Biking, Dinosaurs & a Quilt

June 11, 2009 § 21 Comments

Old Red Barn Quilt-Along

How many of your quilts match the exterior of your house?

I really enjoy riding my bicycle.  Early morning really is the best time for us to go riding along the Sammamish River Trail.   Even though I feel big and slow and sluggish on my mountain bike as the hard core bike commuters whiz by on their slim titanium road bikes, I still like to ride.

But, I really need to start taking the camera with me and show you some of the sights along the way!  Today we saw a gaggle of Canadian geese with two sets of goslings.  One set was young enough that they were still a soft yellow color.  Oh so cute! But the most amusing sight was a plastic dinosaur strategically placed on one side of the trail. It wasn’t there when we passed by the first time.  But on the return trip it was staring us down, daring us to continue.  Both Gary and I started laughing and imagining what the story behind the dinosaur might be.  Attacked by the dreaded Tyrannosaurus Rex of the Sammamish River Trail!

I finally stitched together the blocks for the Old Red Barn Quilt-Along.  All these fabrics together just make me smile.  It’s not too late to jump in and join if you’ve been pondering it. Now I just need to decide if I want to quilt this at home or send it out.

Quilt Stats:

~ 15 half-yard cuts of fabrics – well, the equivalent of that. There were a couple of fat quarters to make up a half yard, and a couple of scraps leftover from previous projects that nearly equaled a half yard each.
~ Finished size of blocks = 10 inches
~ Finished size of quilt = 80 inches square.

§ 21 Responses to Biking, Dinosaurs & a Quilt

  • jacquie says:

    eeeeek! fabulous!

  • Jane Weston says:

    So kind of you to paint your house to match! :o) Your quilt looks wonderful!

  • lily boot says:

    It’s beautiful Anita – it’s such a simple quilt but oh so effective. 80 inches – I’d be sending it out! Glad you’re enjoying your bike riding – I love riding my bike (I have to push it up hills – it has no gears) – th geese sound sweet – the dinosaur sounds marvellous!

  • Erin says:

    your bike ride sounds nice.
    your quilt top is gorgeous and very happy!

  • amy says:

    Loving how your quilt turned out. Those sparks of orange are fantastic! I haven’t been able to commit to a set of fabrics for this, but I do have a quilt to make for dear daughter’s bed this summer and have fabric without a pattern. Maybe I’ll quilt-along belatedly. Cracking up over the dinosaur on the trail!

  • terriaw says:

    Your quilt-along quilt looks fabulous! And what a great size! I can see why you needed to hang it outside. Those bike rides sound really wonderful, especially in the early mornings when everything can be so peaceful.

  • britt says:

    I love it! Beautiful, how are you quilting it?

  • MichelleB says:

    Your quilt came out great! I love the colors.

  • Melody says:

    We have a family close by who has their yard landscaped for a desert: very little plants that need to be watered, some drift wood, and some decorative gravel. Well in their yard, strategically placed on stumps and such, are dinosaurs sitting there like they were born to rule that domain. It is fun to walk by and look at. I bet their kids love it too!

    I’d love for you to take your camera on your bike rides too! I love your pics!

  • Rachel says:

    Okay, I’m really annoyed because I’m at work right now (yes, reading blogs at work, naughty naughty) and the computer won’t show the picture of the quilt at the top of your post. Sigh. I’ll have to look when I get home.

    But I did want to say Hurray for you! for getting on your bike! You are inspiring me to get mine out of the shed, pump up the tires, tighten the brakes and whhheeeeee! Off I go!

    (I’ll try to remember to take my camera too)

    Have a great weekend! ☺

  • Allie says:

    Love the quilt, and the color of your house!

  • Candace says:

    Oh how I miss riding the trail, Anita! I used to live in Wallingford years ago and bike from there all the way down and back! One year on the first ride out with a new mountain bike, I couldn’t figure out why I was so much slower than everyone else – turns out I only had 9 pounds of air in my tires – that was the most gruelling ride I ever had!
    I love that your quilt matches your house – such fun colors!
    Cheers!

  • Katy says:

    love the colour of your house, and I love that quilt. It’s beautiful!

  • woolywumpus says:

    Yet ANOTHER beautiful quilt, Anita! The colours are gorgeous together and a stunning addition to your garage door🙂 I’m going to keep an eye out for dinosaurs on my bike ride this afternoon.

  • Erin says:

    Lovely quilt & you inspired me! I promptly went out and bought fabric to make this quilt for my 5 yo daughter. Plenty of bright colors to match her personality. =)

  • Knitterella Purl says:

    I totally hate how so many picturesque opportunities are there when the camera is not. This always happens to me!🙂

    I love the color of your house as well as the quilt. You’ve done an amazing job!

  • amandajean says:

    it’s so beautiful! i love the color of your house and garage!

  • […] just found Anita’s post – cycling routes of the quilting […]

  • Rebekah says:

    This quilt is gorgeous! As is the color of your house🙂

    I’ve got my fabric pressed and ready to be cut to make one of these quilts.

  • susan says:

    someone has a sense of humor!! what a funny thing to see. you definately need to start carrying your camera with you! then next time you can document an actual dinosaur!!!
    your quilt turned out gorgeous, and it is funny it matches your house color

  • Diane says:

    Love the quilt – what fabric line or lines is it? I can hardly wait to see it quilted. I just purchased a Gammill and I am looking for ideas to quilt my quilt along.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Biking, Dinosaurs & a Quilt at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

