Clutter or Clean?

October 15, 2009 § 13 Comments

Birthday Books

Birthday Books

I know I’m a wee bit late in acquiring these books. But I got to use some Birthday Bucks to buy some books!

Inside Kaffe Fassett’s Quilt Romance is an article on Kim McLean that I found really interesting.  She says, “I think I am a person of contrasts. Whilst strong vibrant colours appeal to me in artistic designs, my home environment is calm and sedate.” She goes on to say that her home in Sydney is rather neutral and her home by the beach is white.  She likes to dress in sedate colors navy, black and white. And she is a clean freak yet her hobbies generally produce a lot of clutter.

For some reason I found that completely fascinating. Maybe because I know many people who believe that an artist’s home is a messy home or a messy desk is the sign of a brilliant mind. Or maybe I have some strange expectation that what people do or make is reflected in how they live or who they are.  Colorful art = colorful homes & colorful clothing.  Obviously this isn’t always the case.

I have to admit that I dislike clutter in my home.  Not that our home is completely clutter free, but that when it starts to get cluttered I find it hard to think.  And some days I like colorful homes. Other days I’m really drawn to the cool, calm white of the shabby chic or Scandinavian designs.

What do you think?  Clean or clutter?  Bright or sedate?  I’m curious. Everyone is different.

A little peek

A little peek

And… just because a picture of some books is sort of boring, here is a sneak peek at the placemat I made for my partner in the Placemat Swap.  I can’t show the rest until it has been received. I hope she likes it!

§ 13 Responses to Clutter or Clean?

  • Nyla Dominguez says:

    Hello, I’m a quilter who prefers a clean relatively clutter free home, I love color in my home, but not necessarily bright, I dress rather sedate, I will wear pretty colors but not load or busy and I make mostly classic and reproduction type quilts.

  • Oh, My Gosh!! You’ll have to come over and read my blog post that I wrote yesterday! We must be sharing a brain…I mean in a scary “love Scandinavian, Cottage” kind of way!

    I spent today clearing the clutter out of our kitchen and will post up an update at midnight to followup on today’s post.

    Really…it’s a little Halloween-type spooky that we had so much in common today! Hope you’ll have time to visit!

    xoxo
    Donna

  • Anita:
    This is the post I was referencing. Actually two days ago. (giggle…it’s really uncanny!)
    http://brynwoodneedleworks.blogspot.com/2009/10/somethings-gotta-give.html
    xoxo
    Donna

  • Renee says:

    Clean and neutral, definitely only splashes of colour and the rest sedate. I’ve been whitening and neutralizing my way around the house and we’re all loving it! Hits of colour like a quilt or piece or art used sparingly, everything else is going serene. It feels calm and peaceful.

  • amandajean says:

    i find this conversation interesting. because my quilts are quite bright, but i tend to wear browns, grey, black, a lot. AND most of my quilts do not match the color scheme of my house. it’s getting better, but i think it’s funny how we tend to comparmentalize our lives.

  • terriaw says:

    I am definitely a clean, non-clutter person. Our house is decorated with mostly neutrals except for a throw pillow or two that have splashes of color. It provides us with a calm sanctuary. But I love to work with modern and colorful fabrics!

  • Christine says:

    I also bought Quilt Romance yesterday…the story on Kim McLean was interesting. Her quilts are beautiful…
    I also tend towards whites and neutrals in my home…though I do love the look of those bright quilts.

  • Katy says:

    I have a pretty much uncluttered home, or at least, I try! Actually, my tastes in the home are much the same to my fabric choices – I like bold, statement prints and a little bit of retro. My house is full of bold wallpapers and modern mixed with antique. I guess I’m a juxtaposition in the whole!
    I’m always interested to see how people have their homes, like you I assume the work they produce matches their homes, but it doesn’t seem to be that way, does it?

  • MichelleB says:

    Unfortunately – I am a cluttery type person. I don’t want to be, and am trying to change. I think I’m with amandajean. I tend to dress in neutrals and decorate (if you can call it that) in subtle color schemes – but my quilts are all over the place. You know how some people tend to do the same type of quilt over and over – mine are all completely different with all kinds of different color schemes.

  • Jackie says:

    I don’t like clutter. My countertops are not loaded up in the kitchen and I don’t have stuff all over my endtables. As far as a sewing space goes though, since I use the dining room table I find it hard to keep things neat. I’m hoping that will change once I get my own space and everything has it’s place.

    As far as color in the home goes, I like earthy. Which is weird because I do not wear anything earthy. I don’t own even one pair of brown shoes or one brown bag. It’s all black. I enjoy earthy fabrics too but don’t limit myself to that type of fabric. Our color choices are interesting when you think about them, aren’t they?

  • Zarina says:

    My room is cluttered. I can never keep my desk tidied up for more than two days. What usually happens is I tend to find things faster in the clutter and not when its all in place.

    My quilts which are not many at the moment generally need to have clear cut patterns with lots of white spaces. I’m not sure if I love scrappy quilts (since I don’t have much stash to work on to start with) but I love my quilts to have bright colors.

    I guess its true, its either one but not both. This is becoming a very informative post.

  • pratima says:

    Lately, it’s been puzzling me a lot too… I like serene spaces with mostly white and a very minimalistic look but when it comes to working with fabrics I seem to enjoy cheerful colors like 3o’s prints and scrappy quilts.
    It’s insightful and interesting to read different perspectives on the topic. Thank you, Anita.

  • Carla says:

    My clothing, home and quilts all go hand in hand. They are bright, bold prints and not affraid of accessories. Because of this my home is pretty much clutter free to let the rest shine.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Clutter or Clean? at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

