Colors of Autumn

October 22, 2009 § 11 Comments

Home Sweet Home

Home Sweet Home

Thank you everyone for all your wonderful comments lately!!  I apologize for not responding to very many of them.  I have to admit, I haven’t much felt like being on the Internet, blogging, or even sitting at my computer.  I’m not sure what my problem is…  burnout?  Some kind of slump, for sure.  And I’m mourning the loss of our annual beach vacation. Maybe that has something to do with it?  Every year for the last 3 or 4 years, we have taken at least a long weekend, if not a few more days, and hung out at the beach.  We sleep in late, schlep around in our pajamas until we feel  like getting dress, eat only what we want when we want, read, knit, nap, and generally give ourselves some time to be completely, guilt-free lazy.  Well, we just couldn’t fit it in this year.  Here are some photos and a post from previous years.

Placemats for Natalie

Placemats for Natalie

The dogwood in the front of our house was in peak autumn glory over the weekend.  And I sent off these spiderweb placemats to Natalie for the Placemat Swap.  Just soaking up the autumn color before it’s all gone.

§ 11 Responses to Colors of Autumn

  • Renee says:

    Your dogwood tree is spectacular. The colours this autumn have been amazing.

    Great placemats! I’m sure the recipient loved them.

    Hope you can get a weekend to crash soon, or your beach vacation next year.

  • RosaMaría says:

    wow!!! i love that tree! is so fantastic! the placemats are so beautiful!!! Natalie is so lucky!! have a great day and welcome back!

  • lavoice says:

    I love that dogwood tree. They are so lovely when they are blooming too.

  • pratima says:

    The tree is gorgeous in front of the door. The warm colors of the placemats are so inviting!
    Cute backing!!

  • Melody says:

    Cute, cute placemats! Hope you get your much needed extended weekend break some other way. I think I need one of those too! How is your knee doing, btw?

  • MichelleB says:

    Holy Cute! These are fabulous placemats!

  • Susan says:

    This time of year I get a little sad as the sunshine goes away little by little. I know that my mood is influenced by it, so I have spent the extra bucks to get full-spectrum light bulbs all over the house and I leave more lights on during fall and winter. I don’t know if this will help, or if you just need a beach fix, but I offer it in hopes that you will find it useful.

  • Jackie says:

    We don’t get fall color where I live. Love the dogwood tree in all it’s fall glory! As someone previously said – it’s spectactular!

    The spider web place mat is just perfect!

    I’m having a staycation in December. I’d do what I call “piddling” all week. A little of this, a little of that. Some necessary, some fun….but all when I want to do it. Love that kind of vacation. I can understand why you miss yours!

  • Emily says:

    I love your red chairs! I’ve got a set (they belonged to my Great Grands) that I painted yellow yellow yellow.

  • Jeannie says:

    I know what you mean. Our annual trip to Seaside was postponed so many times, we just gave up. Doesn’t seem right to get ready for winter without a new pile of shells to fondle and memories of beach walk to recall. Dogwoods are the trees that keep on giving – glorious flowers in the spring and gorgeous fall color. Hope your weekend is sunny. Cheers.

  • Kathleen says:

    Beautiful color at your house — and i adore the chairs. I have 2 antique ones and had them powder-coated pumpkin ORANGE!! They are fun all year long.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Colors of Autumn at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

