Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 12

May 4, 2009 § 17 Comments

Voila. Here it is. The last border of the Medallion Quilt. I’m sorry about the wait. I’m still moving slower than my normal speed after knee surgery. But every day is getting better.  Lately, I’ve been a one-task gal and only getting one thing done each day, sometimes two. Needless to say, the house is not as clean as I would like.  But I feel a spring cleaning binge coming on!

This border is a repeat of Border 4 and Border 8b.  You can use either method to make this final border.  I chose my trusty Easy Angle again, mainly because I dislike trimming down the squares when there are so many of them.  And… I wanted to use up some of the small scraps of fabric leftover rather than to try and fit them back into my stash.

The Stats:

  • Half square triangles – finished size – 2 1/2″
  • Finished width of border – 2 1/2″
  • Quilt width after this border -87 1/2″ square
  • Yardage requirements – 2/3 yard each light and dark fabrics.

border14-2

1. Cut (66) 3 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ squares of each light and dark fabrics if you are using the Border 4 method of construction. Trim the blocks to 3″ square.

Or… cut (132) triangles of each light and dark fabrics from 3″ strips of fabric if you are using the Easy Angle and Border 8b method of construction.

Proceed with the perspective sewing instructions in the previous borders.

border14-3

2. For the corner hour-glass blocks, cut (2) 3 3/4″ x 3 3/4″ squares of each a light and dark fabric.  Cut the squares in half diagonally twice to make 8 quarter-square triangles each from the light and dark fabrics.

Sew the lower two light and a dark quarter-square triangles to each other to create a half square triangle. Do the same to the upper two quarter square triangles.  Sew the two half square triangles together to create a complete hour-glass block.

border14-1

3.  Arrange 33 half-square triangles along each side of the quilt to create a light and dark diagonal pattern. Sew the left side and the right side borders to the quilt first, pressing the seams to the outside edge of the quilt.

Then, sew the top and bottom borders together adding a corner hour-glass block to each end.  Sew the top and bottom borders to the quilt, pressing the seams to the outside.

A BIG high-five to you for finishing this quilt!  I can’t believe we did it. But we did!  And I’m so proud of you!

A prairie point tutorial will be coming soon for those who might want to finish your quilt with them.  I’ve decided to eliminate them on my quilt. Mainly because the quilt is definitely big enough!  It doesn’t need anything more to fit nicely on our bed. But if you’ve decided to stop a few borders sooner, prairie points might be a nice finish.

The back side and all it’s seams!

A Big Thank You!

Some of you have mentioned your desire to do another quilt-along…  I SO much appreciate all your kind comments and enthusiasm for this project! I will consider hosting another quilt-along in the future. But I have no idea what or when.  Maybe this fall? Maybe only 6 months long rather than a whole year?  And…  I think we all need a little break.  There are a lot of thoughts running through my head about this at the moment.

a. I’d like to actually quilt this quilt… and the other quilt tops sitting on my shelf. That would be a good goal for me to work on over the summer.

b. My overflowing scrap baskets are calling to me and I really want to get back to using up the scraps!

c. And…  I love writing or talking about all the different ways to make a quilt.  This quilt-along was an amazing way to connect with some of you and I’ve loved seeing your quilts grow.  I’d love to continue hearing about what you are making, ideas of ways I can help, and generally cheering each other on in our projects.

You guys rock!

§ 17 Responses to Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 12

  • Bloom says:

    Hi Anita! Congratulations on finishing this amazing quilt. It is really beautiful. I didn’t participate in your quilt-a-long, but I have really enjoyed watching its progress.

  • Trisha says:

    Gorgeous! How big did it turn out to be?

  • terriaw says:

    What an amazing quilt! I have loved watching the process, with the addition of each border adding more dimension. Can’t wait to see it after you quilt it too. (I have a couple quilt tops to try quilting myself too!)

  • susan says:

    your quilt turned out so stunningly gorgeous!! what a treasure for your bed!
    what about doing some kind of quilt challenge of ways of finishing quilts, instead of blocks? just a thought

  • pamina says:

    Your quilt is a real beauty !!

  • janet clare says:

    your quilt is stunning! I can only dream of finishing mine…. but I definitely will, I promise!

    Your tutorials have been great and the amount of work you have put in have been very much appreciated. Thank you.

  • Ravenhill says:

    Oh, that is one gorgeous creation! Fantastic job!!! And how wonderful of you to give such good instructions on how you do it! Thanks.
    ~Emily

  • amy says:

    It’s gorgeous, Anita!! Thank you so much for leading us through!! I will get mine finished. I will!

  • Cheryl says:

    Thanks so much for this. I even ordered the angles and have learned to use them for my quilts. Hope to finish up this month so I can give to my quilter for summer.

  • I’ve watched, not participated . . . love seeing each new round go on and amazed at the finished quilt!

  • meredith says:

    congrats, maybe I will join in the next one. This was neat to follow.

  • Candace says:

    First Babette – now Medallion – what a wonderful few weeks of finishes, Anita! If we’re moved by Fall I would love to participate in another quilt-along! Is the medallion considered a scrappy quilt? If not, that would be a fun one to do!
    Cheers!

  • Jane Weston says:

    Congrats on getting it done! It is stunning and I love the way you’ve hung it to photograph it.

  • AJ in AZ says:

    I love the “Viola” you started with, but I think most people say “Voila” . Ha ha. Either way, you got the point across!! I Am sewing on my last border today, hopefully, and will keep watch for another quilt to do with you in the fall, if you are up to doing another. It has been great fun.
    PS I will quilt mine in a big meander to soften all these hard edges and hold it together better since I have used all types and ages of scraps in my top.

  • AJ in AZ says:

    I just posted a very light photo of my finished top on my blog, but will try to take another this evening after the sun goes away. I did have to remove 2 half-triangle squares per side, for a total of 31 each side, then added the 4 corners. My final measurement is the same as yours though. Oh well

  • amandajean says:

    what a beautiful quilt! i want to make a medallion quilt someday. yours is stunning!

  • Julia says:

    Hi Anita,
    congratulations! You did a wonderful quilt & it is so generous sharing your hard work with us (some day I hope to find the patience to make this beautiful medallion quilt…or at least some borders!).
    I hope you find the time to actually quilt it…it’s too beautiful to be stacked away as a ‘UFO’.
    Hugs, Julia

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 12 at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

