A Little Red Cross

April 14, 2009 § 17 Comments

Red Cross

Red Cross

“Red Cross” is now off to a new home. This is for the 6th Doll Quilt Swap. The inspiration came from a quilt in the book Art Quilts.  It is made almost entirely from scraps in my scrap bins.  I like adding that challenge for myself because it makes me look at different fabric combinations in a new way. Lately, I’ve been trying to push myself out of my comfort zone… which also prompted me to add the hand quilting between the quilt blocks.

I hope my partner likes it.  I can’t say any more or it might give away my partner’s identity.  There are so many great quilts in the DQS Flickr group.  Go check them out!

Trying my hand at hand quilting

Trying my hand at hand quilting

This is a wee bit of a busy week due to the fact that I’m trying to catch up on too many things in just a couple of days.  Later this week, I’ll be having a little arthroscopic knee surgery.  They will remove a tear in the meniscus (cartilage) of my knee.  It should be a quick, non-eventful, outpatient surgery followed by a couple of days keeping my knee propped up. My other knee experienced the same thing five years ago.  It can commiserate.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to put that manditory rest time to good use and make some progress on Babette.  So…  I may not make it back to the computer again until next week.  (We haven’t yet gone wireless in our house)  Till then, have a good week, everyone!

§ 17 Responses to A Little Red Cross

  • Trisha says:

    Good luck on your surgery! I hope your recover time is enjoyable as you hang out with Babette. That is quite a project! Love the doll quilt you made. Super cute!

  • Christina says:

    Oh I just love this little red cross! Love the fabrics you chose.

  • Liz says:

    Very cute doll quilt – and best wishes for a speedy recovery from the surgery…

  • Melody says:

    I ♥ it! Good luck with your knee surgery.

  • Renee says:

    Red Cross is lovely!
    Good luck with your knee surgery and hope all goes well. Babette is a super project while you heal.

  • Amanda says:

    I’m sure whoever gets your quilt will love it. It’s adorable.

    Good luck on your knee surgery. I’ll be thinking about you.

  • Candace says:

    Yet another beautiful inspiration to get out those scraps! Good luck with your knee surgery, Anita!
    Cheers!

  • Jan says:

    Anita, this is wonderful!! I’ve been waiting for the final shot since you gave us a peek of it on your design wall. Admit it, it had to be a little difficult to package up and send. 😉
    Good luck with your surgery. Best wishes for a speedy recovery.

  • terriaw says:

    Wow, this is fabulous! I love the colors and the blocks you made. I would love to get in on the next swap.

    Good luck with that procedure! (I know what it’s like to have those kinds of knees.)

  • isabel says:

    A big, big hugh for you and good luck for the surgery! We keep waitting here to watch the babette ready after all😉

  • Jeannie says:

    Adorable quilt! I like the hand stitching. Good luck with your surgery and I hope you’ll be up on water skis soon! Cheers.

  • pratima says:

    So charming! The mix of fabrics is awesome.

    Sorry to hear about the knee. Good luck with the surgery. Hope you’ll feel better soon🙂

  • amy says:

    Your doll quilt is AWESOME! Wonderful fabrics, wonderful block, love that hand quilting too! Your partner will be thrilled! Hope the surgery goes/went well and that your knee is happier than ever. I re-learned to crochet last week so now I’m hunting for my Interweave mag.🙂

  • Shelly says:

    Really cute! Well done!

  • hedwig bonnez says:

    Get well soon !
    We love your quilt ! And I love the colours you use in them !
    Very curious about Babette though….

  • jacquie says:

    gorgeous! hope all goes well with your surgery!

  • Tia says:

    Anita! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the quilt! I was so confused when I opend the package…I had forgotten that I had a partner in the swap, and it just was not possible that she would be early! I love it so very much. Thank you and I sure hope your knee is feeling better. Take it easy and do your PT excercises.

    XO,
    Tia

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Little Red Cross at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

