Remembering the 1860s

May 27, 2009 § 11 Comments

Half Finished

Half Finished

Over the last year, my local quilt shop has organized a Civil War club.  It will be a two year program as we work through a few of the blocks from The Civil War Love Letter Quilt by Rosemary Young. Club members will have 24 finished blocks at the end of two years.  Only six more months to go!

I prefer larger quilts that can be thrown on the bed or snuggled under on the sofa, so I decided to make 2 blocks a month for a total of 48 at the end of two years.  This has been a good practice for me in making smaller, detailed blocks. Someday I want to attempt the Dear Jane quilt.

Lincoln

Lincoln

I’ve really enjoyed this journey.  And I’ve learned a lot about the Civil War.  Every month I search the Internet for something that ties in with the letter we are reading.  The most interesting bit of information that I’ve run across was about ketchup.

During the Civil War, a request for ketchup would have resulted in the question of “what sort?” And asking for “tomato ketchup, please” would have gotten you marked down as something of an oddball if not an outright troublemaker. For most people, a ketchup was a sauce made out of mushrooms. –From Civil War Cooking.

The first 24 blocks

The first 24 blocks

There are 121 blocks in the book and no sewing instructions.  Fortunately, Rosemary has published an Electric Quilt project CD so that I haven’t had to draft any of them myself. I just chose the method of construction and the fabric.  Some blocks can be rotary cut, but many need to be Foundation Paper Pieced.

The fabric in the vertical strips between the blocks is one that recently came in at the shop. It’s Grand Teint by Windham Fabrics. Windham does a really good job in supplying great reproduction fabrics to quilt shops!  All the colors I’ve been using in my blocks is in that fabric. It matched so perfectly that there wasn’t any doubt in my mind that I had to use it!

§ 11 Responses to Remembering the 1860s

  • This is so interesting. And your quilt are so beautiful. Thank you for sharing😉

  • Trisha says:

    Your quilt is looking wonderful so far! I have thought about getting that book and making a quilt out of some of the blocks, but I think I should finish my Dear Jane first. I can’t imagine taking them both on at the same time. What size are the blocks? The fabric you picked to go with the blocks is just perfect!

  • terriaw says:

    What a great idea for a quilting club! I love the blocks and fabrics in your quilt. Such a neat way to learn about a significant time period in history.

  • Lynne says:

    INcredible, Anita. just incredible.

  • Candace says:

    So wonderful, Anita! I really love Civil War fabrics – and ever since my first trip to Gettysburg, I’m hooked on Civil War history – there is so much to learn! I never knew that about ketchup! What a fun fact!
    Cheers!

  • meredith says:

    I did not know she had EQ out. I like the books and the blocks but I wanted to make the blocks a little bit larger. I may have to check into that. The quilt top is lovely and I agree about Windham fabrics. I enjoy buying it. LOL.

  • Ranette says:

    Just stunning! The CWD quilts are on my “to do” list someday. If you can do these blocks you can do the DJ blocks. I’ve made one DJ and am working on another in a different colorway.

  • diane says:

    Spectacular blocks and sashing fabric!

  • Jane Weston says:

    It’s beautiful! You’ve done a great job!

  • woolywumpus says:

    I know I’ve already blathered on and on about this beautiful quilt on your Flickr page – but now that you’ve posted it on your blog, I can’t help a little more blathering🙂 Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! Ok, I’m feeling better now.

  • amandajean says:

    it’s beautiful!!! the sashing fabric really does tie the blocks together quite nicely!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Remembering the 1860s at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

