Start Cooking’

December 9, 2009 § 9 Comments

Pioneer Woman Cooks

I recently picked up this cookbook to give to a friend and I was quite impressed with it.  The Pioneer Woman Cooks is written by Ree.  She cooks, she blogs and she takes the most amazing photos of life on a real working ranch.  She even took all the photos in the cookbook!  No stylist and team of photographers for her!  I want to be like her when I grow up.

Mocha Brownies

The recipes are just good down-home cooking.  And there are step-by-step photos for each task.  In between the recipes are the same amazing photos that you find on her blog. It’s really a nice cookbook.

Chicken Fried Steak

I’m sure you are wondering where I’ve been. Have I given up on blogging?  No, not really. But I am still wrestling with the funky color on my computer.  I’m trying to learn more about color calibration.  It’s a frustrating subject to venture  into.  There’s hardware, and software, and terminology, and it all takes time to absorb.

And I’m wrestling with the furniture in our computer/family room.  We are still in the process of converting computers to wireless and connecting the TV to the Internet.  Monday was spent pushing furniture around and cleaning piles. There are still a plethora of piles to clean.

Also, this time of year is bad for taking  progress photos. The sun rises around 7:30 and sets around 4:00.  That leaves a window from about 10:00 to 2:00 to take photos…  if it’s not raining. All of that to say that all those things add up to a less than encouraging environment for blogging.  I don’t mean to whine and complain.  Just sayin’…

Our annual Christmas decorating is scheduled for this weekend. It’s tradition to decorate on or around December 13th.  Last year I did a virtual countdown to Christmas.  And I’m sorry to say that I am no further along on the Advent Garland than I was last year. Maybe next year?  Ha!

December blizzard 2008

Here’s my favorite photo from last year to help us get into the holiday spirit.  We had a whopper of a snowstorm last year, not likely to be repeated for some time.

§ 9 Responses to Start Cooking’

  • amy says:

    Lately I’ve been thinking to myself, oh, the sun, quick, is there anything I need to take a picture of?!?!🙂

  • Angela says:

    Oh man – don’t get me started with color calibration. It’s the bane of my existance! I have software, and a ‘good’ monitor…use the same lightbulb in the lamp nearby, least natural light possible…..and then try to get the printout from your own printer, the web, the store, and the other store all to match!!!!! I would pay large amounts of money for somebody to come over and fix it all for good! This is the one ‘plus’ for film!

  • Lynn says:

    She really does have it all together, doesn’t she. I love her blog.

  • Melody says:

    That pic feels so warm and cozy. I loved it last year, and I love it again this year!

  • Renee says:

    I love Ree and her Cookbook! I’ve drooled all over my copy and visit her blog daily.

    Your Christmas photo from last year is gorgeous, it’s making me feel inspired. 🙂

  • Jackie says:

    I’ve heard really good things about the PW cookbook. I didn’t know that she had taken all the photos though.

    I had no idea you could calibrate color! I guess I need to tell my computer and camera to do it!🙂

  • sewpam63 says:

    Thanks for the cookbook review. : ) It’s on my Christmas list…and I’ve been good this year!

    Love your tradition of decorating on the 13th!!! May the magic and spirit of the Season festoon your heart and home with Christmas l-o-v-e!!!

  • Liz says:

    I read her blog and have tried some of the recipes on her site – they are all wonderful …gee I’m going to make some of her buttered rosemary rolls….. warning – you will not lose weight!

    Liz

  • meredith says:

    I agree about the photos. It is weekend photos or no photos for me since I work. thank you for sharing this cookbook and the author.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Start Cooking’ at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

