Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 11

April 6, 2009 § 9 Comments

Without further delay… we have the second to last border of the Medallion Quilt.  Only one more border to go!  We had some sun over the weekend and it was oh so very nice!

This is a repeat of Border 7 – Stacked Logs and thankfully a very easy border. You can refer to Border 7 for more construction photos if needed.  And…  as in the past, this border is a great place to even up, square up, or catch up on the size of the quilt.

Border Stats:

  • Finished width of border – 2 1/4″
  • Yardage requirements – approximately 1 yard total of a variety of fabrics
  • Width of quilt after this border – 83″ x 83″

border13-1

1. Cut (124)  1 5/8″ x 6″ rectangles in a variety of fabrics.

Sew 15 rectangles together, end to end, for the inside row and 16 rectangles together for the outside row. Sew the two rows together to make one border side.  Measure and cut the border strip down to 78 1/2″ in length.  Make 4 of these and trim each of them to 78 1/2″ in length.  The width of each strip should measure 2 3/4″.

Sew a border strip to the left and right side of the quilt, pressing the seams towards the outside.

border13-2

2.  For the corner squares, cut 2 – 3 1/4″ squares each from a light fabric and a dark fabric.  Mark the diagonal line with a pencil on the lighter 3 1/4″ squares. With right sides together, place a lighter square on top of a darker square.

Sew 1/4″ from the diagonal line on each side. Cut the square in half along the pencil line to create 2 half square triangles. Press open. You should have 4 half-square triangles.

border13-3

3. Trim each of the squares to 2 3/4″ making sure that the diagonal seam is centered.  Sew a half-square triangle block to each end of the remaining two border strips.  Sew these strips to the top and bottom of the quilt.

border13-4

Your quilt should now measure 83″ x 83″.   It’s truly a big bed-sized quilt now!  And, there is only one more border to go!  Yay!

I’ve been thinking about how I might want to quilt this and have not come up with any final decisions.  Part of me wants to quilt it by outlining every block like so many antique quilts do.  But then I am overwhelmed with how much quilting that would take!  On the other hand, I was thinking about only quilting a few borders that way – the ones I want to emphasize, and do something more simple on the rest.  Or… do I want to quilt the whole thing in a basic overall utility pattern.  What do you think?

It looks like we might have another sunny day today.  But that could all change later.  I hope there is some sun today where you are!

§ 9 Responses to Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 11

  • meredith says:

    Lovely! Are you counting how many different fabrics are in your quilt top?

  • woolywumpus says:

    How gorgeous! I’ve loved following along and seeing this quilt grow and grow! I don’t have any suggestions about quilting – although outlining each block sounds like, oh, about 100 spools of thread!

  • Jane Weston says:

    Wowwy – it looks fabulous…I *love* your picture…though I have to ask…how did you get up into those trees to attach it!?…hope you had help ;o)

  • Renee says:

    Gorgeous! I’d hate to say it – but I like the traditional idea of outlining all the blocks.

    It’s cloudy and snowing here. Hoping for spring in May??!!! lol

  • pratima says:

    It is beautiful and so much more bigger.
    Thank you, Anita🙂
    Love the shot in the sunshine ^ _ ^

  • Emily says:

    Beautiful! So is the sunshine.

  • Julia says:

    Hi Anita,
    what a gorgeous new border ~ and so is the quilt top so far…simply awesome!
    Thank you for answering my *stupid* question ~ I always love to learn new facts about fabric…and also thanks for the tip – I already signed up to the newsletter.
    Hope the sun is still shining & HAPPY EASTER!
    Julia

  • AJ in AZ says:

    I finished my next to last border just now. I wanted to use strips that were already cut, so I used 1.5 and 1.75 inch wide strips, with the end result being the same 2.25 inch finished as everyone else. I also didn’t trim them to a uniform size, but just used whatever I dug out of the bin. I like it. One to go!!!

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Medallion Quilt-Along – Border 11 at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

