rose fabrics for a quilt for my youngest… these would be a great addition! My favorite spring flower is the crocus. I love when the pop their heads up to look around and let the other flowers know it’s spring! I was just enjoying mine in the garden today.

  • Rachel says:

    Wow that’s pretty! What fun it must be to design a quilt for a fabric line – and then to have that pattern published. You’re living’ a dream, Anita!

    My favourite spring flower is the daffodil. I love their little yellow ‘faces’. When I see daffodils, I know spring can’t be far away.

  • Nancy-Rose says:

    I LOOOOOOOOOVE roses! (When you have a name like mine, you MUST love roses!) And pink is my favourite colour! ooooh, I’m crossing my fingers!!

    My favourite spring flower is the tiny little snow drops – – I notice them first in my neighbour’s side garden. When I see them, my heart swells in expectant hope of longer, warmer days.

  • Balinda says:

    I love the hardy crocus. It seems to find the areas that get warm first in the spring and stubbornly blooms in the middle of the snow sometimes.

  • Tora Consolo says:

    What an absolutely beautiful quilt…I would be thrilled to win.
    My favorite spring flower has to be primroses. They are so beautiful and come in the most amazing colors….and then there’s the perfect crocus, always dependable and so very hardy.

  • Jackie says:

    I would have to say that crocus are my favorite. Although they are short lived, they are a sure sign that spring is on its way. Your quilt is lovely and congrats on getting it in the magazine!

  • Trisha says:

    What a beautiful quilt you designed with some beautiful fabric! Do you get to keep the quilt?

    I love tulips, they are definitely my favorite spring flower. I love my crocuses too. I thing bulbs are great becasue they just keep coming back. Yay!

  • Viv says:

    A beautiful quilt. What a fantastic job you get to do.

    My favourite spring flower is the blossoms on the Apricot tree. They always come before any of the others.

  • Marj says:

    Love your quilt and the fabric too. Thanks for a chance to win your leftover fabric.

    My favorite flower is a rose called Blue Boy, it has a very big flower and smells really good.

  • Kristan says:

    I had beautiful plum colored Irises while living in Idaho. That quickly became my beacon of spring, and I love them. I am also sad that I don’t get to see them this year, our first spring back in Arizona. I miss them.

  • Britt says:

    what, pick just one flower?🙂 It’s a toss up between a bouquet of daffodils and purple iris or peonies. I think peonies win…they’re heavenly!

  • penny g says:

    I am not much with flowers so I don’t know if it is a spring flower, but an iris is my favorite flower right now. The iris represents someone I loved dearly that died recently.

  • Tami says:

    Spring flower? A tulip for sure!!

  • Helen says:

    This is beautiful! Must be very fufilling to see your work in print, well done!

  • Amber says:

    There are lots of daffodils popping up in the yard right now, but my favorite spring flowers are hyacinths. I love walking past one and catching the scent. They always make me pause to savor the smells of spring.

  • susan says:

    anita! this quilt is gorgeous!! i knew you did patterns but i didnt know you did them for mags, like this. how fun that must be to see your creations in print. i really would like to make this quilt. i need to check my local book store to see if they have this issue yet
    i would love to be included in your giveaway (another one so soon! shesh your generous). my favorite spring flower is the daffodil. i think most of my fave flowers are spring flowers. a close second is the lilac, but that is a late spring flower(ing shrub) and daffodils mean that spring is just around the corner to me.

  • susan says:

    is this a canadian publication only distributed in ca?

  • wonderwoman says:

    those fabrics are just beautiful and the quilt looks amazing. I would love to be in the draw – my favourite flowers are sweet peas, especially the fragrant ones – just one scent of the flower and i’m in the middle of summer – bliss!

    xx

  • LauraJ says:

    You made a fabulous quilt with such wonderful fabrics!!
    I want to win these lovely beauties!!

  • Marlene says:

    Gorgeous fabric! They would make some very pretty tulips . . . one of my very favorite flowers. – Marlene

  • ranette says:

    That fabric is very pretty! I like your quilt too.

    I think my favorite Spring flower is the Crocus because it’s so brave poking it’s colorful little head through when it’s still pretty cold outside.

  • joyce says:

    Beautiful fabrics. I know that dandelions are hated but I like them. They come up early in the spring, every part of them is edible and you can make wine from them. Who could ask for anything more?

  • amy says:

    Congrats, Anita!! The quilt is beautiful — really love that border! Don’t enter me in the draw, I just wanted to pop in and congratulate you! Yea!

  • Katie says:

    I really like the quilt- especially the sawtooth edges! And, I’ve got to say your pictures of the fabric are MUCH better and more appealing than Clothworks’ own website photos. My favourite spring flowers are the miniature fire tulips that always bloom next to my mother’s crocuses. They are bright red and so much warmer and…Spring-ier than the blue/white crocuses or cool yellow daffodils. They make me happy!

  • Meredith says:

    My favorite -Grape Hyacinth. That is a nice bright quilt for spring. That is very exciting that you had a pattern picked up by a quilt mag. I love floral fabric. Right now I have bulbs starting to come up on my kitchen window sill. Patiently waiting for spring.

  • RobinW says:

    After snow, snow, snow, the first crocus is a long-awaited sign that lets you know Spring will come, eventually. It remains my favorite even though where I live now has no snow.

  • Melody says:

    How exciting to see it in the magazine! Congrats!

    And my favorite spring flower….. hum, which one is my favorite out of crucus (which makes my heart skip a beat when I first see them popping out of the cold, cold ground!), lilacs (whose scent is delicious to me), irises (with its paper thin, fragile petals)…. I can’t choose! I love them all!! Just like your quilts!🙂

    How I hope I win this fabric! It is beautiful!

  • Sara says:

    Lovely quilt!

    My favorite spring flower is the peony. I love the aroma and I even love the ants that run all over them. I always wonder about those ants. I also love the fact that they can live for 100 years, and when you find them coming up near an old homesite that is long gone.

  • Mary Jo Larson says:

    Thanks for your inspiration. I really like your blog and check it almost every day. The quilt you designed is beautiful and the fabric so pretty. My favorite Spring flower is probably the crocus since it is so brave to pop up through the snow, and the tulips who follow right behind. Thanks again. Mary Jo

  • Roses, Roses, Roses — is there any other flower that captures the imagination as well. And, your quilt design is perfect !

  • Lisle says:

    What great fabrics!! I love my little crocuses out front–they come up yellow and purple and white, and sometimes striped…though there’s never as many as I want, ’cause the squirrels love them too. Nothing means spring like those first flowers, though!

  • Lisa J says:

    Beautiful Quilt!! I like the Iris. I have such bad alleriges that most flowers just kill me. Thanks for the chance to win.

  • Fernanda says:

    Wow! What gorgeous fabric. Very inspirational. My local park turns into a gorgeous field of blue when the Virginia Bluebells are in bloom. It’s been my favorite flower for the last few years.

  • Carol says:

    My favorite spring flower is the daffidil. Cheerfull and a beautiful scent.

  • Evelyn says:

    Daffodils, absolutely! I was an army brat, but no matter where we moved, my mom would plant these. I remember taking them to my teachers, and the scent of them just takes me back.

    And that is a beautiful design. I love how it really lets those florals shine.

  • Una says:

    Dear Anita! Your quilt is so beautiful!! How lovely red and pink comes together:) I am so looking forward to seeing the muscari in the garden again, after numerous days under the thick layer of white… What a wonderful freelance job to have – how fortunate you are! Warm greetings, Una

  • Liz says:

    The quilt is lovely!

    I just checked my blog and I posted a picture of the first crocus of the season back on Feb 18th! And I have four bright daffodils by my computer. I thought we were headed for a freeze so I picked some buds and now they are blooming!

    Liz

  • Ann Champion says:

    The quilt you designed is gorgeous! It really shows off the fabric line. I didn’t know you did that? It’s great fun to see your quilt designs in print.🙂

    My favorite Spring flower is the tulip. They come in so many colors/types. By the time they appear it means it’s Spring for sure..no fooling!

    How can you part with with those gorgeous fabrics?

  • Deb says:

    My favorite spring flower is the lilac (does that count even if it a bush?) My second is would have to be roses.Wild type or seven sisters .
    Great fabrics!

  • Kate says:

    What beautiful fabrics! It is so nice of you to offer them.
    My favorite spring flower- hard to pick just one, but I have to say probably tulips- pink and white just say Spring! to me.

  • Shelley says:

    This quilt is lovely, and congrats on having it chosen for the magazine! My fav spring flower is actually the forsythia bloom. Here in northern IL the bushes bloom around April 15, and when I see them I know for sure that warmer days ARE coming SOON!

  • Johanna says:

    I just discovered your blog on flickr (gorgeous mini star quilt, by the way!) and now there is even a giveaway! My favorite flowers are lilys but they are not spring flowers, so that doesn’t count. I love it when apple and cherry trees are blooming but then again, not a flower!
    And I really really love crocus (I just looked it up, it really appears to be a spring flower; I guess if you live too long in the city you can’t remember flower names…)
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    Johanna

  • hedwig bonnez says:

    It sure looks like fun to work with new fabrics like that ! Marvelous quilt !
    My favourite spring flower is the march violet, tiny humble sing of spring realy setting in !

  • Karen says:

    My favorite spring flower is the lilac. We had a bush out back when I was growing up. The morning of my wedding, I picked a fresh little bouquet and placed it in a vase on top of my wedding cake. The smell is heavenly. I would love to win the leftovers. To me, that’s the greatest challenge and fun, to play with the leftovers and try and make something wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

  • Christina says:

    Wow, you are so clever designing all those patterns. Sounds like it would be so rewarding.

    Such sweet fabrics too. My favorite flower is the tulip.🙂

  • Jeannie says:

    I can only pick one flower? Living in the desert, anything that has green leaves is welcomed after a beige winter! I love the winter cyclamen – bright fushia on a cold winter day. I think designing quilts to be made with new fabrics is fantastic. You did a great job with this one. Have a great weekend.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spring Roses at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

