Shot of Summer Red

November 30, 2009 § 16 Comments

Garden Medallion

Borders and borders of floral prints from a lush summer garden.  That’s what this reminds me of.  It’s a shot of warm, happy color that I’m going to need as the winter gets colder and more grey. I was talking with someone yesterday about the emotional choices we make when choosing fabrics for a quilt.  And she was telling me about her trip to southern France and how many famous painters biographies talked about the emotion they were trying to capture through color rather than the image or the view itself.  Isn’t it interesting that the Kaffe fabrics do that for us?  In his and Brandon’s classes they often use interesting descriptive words while giving encouragement and critique to their students.  Burnt toast, wood smoke, tomato soup red…  not just color names, but something about the color that reminds them of a walk or a dinner or an event or a feeling.

The fabrics

These were the fabrics that found their way to my house at the end of the summer.  It only took a couple of months to shape them into something that was floating around in my head.  Somehow…  2 scrap bags also found their way into my shopping cart.  I can’t wait to see what they will morph into.

I’m am glad to say that I’ve finished another quilt.  But I’m not counting it as part of the Joy in the New Year UFO challenge.  This is my newest pattern, Garden Medallion.  Pattern & kit are both available at my local quilt shop, Gathering Fabric.  Wanna see the back?  With the help of the leftover scraps, the back side becomes another bonus quilt.

The backside

Scrappy bonus quilt on the back

How was your Thanksgiving? I can’t believe that it all has come and gone in the blink of an eye. We shared dinner with dear friends.  My contribution was Ciabatta Stuffing with Chestnuts & Pancetta… and almost a part of my thumbnail.  I accidentally cut a small chunk out of the tip of my thumb.  Dull knives and 2-day old crusty Ciabatta bread are not a good match.  No stitches required, but it did give me a bit of a startle.  It’s feeling much better now, thank you.  And the stuffing was yummy!

I’m dreaming about a pumpkin pie orange quilt…

§ 16 Responses to Shot of Summer Red

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shot of Summer Red at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

