Regrouping

November 12, 2009 § 8 Comments

Where the Red Chairs go for the winter

Where the Red Chairs go for the winter*

Every so often I feel the need to cocoon and energize. I think I am an introvert by nature and need time alone to refocus, regroup and go forward. Know what I mean?  And that’s where I’ve been.  Spending more time inward. Living a little more slowly.  Unfortunately, the blogging side of life gets pushed to the back burner.   I am sorry.  I do appreciate your visits and comments!  Really, I do!

So, today I’m giving myself a gently kick in the tush to get back to blogging a little more regularly again.  It’s dawning on me that the holidays are just around the corner and I’m afraid that if I blink, they might pass me by.  And…  I pledged to finish 6 non-work related projects by the end of the year for Jacquie’s Joy in the New Year Challenge.  Time is running  out!  I’m amazed at some of the double digit UFO’s that others have pledged to finish. You are brave!  Brave, indeed.

The Neighbor Dogs

While the sun happened to be shining today, I spent some time taking photos of quilts in the back yard.  The entire time I was outside, the neighbor’s Great Dane, Bounder, kept barking at me. And it’s not just a tiny little bark. It’s a deep, echoing bark.  You’d think after all these years he’d recognize me! Nope, I’m a new wonder to greet each and every time.

And another random thought… does anyone know anything about computer monitor color calibration?  I got a new notebook computer a couple of months ago and am struggling with the color.  All the reds and oranges on my screen appear neon.  I’ve even purchased the Spyder3 Express to help color calibrate the monitor.  While the reds are a little less neon, they are still in the neon range.  I’ve been jumping between my computer and my hubby’s computer to compare. But that is getting old.  Any thoughts on the subject would be more than greatly appreciated!

*The red chairs have gone to the other side of the house for the winter – under the eaves where, hopefully, there will be more protection from the rain.  I heard on the news that for the month of November we have already gotten twice the amount of rain we normally get.  I’m not sure what that is saying about the winter ahead of us.  Hopefully it means that the skiing in the mountains will be good, but the streets in our neighborhood will be snow-free.

§ 8 Responses to Regrouping

  • jacquie says:

    i know what you mean about needing time alone to regroup…hard to do and keep blogging. i never knew there were so many folks out there with double digit ufo lists. hope you get some sewing done!

  • Lynn says:

    WOW!! Bounder is a BIG dog!!!

  • sewpam63 says:

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the red chairs!!! ; )

    Regrouping is GOOD…especially as the Holidays approach.

    Bounder IS a big dog – wOoF! Wag more bark less!

    I don’t know anything about calibrating your computer, but if it’s an Apple, try one of their free workshops. I bought my very first computer ever 13 months ago and it’s a Mac. They have been VERY kind and helpful.

  • Renee says:

    If the precipitation continues as it has and all this rain is snow?? ~ there’s going to be plenty days stuck at home knitting and sewing and not getting into the office to work. Oh, that sounds good to me! 🙂

  • Melody says:

    Here’s hoping enough snow to ski, but streets clear enough to drive safely on!

  • kathie says:

    we all need to take time for ourselves, no need for excuses, regrouping is so important.
    LOVE those red chairs by the way!
    can’t wait to see what quilt your working on now and the next one too!
    Kathie

  • tinasquirrel says:

    Love those red chairs. They’re super-licious.

    And Bounder is gorgeous! My golden retrievers bark at my neighbors every time they are outside too. I always feel so bad, so I bring them inside if I hear them barking at them. That’s not very neighborly, you know? Must be “defense of territory” or some other doggy thing.

  • Amanda A says:

    6 projects by the new year is alot! I’d be doing well just to finish one or two, but I’m trying for four🙂 You’ll have to post how you did!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Regrouping at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

