It’s Autumn

October 4, 2009 § 7 Comments

Fermenting cabbage

Fermenting cabbage

I’ve been trying to slow down, do a little less, enjoy the season more… but it’s been hard. It seems like there is always more that needs to be done and not enough time.  The summer flew by with lots of  activity and I don’t want autumn to do the same. This is my absolute favorite time if the year.

But I have to say that the color of the leaves have been disappointing this year.  Most seem to be going from green to brown. There are some yellow and red, but not many.  In a couple of weeks we’ll be heading across the state to visit my in-laws and I’m hoping to see more color!  There is something about the combination of colorful leaves, both on the trees and on the ground, the smell in the air and the sound of our feet shuffling through the leaves that just makes me feel so… I can’t even put it into words.

Thankful. Hopeful. Satisfied. Bittersweet. Snuggly. Wool socks. Crisp air. Pumpkins. Soup. Handmade quilts. Candlelight. Porchlight.  Sigh.

It will become sauerkraut in another 2 to 4 weeks

It will become sauerkraut in another 2 to 4 weeks

I’ve been dying to try my hand at making sauerkraut. Both of my grandmothers had large crocks but I don’t ever remember any sauerkraut being made. I asked my mother about it and she said she never had any good results.  So I poked around on the internet and we came up with this solution.  A glass jar with a plastic bag of salt brine on top. One web site mentioned doing this just in case the bag broke, it wouldn’t dilute the brine on the cabbage.  Our solution to the need for a cool, dark place in a 1970’s rambler (no cellar) where it needs to ferment for 4-6 weeks was to put it inside our canning pot and set it under the stainless steel work table in the kitchen. It’s been two weeks so far. We’ll see what it looks like in another two to four weeks.

Pretzels - Batch 3

Pretzels - Batch 3

The whole pretzel experiment over the last couple of weeks was for our Supper Club. This is Batch 3.We used this recipe with a few changes.  Considerably less baking soda in the water bath. And we put a cast iron pan in the bottom of the oven and poured some water to create steam just as we were putting the pretzels in the oven. (I forgot the salt in Batch 2. Fortunately,  Batch 2 was still an experimental batch!  And you remember Batch 1 with the whole wheat flour? Yeah, not good.)

Oktoberfest dinner with friends

Oktoberfest dinner with friends

Our Supper Club theme this month was Oktoberfest. A group of us get together every other month or so and share a meal. Each couple brings one portion of the meal based on the chosen theme.  We’ve been doing this for nearly two years and it is great fun. There were lots of different kinds of sausages and mustards, red cabbage, and potatoes.  The pretzels were a hit.  And dessert was a black forest cake. Yum!

I don’t think my workout at the gym made up for all the indulging!  We are eating simple tonight – roasted Swan White acorn squash a’ la Michael Chiarello.

It’s autumn!

§ 7 Responses to It’s Autumn

  • Tina says:

    Wish I could just grab one of those pretzels…they look delish!

  • amy says:

    Ahh, fall! A delicious homemade salty pretzel does sounds wonderful. Not sure what to expect from our trees this year since we had such a mild summer. Should be interesting. There was a fantastic fall full moon last night — the sky was cloudy and the sun was bright. I expected to see a witch fly across the sky.

  • Lynn says:

    I LOVE the idea of a supper club, but it’s been hard to tie down all that are interested… Might have to see if we can swing it soon….

  • Renee says:

    Mmm, the pretzels looks delicious!
    We used to have a dinner club years ago, before everyone moved away. Loved them, so much fun.
    Autumn is my favourite time of the year.

  • woolywumpus says:

    Yay! We started a dinner club in June and we’re having a blast. Half the fun is planning the theme🙂
    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for your sauerkraut!

  • Hey, THOSE pretzels look good!!! Yum. : D

    I agree with you about Autumn. I LOVE the smell of fallen acorns and leaves…the crunch they make, the smiles they bring, that feeling…apple cider, scare crows, Trick-or-Treat, flannel sheets, a cup of tea…

  • Candace says:

    Oh – i can’t wait to hear how the sauerkraut turns out, Anita! My friend makes it in crocks – I’ve never heard of this method – it actually sounds easier! Your supper club looks like fun, and what better time of year!
    Cheers!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s Autumn at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

