Inspiring Exchange

April 9, 2009 § 6 Comments

Floragraphix III by In The Beginning Fabrics

Floragraphix III by In The Beginning Fabrics

I’m running a little behind on another quilt block swap that my local quilt shop is doing with the shop, Best of Quilting, in France.  The theme this time is Haute Couture, or fashion sewing, but in patchwork or quilting.   Our challenge fabric is this black & white print from In The Beginning Fabrics.

Look at these fun colors of Rick Rack that are now available. I’m thinking I might need to use some of these!

Inspiration

Inspiration

I haven’t cut any fabric yet, but my inspiration has been coming from these two books.  The bottom one is A Is For Apron by Nathalie Mornu.  I am loving these pages of vintage aprons!

Christian Lacroix

Christian Lacroix

And the top book is collection of garments from the archives of Les Arts Decoratifs, select by Christian Lacroix, that illustrate fashion trends in history.  These were on display at the museum last March while we were in Paris.  It was an amazing exhibit.

Somehow, I’m hoping to combine the bright colors and fabric manipulation in the Christian Lacroix book and the simple utility of the vintage aprons and translate that into a fun art quilt block.  The blocks are to be finished by the recipient in France; a joint effort between quilters from each country.

I’m always amazed and in awe of the beautiful handwork, embroidery and flair that the French craft artists put into their work. If you want to see what I’m talking about take a look at these two lovely blogs:

Au Fil Rouge

Coté Passions

I’m hoping to push myself a little bit away from the sewing machine and a little more towards hands meeting thread and cloth. Those who know me, know that I would much rather be sewing on my machine than by hand.  Whew. I hope I’m up to the challenge!  I haven’t got much time left to ponder this. I really, really need to get to the sewing.

§ 6 Responses to Inspiring Exchange

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspiring Exchange at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

