Amish in the City

August 28, 2009 § 17 Comments

Amish in the City Quilt

Amish in the City quilt

A few years ago (2004 to be exact) I started making this quilt while there was a reality show on TV called Amish in the City.  It’s in the style of the Amish Sunshine & Shadow quilt and made entirely from scraps leftover from various quilting & clothing projects.  The only fabric I had to buy was the backing fabric.

When I finished the top, I wanted to try doing some fancy machine quilting on it. But it turned out looking like crap.  So I stuffed it in the closet and ignored it for a few more years.

2-inch squares

2-inch squares

Last winter I had to clean out the closet and there it was, staring me in the face with all it’s ugliness.  So… sitting in front of the TV for many nights, I slowly picked out all the ugly quilting.

I finally decided to get on a finishing kick this  month and start finishing some of my quilt top UFO’s.  It had been more than 8 months since I first used the HQ16 mid-arm quilting machine that is for rent at a local quilt shop and I was scared to try quilting another quilt. But I swallowed my fear and jumped in anyway.

The Back

The Back

I was pleasantly surprised that it went much better than I thought it would.  This is my second quilt. Woohoo!  Since this one, I’ve done a third quilt and I’m going in today to quilt a fourth.  Pretty soon… my UFO pile should be shrinking.  I feel like I’m on a roll.

§ 17 Responses to Amish in the City

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Amish in the City at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

