There’s Pumpkin in My Chili!

November 2, 2009 § 3 Comments

Turkey Pumpkin Chili

That was one weird cold that I had last week.  The first few days acted like a cold and the last couple of days felt like I was recovering from the flu (no flu symptoms to speak of in between).  And I’m SO glad to be over that!  All that I accomplished last week was to knit about 15 inches on the back of my sweater vest and read the book “C is for Corpse” by Sue Grafton. The rest of the time I lied around on the sofa watching movies.  A friend turned me on to the Sue Grafton series and I diligently started out with “A is for Alibi”.

Pumpkin is creeping into everything around here!  I had some pumpkin left over in the fridge and decided to use it up in some Turkey Pumpkin Chili.  Loosely based on this recipe, doctoring up the spices a bit and adding black beans instead of kidney beans and chicken stock instead of water.  Use at your own risk.

UFO Challenge

And did you see that Jacquie is hosting a UFO Challenge?  Count how many UFO’s you have hiding in your closet and start out the New Year with as many as possible finished!  I hear she’s giving away some great prizes.

I’ve got to go see how many I actually want to count. And now that I’m feeling better, I am starting to get the urge to purge.  I definitely need to catch up this week and then…  who knows?  I think I’m going to take on the challenge so that there might be a little more Joy in the New Year in my sewing room.  How about you?

§ 3 Responses to There’s Pumpkin in My Chili!

  • Melody says:

    My friend had told me about those books and I’d forgotten until you reminded me. I’ll have to look for them at the library next time around. Right now I’m reading _The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency_ series. They are good reads too.

  • hedwig bonnez says:

    I am glad you recovered from your cold/flu !
    There is not much you can do against it but read and rest. Thank you for the tip on your books, I will keep an eye open for them in the library !
    It is such a good idea to ‘clean’ out the ufo’s but as it is I am still wrestling with that one quilt….

  • jacquie says:

    LOVE that recipe…thanks!! so glad you’re in on the challenge! glad you recovered quickly…so many folks are sooo sick. take good care and sew up a storm!!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading There’s Pumpkin in My Chili! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

