What I Made With the Shop Hop Fabric

June 2, 2009 § 13 Comments

Trying to walk naturally back and forth across a shady corner of the yard

Trying to walk naturally back and forth across a shady corner of the yard

Or alternately titled, ” Wanna see my fat calves?”  I have calves that were made for walking, and biking, and skiing. Not modeling.  Sigh.

The Western Washington Quilt Shop Hop is coming up in three weeks and we always have fun at the shop trying to find things to make with the Shop Hop fabric. This is from the Butterick 5431 pattern for a bias skirt.  The fabric is a teeny bit thin for a single layer skirt. So I decided to line it with a pale pink gingham check and let a little bit of it show out from under the hem.

What you cant see is that I havent washed my hair and its scrunched up into a pony tail.

What you can't see is that I haven't washed my hair and it's scrunched up into a pony tail.

What you also can’t see is that my knee is still swelling up a little when I do anything.  Yesterday we went on an extended bike ride of errands.  Does anybody have any home remedies other than ice, ice, ice?  I have another follow-up appointment in a couple of weeks to check on my progress.

On another note, we have been having extraordinarily warm and sunny weather for the last several days.  We just don’t know what to do with so many consecutively nice days!

§ 13 Responses to What I Made With the Shop Hop Fabric

  • Allie says:

    Your skirt turned out super cute! I want one. Hope your knee gets better quick. Good luck.

  • Very nice shirt. Thanks for sharing the pattern number. I like the gingham layer underneath. Too cute!

  • Oops! I meant skirt. (Long day.)

  • Kris says:

    I really like the skirt! The lining showing at the bottom is super cute!

    For the knee: after about 24-48 hrs, you actually want to switch to heat so that the blood can flow and get out of the area (or at least this is what my nurse-mother tells me). If it’s been a day or two, you might try that…

  • Liz says:

    elevation of the leg helps… your legs look great to many of us…I’ll show mine later… much later… okay… you will see them next April when I have to be in Seattle for a wedding…

    Last year I had a Baker’s cyst break (behind the knee)…heh, when we get older, stuff happens.. we do have to live with it all… I sure wish we didn’t..

    take care…
    liz

  • amandajean says:

    so pretty! i love the double layer skirt solution! so much better than having to wear a half slip.

  • Rachel says:

    Oh, I love the skirt! I am just dying (well, maybe that’s a little dramatic) to make another skirt, but I have the exact fabric I want pictured in my head and do you think I can find it anywhere? No! I might have to order something online. Canadian fabric stores stink!

    (Your calves are NOT fat – you have healthy, strong legs… well, except for the booboo. I hope it feels better soon ☺)

  • amy says:

    Very cute skirt! And I think you are lucky to have such a nice shop hop fabric! In fact, I am envious.🙂

  • We just moved to Washington and I wanted to do the shop hop, but realized too late that I had bought a plane ticket for the day before the shop hop to take me to VA to be with my parents! Luckily I have friends that are going and are going to get me some of the stuff too, apparently they have a non-quilting/sewing friend whose going, so I get her stuff!🙂 Have fun in three weeks!

  • Candace says:

    Darling skirt, Anita – and I love the fabric! I’ll be out there shop hoppin’ at least one of the days – I hope I can run across that fabric before it gets snatched up! A previous commenter was right – you have do healthy calves – they show that you exercise well – and such good news that you’re able to do more now! I’ve also heard that alternate heat and ice works well – hope it feels better soon!
    Cheers!

  • vivi says:

    hi, anita
    come to my blog, and you wil see what happened with the flying geese i have been reading in your blog
    i like how they turned!
    big kiss, and thanks for the explanation

  • Emily says:

    Beautiful skirt! The fabric is great – and the length hides your poor swollen knee nicely.

  • Jillian says:

    Love the skirt, my friend and I had a marathon sewing session last year to whip up some skirts out of the 2008 fabric to wear on the hop one day last year. So many people asked us how we got the fabric early…nope, we just sew fast.

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading What I Made With the Shop Hop Fabric at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

