Lederhosen & Steins, Oh My!

September 21, 2009 § 3 Comments

Whole Wheat Pretzels

Whole Wheat Pretzels

Gary and I ventured out of the house last Friday night for dinner and a movie, something we haven’t done in a long while.  Well, we often do dinner and a movie a’ la good ol’ home cooking and Netflix. This time we didn’t have to cook and we actually watched a current movie not yet released on video.  Woohoo!  Dinner was at Gordon Biersch where Oktoberfest celebrations have already begun.  And the movie was Julie & Julia.  May I just say, Meryl Streep was superb.

Inspired by the movie and  by the fact that the theme of our next Supper Club is Oktoberfest, I decided that it’s time for a little experimentation. I’ve never made pretzels and I wanted to give it a try.

from the cookbook King Arthurs Whole Grain Baking

from the cookbook King Arthur's Whole Grain Baking

Experiment number 1 – Whole Wheat Pretzels from King Arthur’s Whole Grain Baking book.  Not bad.  A little dense and a little small.  I skipped the egg wash and they still seemed to brown up fairly well. Edible but definitely not a REAL pretzel.

Next up, regular pretzels sans the whole wheat. And I really want to try making sauerkraut.  Gary really wants to try making Boeuf Bourguignon like in the movie Julie & Julia.  Stay tuned for more  kitchen experiments.

§ 3 Responses to Lederhosen & Steins, Oh My!

  • amy says:

    Mmmmm… those pretzels look good — and healthy!

  • Renee says:

    I live in Kitchener, ON, 2nd biggest Oktoberfest in the world. It’s pretzels and mustard, sausage and sauerkrau, dirndels and lederhosen and polka music for a whole week. I’ve never tried making homemade pretzels, would love to know what your winner recipe is. Prost!

  • tina (tp) says:

    You and me too. I ordered the cookbook, made the Beef Bourguignon and loved it. It is almost like my lamb shanks ala osso buco. That wine does the trick. Yesterday I made the onion soup and am ready to try the eggplant and mushrooms. Wish I could pronounce the french names. By the way am almost ready to start the quilting of my delft baskets. Still working on getting up the nerve to begin. Don’t want to ruin the quilt.
    tp

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lederhosen & Steins, Oh My! at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

