Another UFO?

December 11, 2009 § 7 Comments

Kung Fu Panda pillowcases

So… is it a UFO if the fabric has been sitting in a pile of things to do, but not started?  There really isn’t much work to making pillowcases, other than making the time to sew them. It takes more time to set up the sewing machine than it does to actually sew these.  I may just count these as UFO #3 if I start getting desperate. Which I might.  The quilt shop that rents the mid-arm quilting machine got a brand new upgraded machine and it has set me back a couple of quilt tops that I was hoping to finish.  I might not make it in to quilt anymore before Christmas. We shall see.

Panda fabric by Timeless Treasures

I found the fabric last August when my mom was here and she was looking for lighthouse fabric.  It was just too cute to pass up.  I had every intention to sew these together LONG before Christmas rolled around. But somehow, it has ended up being nearly Christmas by the time I got around to making these.  They are for our Karate Sensei’s two youngest sons.  The youngest one is only about 14 months, but at the cutest stage right now.  And the older one LOVES the movie Kung Fu Panda. Even Gary and I liked it.  What’s not to like about a cute Panda using Kung Fu to save his town, right?

Polka Dot fabric by Michael Miller

I’m hoping that my photos aren’t looking too hideous on your computers. I finally broke down and called technical support for my computer.  We spent three hours on the phone  this week running diagnostics to try and figure out why the color red appears so intense and over-saturated on my monitor.  They are offering to replace the LCD screen.  And… while running diagnostic tests, we also discovered that the hard drive has some issues, so they are going to replace that as well.

I’ve also been reading veraciously on color calibration to see if there was any more I can do on my end. I learned more about using Adobe Photoshop for editing photos. Even though I took a Photoshop class a few years ago, I didn’t know that there was a check box in the saving for the web & devices dialog box that loads your ICC color profile.  Good to know! So…  one of these days I hope to be a little more educated on color, and calibration, and photo editing and what not.  In the mean time, I hope I’m not hurting your eyes with my photos.

§ 7 Responses to Another UFO?

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Another UFO? at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

