Heat Jet Lag

July 31, 2009 § 6 Comments

Fall 2009 issue

Fall 2009 issue

We woke up to nearly normal temperatures this morning, but I feel like I have heat jet lag. Is there such a thing? When the Fall Interweave Knits issue arrived in the mailbox yesterday, I almost couldn’t look at it because the photo on the front made me feel even hotter. I did browse it anyway. While laying on the sofa. And dreaming of colder weather. Yesterday it was 98°F outside and 84°F inside. (Wednesday’s temps 104 outside, 81 inside) Puh. Still too hot for my preferences.

Diane's socks

Diane's socks

I started another pair of Seduction Socks for myself.  So to not have an exact matching pair as my best friend, I am knitting them in blue. Then I realized that I goofed on the cuff stitch on her pair and didn’t quite follow the pattern. Ooops!  To give the pattern it’s due diligence, I knit the cuff as it should be on my pair. But I think I like the mistake cuff on hers better. No, I’m not going to rip mine back and redo it.  And for the inquiring minds, I made her cuff a 2 row repeat and the pattern makes it a 4 row repeat.

anitas-seduction

My socks

Well… today is another day. I’ve reserved some time on the rental quilting machine at the Quilter’s Garden this morning. Have a cool and relaxing weekend. More Recycled Clothing Quilt goodness next week!

§ 6 Responses to Heat Jet Lag

  • MichelleB says:

    Your socks are looking great! I got the Knits magazine yesterday, and I’m loving some things in there – especially that wrap! I think I’m going to have to make it.

  • Liz says:

    If it makes you feel any better, when it gets into the 100’s here (in OKC), I set my A/C to 80 – to conserve and because I was told a long time ago that it was better for the unit not to be running all of the time. Don’t know if it is true, but it does make sense.

    I also discovered that wearing a swimsuit and going out for an occasional dip in the pool to cool off meant that the A/C set any lower was too cold when I got back in!

  • Renee says:

    Gorgeous socks!
    Happy quilting and knitting and trying to stay cool. 🙂

  • Candace says:

    I sure know how you feel, Anita! Here in Everett it was 98 in the house at 11pm on Wed night! I haven’t done a darned thing all week – just don’t have an ounce of energy – thank goodness we are in the 70’s today! Thanks for the link to the HQ rental – I didn’t know about that!
    Cheers!

  • Alexis says:

    Ugh, it has been too hot too sew! I’m impressed that you were knitting! I’m hoping for some lovely summery but not so hot weather next week!

  • craftthefinalfrontier says:

    You have my greatest sympathy sweating through the hot weather. It gets over 100 degrees F on a regular basis here in Perth. I hibernate and do lots of craft….

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Heat Jet Lag at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

