Inch by Inch

March 9, 2009 § 17 Comments

small improvements

small improvements

The painting of the sewing room is done.  And that was a breeze compared to trying to organize and fit everything back into the room.  So, let me show you the small bits of progress so far.

  • A rolling plant stand from Ikea to make it easier to move my crock of tall things.
  • A storage box from Target to hold glue, starch and all those little things that tend to float around the room.
  • Making room for the little things that brighten up a space, like this birdie pin cushion from a past swap.
  • Finally invested in a bobbin saver to organize my sewing machine bobbins.

The rest of the room is still a mess!  So…  let’s celebrate every small step towards a more fun and organized sewing space.

Let’s have a Give-Away!

gifts

This book will be sent to one lucky winner.  It’s been sitting on my shelf and I’ve never used it.  Someone else should be enjoying it!  Leave a comment on this post and I’ll draw a winner on Monday, March16th. And maybe we’ll have another drawing next week… if I can make some more progress on the cleaning and organizing.

cd-images

It has a cd with these images that you can use in crafty projects.

cd-projects

And there are project ideas. Print the images on fabric or paper or any sort of material that will go through a printer.

§ 17 Responses to Inch by Inch

  • Melody says:

    It looks great!

    BTW, I need to buy a sewing machine and I’d love to hear a recommendation.

    I’m not an expert sewer by any means. I know *how* to sew, but I have waxed and waned in interest throughout the years, and I like to sew easy stuff…for now. But, I’d really like to get better and sew more. For now, a simple machine will fit my needs and budget.

    Any suggestions?

  • terriaw says:

    Sounds like you have made a lot of progress on your studio re-do. I love the organization you have going. Can’t wait to see the rest!

  • mathea says:

    It’s always inspiring to see how others organize their stuff. I’ve been working a lot on my sewing space this weekend too – no major decorating projects, but I’m trying to get rid of some clutter and get everything better organized.

  • Rachel says:

    Oh, so nice and tidy. I have one of those bobbin savers, too, and I love it! What I love best is that I don’t have strings tangled all over the place because the bobbins stay wound up. Excellent.
    Are you sure you want to give away that book? It’s awfully nice…

  • joyce says:

    It’s worth cleaning if you find goodies like that to give away!

  • Jeannie says:

    I received that same book as a gift and have yet to make anything! LOL! I love the little chick pin cushion. How large is your studio? Will you come clean mine? LOL! Have a fantastic week. Cheers.

  • Lily Boot says:

    That bobbin saver is wonderful – I must find myself one when I get my workroom set up again. Tidying up can be so therapeutic can’t it🙂 p.s amazing book!

  • Claudia says:

    Hi Anita –

    I love what you are doing in your sewing room.

    I have 4 of those bobbin savers in different colors to help me keep bobbins holding different types of thread apart….embroidery thread, cotton thread for quilt piecing, poly garment construction thread, etc.

    I would LOVE the Amy Barickman book.

    Cheers, Claudia

  • Jan says:

    Good work on the re-org! I am always picking up things to help me get organized, but never quite get the job done. Oh well, maybe it will be one of those “its the journey, not the destination” things for me. The book looks like a fun resource!

  • baby steps – great progress! I hope you love the new wall color in there. The book looks fun🙂

  • Amanda A says:

    Your organization is so inspiring – I have a bobbin case that drives me crazy, so I’m going to look for that bobbin saver next time I’m at the store! Thanks for the great giveaway🙂

  • woolywumpus says:

    I received this book as a gift, and made the wine bag and some gift tags. Easy peasy and good way to get the creative juices churning.

  • Renee says:

    Seeing your organizing is inspiring me to get my sewing and knitting stuff all organized again too!
    Thank you for that. 🙂
    Looks like a lovely book!

  • elizabeth says:

    OK, I think I can finally get off my heiny and get my sewing room back together! It’s so great to see others’ creative spots.
    That looks like a cute book, too.

  • joan says:

    Wow you inspire me to clean up my sewing room which looks like one of those rooms a tornado has hit. I need inspiration to get with the program and clean up the fabric stash. It overflows just like the yarn in another room. Thanks for sharing. The book looks really neat.

  • Shannon says:

    Thank you for the inspiration. I am constantly re-organizing my house and craft area. I have two teens to compete with for space and computers! Don’t we love our sewing spaces? My Bernina is always ready!

  • […] this morning: there was a tiny violet-red crayon in the wash and everything is covered!  And, I won a book!  They sort of cancel each other out for […]

Go ahead, say something...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inch by Inch at Bloomin' Workshop.

meta

