The Day After

December 26, 2009 § 9 Comments

It was an explosion! A perfect storm!

It is the day after Christmas. It’s 4:00 and I’m still in my pajamas. I got a wild hair to use up some of my scraps.  I  have it in mind to make 3 quilts entirely from my scrap bin & stash for our friends who spent Christmas Dinner with us. Crazy, I know!  It’s not like I don’t have enough going on already. But I’ve been meaning to use up some of my scraps for awhile now. And it would be great to share some quilts with some great friends.

Christmas Dinner

We’ve started calling ourselves The Birthday Gang.  We get together periodically for everybody’s birthdays.

What started my mind down this bunny trail was seeing each of us curled up inside a quilt last night as we were watching Waking Ned Devine. I’ve made quilts for my best friend, but not for the rest of The Birthday Gang.  Our next planned get-together is for the Lost Season Premier in February. It just seems like each couple should have their own quilt while we watch Lost…  and eat “wild boar ribs”.  It’s going to be a themed dinner/birthday/Lost party. I can’t wait.

§ 9 Responses to The Day After

  • mathea says:

    What a relief that somebody else’s sewing room looks a lot like mine this Christmas – I’ve been pulling out scraps and pieces from my stash to plan new quilts, but didn’t have time to get myself sorted before the holiday season was upon us. I’m venturing back tomorrow though😉
    Good luck with your three quilts before February, I know you can pull it off!

  • kathie says:

    OH I will be following you on the progress of these 3 quilts!
    I plan on using my fabric collection only this year to make quilts and YES my strips I have so many in bins and baskets its time to start making quilts with them.
    will they all be different???
    I think this is so nice of you to make them their own quilts, a treasure I am sure for them.
    Kathie

  • Hey how did my sewing room end up at your house?!🙂 LOL What a great plan to use up scraps~ I’ll be watching too. Happy Stitchin’!

  • Liz says:

    Love that picture…now I don’t feel so bad about my messy room.

    Happy New Year!

    Liz

  • Melody says:

    What a beautiful Christmas dinner table!

    You are a good friend to even consider making quilts for everyone! Good luck!🙂

  • gill says:

    what a great idea! i may have to copy you!
    gill x
    ps we watched waking ned devine on christmas day – what a great film!

  • How fabulous, you can just the creativity that caused it all, I’m so glad that I’m not the only one whose workspace looks like a bomb has gone off. Love it!

  • Lynn says:

    WOW you are the ambitious one!!!!!!

  • kendra says:

    It sounds wonderful. I admire your moxie!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Day After at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

