Spidery Summer Goodness

June 8, 2009 § 12 Comments

Spidery Goodness

Finally finished!

Seems like I’ve been working on a lot of stuff, but don’t have much to show for it.  I did finally finish the Spidery Tank.  Yay!  Most of it had been finished for awhile, but I just needed to graft the shoulder straps.

I know you all can’t see it, but I’m hating pictures of myself at the moment because I can see the 8 pounds I’ve gained since injuring my knee. Very few of my summer clothes fit at the moment.  Especially my favorite skinny cropped jeans.  Boooo.

Knee update:  I did a reasonable bike ride today instead of the long errand one like last week and my knee is doing much better.  Lot’s less swelling than last week. Yay for that!  I am a teeny bit worried that I won’t be ready to go hiking in July or August when the mountain trails are finally clear of snow. But I am doing my strengthening exercises like a good girl.

Finished!

Spidery goodness.

I’m glad this spider looks a lot different than the ones in our yard.  I’ve been seeing spiders everywhere.

Project details:

Pattern – Spidery Tank, Interweave Knits – Summer 2009 issue

Yarn – Knitting Fever Intermezzo Aran, long ago discontinued and sitting in my stash. I had started knitting a stockinette sweater with it and frogged it because it felt too heavy. This seems to be the perfect project for this yarn.

Modifications – I only knit 3 1/2 lace repeats instead of 4. I was afraid it was going to be too long, but I think I could have done the full 4 repeats.  Also, I knit 2 rounds after the lace before starting on the shoulder decreases to give it some more body under the arms.

Okay. Back to the sewing room. I need to sew up the Old Red Barn Quilt-Along quilt so that my design wall can make room for the next project I need to finish in the near future.  Have you seen everyone’s gorgeous quilts in the Flickr group?  Every one of them is fantastic!

§ 12 Responses to Spidery Summer Goodness

  • Oh, Anita – you can do so much with your hands. I really like the knitted tank and the color is so beautiful.

    xxJM😉

  • Britt says:

    I love it! You look fabulous (though I think your face would make it even more beautiful) so don’t beat yourself up too bad.
    Oh man I was loving the old red barn quilt along until my sewing machine up and died while I was sewing the strips together. Hopefully I can get it fixed before the end🙂

  • Emily says:

    The tank looks great! I’m so glad your knee is improving – bike (oops sorry, ellie just dove headfirst off the couch) rides are great exercise (the couch thing has just made the rest of my comment fly right out of my head).

    August is a ways away!

  • Tami says:

    I’ve been contiplating knitting this up. I love it in the magazine but you never know what it will look like in real life. It looks great on you! Thanks a lot. Now it looks like it’s moving up on my to do list

  • MichelleB says:

    The tank looks great. I love it! I just started that same tank. I had to get it started because I love it – but I haven’t been working on it because I have to finish up my February Lady. What size did you make? And how much ease is there?

  • Melody says:

    The sweater is gorgeous!

    And I love that quilt! I want to make with that pattern. If I worked it right, it could look woven…hum….

    Thanks for the great ideas!!

  • Rebekah says:

    This tank looks great! I love the color on you. Speedy recovery to your knee!

  • Knitterella Purl says:

    It looks great on you! I love the purple yarn that you’ve used.

    It’s great to hear that your knee is getting better!

  • Marianne says:

    Hey, I love the blog header! Lilacs are JUST getting going here…love the sweater, too. And you look good! Just give it time, at least it is exercise weather. Hey, our stairwell/hall is getting painted next week. Hint. Hint.🙂 I can’t wait to put some color on that wall in the form of your beautiful artwork.🙂 But of course, exercise comes first.

  • woolywumpus says:

    I love your Spidery Tank! What a great FO, and a stash buster to boot! Glad to hear things are progressing with your knee rehab.

  • susan says:

    lovely sweater!!!

  • annie says:

    That’s just beautiful. I am making a lace scarf and have had to frog it several, several times.
    I am amazed.
    ~a

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spidery Summer Goodness at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

