Let Them Wiggle

August 18, 2009 § 46 Comments

Shirt Stripe Boxes

Shirt Stripe Boxes

While Mom is cruising to Alaska, I’m finally getting around to cutting and sewing a few more Shirt-Stripe Boxes.  This time I made a few 6-inch blocks. Next up are the 3-inch blocks.  I’m still not sure about how many blocks I’m going to get out of these shirts or how big the quilt will be. We shall just have to wait and see.

Behaving Stripes

Behaving Stripes

When Amy over at Mrs. Schmenkman Quilts mentioned that Kaffe quote about not getting too fiddly with matching up the stripes, I had to go read the book and see if he said anything there too. (I rarely read the words in quilting books. Gasp!)

“Don’t go crazy trying to match the stripe seams perfectly, though. Let them wiggle a little – this is supposed to be fun.”

Okay. There you have it.  Let them wiggle!

Wiggly Stripes

Wiggly Stripes

Like Amy, I’m also using the Companion Angle to cut out the triangles.  We used this ruler quite a bit in the Medallion Quilt-Along too.  It’s another one of my favorite tools.  It hasn’t always been a favorite, but it’s grown on me over time. And now I love it!

Handy Rulers

Handy Rulers

So… let’s have another give-away this week.  Tell us what you are letting wiggle this summer. (Your kids??? I was always a wiggler growing up.) One chance to win per person.  I’ll draw a name on Wednesday, August 26 and the lucky winner will receive this handy-dandy all-in-one Easy Star & Geese ruler. It works just like the Easy Angle and Companion Angle only it’s one ruler instead of two.  I know you’re gonna love it!

Companion Angle

Cut strips & then cut the triangles

What’s been allowed to wiggle this summer for me? Sheesh, just about everything.  I’ve done nearly no weeding at all in the flower beds, the floors have been a little more dirty, and remember those 10 extra pounds? Yup, still there.  Some things are going to have to change in September! (I think my camera needs to be cleaned too. Every photo looks sort of grainy.)

§ 46 Responses to Let Them Wiggle

  • joyce says:

    I let my housework wiggle most of the time so maybe it’s not just a summer thing. Ditto for the flower beds, garden and those pounds. I wish it were only ten. Lol. I’m a gadget and ruler freak so I’d love to win the ruler.

  • AmandaL says:

    I’ve been letting the clothing have some wiggle room. I think my little boy (a 2 year old) has worn the same 3 outfits all summer, on endless washing rotations.

  • camelama says:

    I let my jobhunt wiggle. Sounds bad, but I decided to stick with my part-time job, and let myself enjoy the summer! First summer I’ve been able to really appreciate in … 20 years? It’s been glorious. I’ve done so much sewing and crafting, and so much enjoying the city and the countryside. My yearly bird-watching lists have never been so full!

  • Heather says:

    Love seeing how your quilt is coming along – I am hoping to make a quilt out of shirts as well – although I will be using mens flannel shirts – we’ll see how that goes.
    As for letting things wiggle this summer – it seems everything has been allowed some wiggle room, housework, kids bedtimes, my sewing – we will really have to shape up in the next few weeks to get ready for school for the first time. EEEKK – how do those little ones grow up so fast?

  • Sam E. says:

    I’m letting my diet wiggle, which means that I’m letting my stomach jiggle…sigh…

  • Valerie says:

    Lots of things wiggling: the cat, the cleaning, the gym routine. Still enjoying the summer though, even with the high heat and humidity… ugh, sticky…

  • Oh, Anita… I really enjoy this. Beautiful😉

  • Caron Mosey says:

    LOVE the stripes! In most of my adult life, I have never let my jiggly grandma arm fat wiggle in the breeze. Not so this year. I have been seen out walking in public in a tank top. GASP!!!!!!!
    I know. You think less of me now.

    Please, don’t scold, just put me in the drawing.
    Thanks!!!🙂 I’m going to put a real shirt on now.

  • Pokey says:

    With the recent addition of a quilt frame and machine, I am letting my stitches wiggle with a little improvement of the meandering/stipple stitch. It’s been grand! I love your shirt squares, matched or wiggly. Thank you for the giveaway, when will we have too many rulers? : } pokey

  • Kris says:

    I had a grand plan to bike to and from my office this summer, but alas, I mostly just find myself riding the bus or only riding my bike on the (down-hill) way home and putting it on the bus in the morning. Alas, I think the fall schedule will be good for me and encourage gym attendance… we’ll just have to see! thanks for the giveaway!

  • Coloradolady says:

    Honestly, my whole house is on a wiggle…no time for anything these days. I would love one of these, I am very new to quilting, and just got home from GW with a few shirts, I want to try my hand at this….looks like fun!! I am so thankful for your pictures, that helps a new quilter so very much!! Please enter me!

  • Rachel says:

    I am letting the laundry wiggle this summer. Who cares if I wear the same outfits 2 or even 3 days in a row? I don’t work in the summertime (I’m a teacher) so most days I’m just hanging around the house anyway. It’s so liberating!

    I’m loving your stripey blocks!

  • Melody says:

    What’s wiggling?

    I’d like to wiggle my toes in sandals…but it’s too cold for sandals, so my toes are unwiggling in tennis shoes.

    I’m trying to keep my kids from wiggling as we homeschool.

    Maybe I need to *practice* wiggling more!

  • woolywumpus says:

    My fave block so far is your wiggly one!

    What has wiggled this summer? Well, there’s the garden which seems to go wild overnight. But the call of the sewing machine and the knitting needles seems to blunt any fear I may harbour that one morning I will wake up to find the garden has overgrown the entire house…:)

    Glad you are back to you sewing. Absence makes the heart grow fonder and all of that…

  • Renee says:

    Our house wiggles – it’s never been so disorganized. I’ve started plugging away at it in between my hobbies… lol It needs much more attention!

  • Joan says:

    well, i’m afraid the only wiggling on me is my inner thighs😉

    love the stripes and am itching to do some of that myself after finishing a few other projects.

  • Sally says:

    What nice squares! I love them, they look crisp and … wiggly … all at once.

    What am I letting wiggle this summer? Housekeeping, mostly; I get absorbed in making things and forget that the house wants attention too! I’m also making an effort to be more wiggly around the kids and not yell so much when they’re loud or making a mess.

  • MichelleB says:

    I have both of those rulers, but would LOVE a quick tutorial! Hint, hint. lol

    Your squares are looking fantastic! I love them. I’ve been hunting some shirts and found a great one. I think I need a couple more.

    As far as wiggling – too much vacation is leading to too much wiggling around my middle, too.

  • Gail says:

    I already found Amy’s quilt online and was inspired to email her. I had this striped quilt on my “to do” list but had somehow forgotten about it. I have already found 2 pieces of striped fabric and am definitely going to try my hand at making it.
    I’m wiggling carrots from the ground out in the garden!
    Thanks for the chance to win the ruler.
    Regards from Gail in Washington State

  • Trisha says:

    I am loving watching this quilt develop. It is so fun to see the different shirts turned into blocks.

    I am wigglin’ my toes in the sand at Cannon Beach this week!

  • Jackie says:

    My sewing area is wiggling this summer. I have to use the dining room and was being stifled because it was too much trouble to keep it clean. No more!

    Right now my gym routine is wiggling. That’s only been a week and a half. I have to quit wiggling that one soon! 🙂

  • Dorothee says:

    Totally brilliant, I will have lots of fabric left over from my shirt project and this is a brilliant way of using it all up!

  • Kim says:

    I have let everything wiggle this summer – quilting, housework, diet, exercise. I did, however, discover the world of blogs. I never read blogs before and I have been just a little addicted. It is great fun and I am learning a lot. Today, I am dropping my oldest child off to college. It’s been quite an emotional week. I love these shirt blocks. I can’t wait to try them myself.

    • tina (tp) says:

      Kim,
      I have discovered blogs also. There are soooo many and one just leads to another. Soooo many good ideas. Just not enough time in the day.
      tp

  • kathie says:

    I really love these blocks
    wow makes me want to find some great stripes and plaids and make a few blocks too! I love graphic quilts and boy these blocks sure are graphic!
    It would be fun to play along with these rulers ….
    hmm what have I been putting off
    trying to wiggle my way out of
    fall cleaning, usually happens in August around here…

  • Rebekah says:

    Great blocks!

    Thanks for the quilting book, too. I just got it in the mail on Monday

  • Liz says:

    Lovely blocks –

    I have lots of tadpoles wiggling in a bowl right now – found the cluster of eggs in some water in the back yard. I knew they wouldn’t last there, so I “adopted” them. Some have been given to neighborhood kids to watch. Once larger, they’ll go to a pond nearby.

  • amandajean says:

    your blocks look great!

    i’ve been giving myself some wiggle room when it comes to quilting. it’s only been the past few weeks, but man, it feels good. being a one woman sweatshop is not a lot of fun.

  • annie says:

    The blocks look great. The rulers look so fun as well. I have been allowing my housework some wiggle-room as I work on unfinished projects, so I can have more wiggle room in my sewing room.

  • Kathleen says:

    love those acrylic rulers – they are fantastic to get things cut accurately! I don’t have this one.

    Thanks for a cute site.

  • zarinaza says:

    You are so kind. Wiggle – almost everything I do I have those wiggle. Never been a prefectionist even in quilting or any other crafts.

  • adina says:

    i’m letting my room wiggle a bit – some stuff still in boxes from moving last month. (and I’m not in a big hurry)

  • tina (tp) says:

    I have let my knitting wiggle while going to town on quilting. I’m putting my Delft Baskets from Kaffe Fasset’s Passionate Patchwork together and loving it. My guest room-sewing room combo is really wiggling. Stuff all over the bed. I want to rearrange the room, but that must wait. Sewing class this am on new Bernina. What fun!
    tp

  • Linda says:

    I’m loving watching the progress on the beach quilt! It’s going to be awesome! The ruler looks like quite the handy tool! Seems like everything is wiggling this summer…yard, house and quilting!

  • My toes!!! In the grass, the sand, the ocean, the mud… ; )

  • Tora Consolo says:

    I’m gonna let my new found grandchildren “wiggle” their way through the remains of a glorious summer in my backyard!

  • michelle says:

    I’d love to win the triangle maker as I’m beginning to compile my stash of “old” shirts – love your blog!

  • Lisa says:

    Your squares look great! I have to say I have been letting my housework wiggle so I can be in the sewing/computer room more.

  • Amanda A says:

    The kids have wiggled the most! Thank goodness school starts Tuesday🙂 The garden is also a little overwhelmed with weeds…soon to be remedied!

  • mjb says:

    I’ve let my sewing space wiggle quite a bit! Too many half-finished projects that I should be finishing but are all piled up instead.

  • Joyce Barham says:

    I am enjoying watching the striped shirt quilt grow. I just love the touch of orange in it. The color just pops out!

    I wiggled around my quilt studio all summer and finally am getting some cutting and straightening done.

    The ruler looks just what I need. I do enjoy your blog! Joyce.

  • Tine says:

    Lol! I think everything is wiggling around here this summer🙂
    I have had 2 weeks vacation with the kids, and tried to let housework be housework and just have some fun! Not easy for me – I like (need) a tidy house to be a happy mom. But the kids enjoyed it, and I could clean up at night after they went to bed🙂

    I like your wiggly squares. Is the idea to make it a mix of wiggly and non-wiggly squares?

  • Adrianne says:

    It was the summer of ’09 and I discovered quilting. Everything around me has been wiggling as I immerse myself. The laundry pile overflows, the stacks of dishes rise higher and higher, the fabric arrives, the irons gets hot and the sewing machine whirs. I have loved this summer so much!!

  • tandkdaytoday says:

    Dust… I am definitely letting dust wiggle this summer. Be careful around my apartment’s door jams, or dust will wiggle in between your toes!

  • prairiehome says:

    Good eating habits have been given a little too much wiggle room this summer. Too much sugar & processed food has crept back into the diet. Ugh.

    I purchased my first shirt today! Went to the thrift store to see how much shirts were going to be. They are $2 & $3 but white tags were 25¢. There were probably more available but I was there with youngest son who is not a shopper so I only walked out with one. Will be going back soon though. Can’t wait to start on this and would love to win the ruler. :o)

    ~Erin

  • paula says:

    I joined the flickr group and have been oogling the amazing blocks people are making! I LOVE how you are making different size blocks for your quilt – they are awesome! So wiggle room….for me it’s been letting my house go – organizational wise – this summer and just trying to enjoy spending time with my teenage girls! Thanks for a chance to win such a cool tool.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Let Them Wiggle at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

