Did Somebody Say Pie?

September 6, 2009 § 13 Comments

Shirt Stripes a la Electric Quilt

Shirt Stripes a' la Electric Quilt

It was refreshingly nice to wake up to the soothing sound of rain yesterday morning.  I frittered away some time in Electric Quilt playing with Shirt Stripe boxes  instead of sewing them.  I just wanted to see how four panels of my one would look all together.  Do you see that big block of 3″ squares in the middle?  Rats!  That was not my intention. Do I feel like ripping the blocks apart? No, not really. Sigh.  It is a beach quilt after all.

Grandmas Pumpkin Pie

Grandma's Pumpkin Pie

Maybe this will make me feel better? It’s my husband’s favorite!  Every year I freeze a bunch of cooked squash for pie throughout the year. Usually it’s butternut squash, but I have been known to try other sweet orange varieties as well.  Then I use my Grandma’s Pumpkin Pie recipe.  It is a little lighter on the spices and a little heavier on the cream.  Gary says it’s the best.  Who am I to argue?

§ 13 Responses to Did Somebody Say Pie?

  • Melody says:

    Ohhh! It looks heavenly.

  • Renee says:

    Mmm, we love homemade pumpkin pie too.
    I’m definitely going to give your recipe a try ~ thanks for sharing!

  • Lynn says:

    Ok even with you pointing it out I still had a hard time seeing it. It will be a great quilt, for the beach or just snuggling on the couch.

    BTW I LOVE the rain!!!

  • I can only see a beautifl quilt, I would like to own. I simply love it.

    Here in Denmark we have had a lot of wind and autum rain but today the have promised that the sun will return. Yahhhhhh…

    Love JM😉

  • terriaw says:

    I’ve had a taste for something pumpkin lately. Must be due to the cooler weather we are having. I have always wanted to try Electric Quilt. This one with your shirt stripe project looks really cool!

  • MichelleB says:

    I am loving that quilt. It keeps looking better and better.

    I bought our first pumpkin pie at Costco. I can’t believe it’s pumpkin pie season already!

  • Erin says:

    When I tried to lay out the squares in EQ6, my fabric didn’t rotate and show the bulls eye effect. What am I missing? I think your layout looks great. The pie looks yummy too!

  • hedwig bonnez says:

    Never thought you could make pie from a pumpkin, we use them mainly for soup but as we have 2 growing in our garden I could try your recipie ?
    It took me several looks at your layout before I even spotted the ‘cluster’ (at least I think I did now) so…..Or do I need new glasses ?

  • woolywumpus says:

    It doesn’t seem so long ago when you were suffering through a heat wave – and now we’re already hearing about pumpkins and squash!

    The layout of your quilt looks fabulous!

  • Candace says:

    Oh – how neat that you EQ’d your picnic quilt, Anita – it’s like looking at 100 kaleidescopes!
    Pumpkin pie is my fav, too – I use plain soy milk instead of cream – gives it a sort of nutty flavor!
    Cheers!

  • susan says:

    i would ignore the row, it looks great. that pie looks so yummy. i use the recipe on the can of libbys

  • tina (tp) says:

    Love your quilt. My delft baskets top is finished. I haven’t taken another photo, but will do so soon. I need to practice a little more on my quilting before I start on this one. I am making a few patchwork pillow covers to do the practicing on. thanks for the inspiration. I have some left over shirt fabric and may do a few squares and make a bag or two.
    tp

  • Kim Lockwood says:

    I think it looks fabulous! You’re making me want to start looking at striped shirts on my thrifty outings! Stop it! LOL

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Did Somebody Say Pie? at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

