Pizza on the Barbie

May 25, 2009 § 15 Comments

Tomato, basil, feta pizza

Tomato, basil, feta pizza

What an enjoyable weekend it has been.  We had a couple of moments to lay in the hammock, which was SO nice. We also went for a short bike ride to see if my knee could take it.  While avoiding the big hills and riding around our neighborhood, it wasn’t too bad.  I’ll have to ease into the big hills.  And… we made pizza on the grill.

We may not ever make pizza in the oven again! The barbeque grill is the way to go, I think.  We used the pizza dough recipe from Steven Raichlen’s BBQ USA cookbook.  It’s a little bit wetter dough and included molasses and whole wheat. It almost looked like a pita bread as it was cooking.

pizza-1

Cook the dough on the hot side

The key to making pizza on the grill is to have two cooking zones: a hot one and a medium one. This is easy to do on a gas grill with two burners.  I suppose on a charcoal grill, you would have to spread out the briquettes in such a way to make one side hotter than the other.

Flip the dough over and move to the medium side.

Flip the dough over and move to the medium side

We rolled out the dough on a floured surface, brushed the grill with olive oil and plopped the dough right on top of the grill on the hot side.  It only takes a minute or two.  Once that side is cooked, flip the dough over and move it to the medium side and put on your favorite pizza toppings. Close the lid and in less than 5 minutes your pizza will be done!

Add toppings of choice

Add toppings of choice

My favorite was the tomato, basil, feta pizza. But we also used up some left-over taco meat for a taco pizza, and some left-over chicken for a chicken, olive, feta pizza.  Use whatever you like. You can’t go wrong, really!

Eat and enjoy!

Eat and enjoy!

§ 15 Responses to Pizza on the Barbie

  • Katy says:

    oh that looks delicious!!! I love pizza…although i can’t have cheese on mine, it still tastes good without (not AS good, obviously!)

  • Amanda says:

    Your pizza looks delicious! I had heard of pizza on the grill, but had never cooked it that way. Then, in January, we had an ice storm and went without electricity for several days. For some it was several weeks. We had a lot of food in our freezer, including pizza. We chopped ice away from the gas grill that was outside, pulled it into the garage, and grilled pizzas. It was good!

  • It looks so great. Please, can I have a bite (smile…)

    Love JM, DK

  • Terriaw says:

    We have made frozen pizza on the grill, but this looks so much better! I need to try this. Glad to hear your knees could handle the bike ride. That must have felt good to be out.

  • Candace says:

    I can smell the aroma wafting down 405 Anita! I’ve heard of people doing this – I struggle with regular pizza dough – maybe this is the way to go – I’m gonna give it a try!
    Cheers!

  • Thanks for sharing this! I’ll have to give it a try. Looks delicious!

  • Trisha says:

    How fun! I would have never even thought you could barbeque a pizza. So cool!

  • Zarina says:

    What a great idea. Question – if I were to use ready made pizza crust would it be ok. Having one cookout this Thursday but may not try it since we are entertaining visitors from Brunei.

  • amy says:

    Oh man. Darn it and thank you, I am now starving and want grilled pizza for breakfast…. That looks SOOOO good and I love feta on my pizza. Mmmm…

  • MichelleB says:

    We have a grilled pizza book, and are dying to try some of the recipes. It looks so good!

  • Knitterella Purl says:

    It looks delicious! I never heard of/saw a pizza being cooked on the grill.

  • Lynne says:

    We do these all the time….try a barbeque chicken pizza…grilled chicken breast shredded, barbeque sauce, sliced red onion and a mix of oh, maybe chedder and mozzerella or colby-jack.
    Or….olive oil and garlic, spinich, chopped ham, mozzerella, onion and feta

  • Michelle (ravelry:michelleinseattle) says:

    ohhh – the kids gave the DH a BQ cooking class and one recipe he mentioned was pizza, I have to get him to try it – the more cooking outside starting this month, the better I like it!!!

  • Heather says:

    Looks delicious – I will have to try this. ( I found your blog over at the Flickr Quilt Along)

  • shayne says:

    I love grilled pizzas

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pizza on the Barbie at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

