Looking Back & Forward

January 4, 2010 § 10 Comments

Civil War Love Letter Quilt

Thank you for all the New Year’s wishes!  I can’t believe  it is 2010!  When I was a kid, I could NOT fathom what it would be like after the year 2000, nor what it would be like to be this age. I feel old!

I finally finished up the last block of my Civil War Love Letter Quilt.  It was a real journey. I learned a lot about the Civil War. And it was a test of my patience in making small quilt blocks.

Oops!

As I got down to the last block, I was tired and just wanted it done. So I took the easy road and pretty much followed the book which left me with this goofy block. I do NOT like that one light diamond.  The balance is all wrong.  But at this point, I am not going to do anything about it. It is what it is.

Another oops moment was when I realized that I had made the same block twice! At least they were in different colors. And then I decided to orient them differently to further separate the similarities. At  least they aren’t next to each other in the quilt.

Sorry for the poor quality photos.  The quilt top is hanging up at the shop where we just finished up a 2-year block-a-month club.  The original club plan  was to make 24 blocks. But I wanted a larger quilt so that it was more usable. So I chose to make 2 blocks a month.  The approximate finished size is 71-inches square.  You can’t see the top row because the quilt is hanging on a rod.  But when I look at it as a whole, it feels like it needs a top and bottom border as well.  I may do something about that when it can come home with me.  We’ll see.

Oops again!

Now that it is the beginning of another year, I want to attempt to start some blocks on the Dear Jane quilt.  And I would  like to learn how to hand quilt so that I can hand quilt my Medallion Quilt. It already feels like I’ve bitten off more than I can  chew, and I haven’t even started yet.  No more  procrastinating, though!  These two goals have been in the back of my mind for some time now.  I think this is  the year to do something about it.

§ 10 Responses to Looking Back & Forward

  • amy says:

    Gorgeous, Anita!! Well, it wouldn’t be a quilt if there wasn’t at least one oops — or that’s my regular experience.🙂 I’m still formulating my quilting goals for the year but they can’t look anything like today’s laziness… I’ll just think of today as the deep breath after the holidays.😉

  • Liz says:

    It’s lovely…. I now have a small collection of reproduction fabrics and the Civil War Diary quilt book. Hmm… the Winter Olympics start on February 12th, which is Lincoln’s birthday (and mine) and I usually work on a quilt during the Olympics, hey… maybe this will be the year!

    Have a happy & healthy new year!

    Liz

  • Melody says:

    I love it! And I wouldn’t have even noticed those things if you hadn’t pointed them out. It is just beautiful!

  • Trisha says:

    So beautiful! I bet it feels good to have the top done. I bet you won’t even remember those mistakes someday. I admire your desire to hand quilt your medallion quilt. It will be so beautiful!

  • MichelleB says:

    What a lovely quilt! It sounds like it was a fun (although long) experience. Good luck with the hand quilting!

  • Meredith says:

    The two different blocks do not look lie an oops, not one I would have caught. Have fun learning to hand quilt, I love it.

  • pratima says:

    Wow! It looks amazing! Congratulations on the grand finish🙂
    Love the border fabric! It goes so well with the rest.

  • Marianne says:

    Wow, this looks so beautiful. Congratulations on finishing it! What does it feel like to finish something?🙂 Happy New Year to you and Gary.

  • ardis bucy says:

    Wonderful inspiration. I must return to my Civil War Quilt that I started can’t remember when. I did finish Dear Jane top. Terrific help from the blog thatquilt. You probably know about it and she lives in Wahington, I believe. My Medallion quilt was selected by my DIL and it went home to Southern California. Thanks for that experience. Ardis in Rogue River, Oregon

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Looking Back & Forward at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

